We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Package - $199
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great overnighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Although I was a little hesitant to stay at an inn, I was quite surprised at how much I enjoyed my visit! The rooms are not large, but they are not tiny either. They had a more cozy feel to them. What made this place more special was the "homey" feel. The beds were comfortable, there was a fireplace, a free wooden apple souvenir, and even a little basket filled with Hershey's kisses and apple cider bottles. I would also recommend the restaurant across the parking lot. With great food, an excellent view, and a two story gift shop, this place was fantastic. Already stayed twice!

Room Tip: This hotel is perfect if you are picking up a relative from Cal Poly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as our restaurant and gift shop. We love to hear our guest's feedback on our little extras like the innkeeper's wooden apple gift. Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    207
    66
    34
    21
See reviews for
152
315
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our family looks forward to Apple Farm's annual Christmas open house. We love the gorgeous gardens, immaculate rooms, beautiful holiday decorations, and of course, the warm and friendly staff. The restaurant and gift shop are wonderful and quaint. My husband and I wouldn't miss the Christmas holidays without enjoying Apple Farm's hospitality. The staff even remembered my mother's 90th birthday with some special treats. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!!!!! We look forward to our next visit and every Thanksgiving & Christmas holiday!

Room Tip: We stay at the main inn. Rooms are well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your recent stay with us. We are so honored to hear that we are your holiday tradition and that this stay was so enjoyable. The holidays are a fun and festive time here and we love to hear the feedback from our guests on our events and decorations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family for many more visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our 1 night stop over welcome was excellent. Friendly staff offering a complimentary glass of wine, including freely available tea/coffee cookies. We suppose someone has to stay in the Trellis part of this attractive motel, our small room was only one removed from the busy road, which wasn't too bad, however we'd have preferred the main building, but the hotel was full. Because we were only in for 1 night, this was acceptable. The restaurant food and service were reasonably good but to have milk for our coffee supplied in a glass because there was no jug, at breakfast, and being stuck in their unattractive bit of the quiet dining area for dinner & breakfast, irked a little. Breakfast food quality was poor. When checking out no one asked how we enjoyed our stay, which we'd regard as obligatory. Make no mistake, this is a pretty motel with clean rooms which have tea/coffee facilities and a quaint touch of a fire in the room. We were just spoilt by previous and subsequent accommodation in our Californian fly drive and expected a higher standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay and meals with us did not exceed your expectations. We agree that we should have asked you about your stay upon checkout and this is usually a standard for us. We will definitely be addressing this with our Front Desk staff. In regards to your breakfast with us, we will be sure to pass on your comments to our restaurant manager so that he can retrain our serving and kitchen staff. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as it continually helps us to improve. If you find yourself in our area again, we certainly hope to be able to welcome you for another stay in our main Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We needed an overnight between LA and San Francisco, and San Luis appealed as we had stopped for lunch on a previous trip, so I wanted to explore more. Our welcome could not have been finer with excellent cookies to boot. Our room for 3 adults was well sized and the decoration was very flowery. All along the corridors were Christmas type decorations though our stay was before Halloween, this seemed a little over the top for my tastes. We were invited back to the lobby for a glass of wine. The quantity was generous and the quality very acceptable. The other guests were very friendly and chatty which added to the ambience. This is a comfortable stop and if you like the type of decor you will love it here. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit to our property. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our welcome cookies and wine are a guest favorite and we love surprising our first time guests with these little extras. We certainly appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed there last night. First time to stay here. Very nice looking hotel, friendly staff and the room was spacious and very comfortable. Nicely decorated and very pleasant environment.

Apple Farm restaurant is on the same property but a separate building. Had a confirmed dinner reservation for 9PM. Showed up at 9:10PM and the doors were locked. Front desk confirmed that they shut at 9PM. Taking a reservation for 9PM and not letting me know that if I show up 10 mins late (or probably even 1 min, who knows) I would not be allowed in is ridiculous.

It is also right at the exit of the 101 fwy so there's a little noise. Didn't bother me but if my wife was with me on this trip she probably would not have liked that aspect.

Inn on its own would be 4+ stars but the restaurant was a huge downer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. While we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our Inn, we are so sorry to hear of your restaurant experience. We agree that we should have explained our closing time more explicitly. We will retrain our host staff on this and make sure that our online reservation system will only take reservations up until 8:45pm. Thank you again for your feedback. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is our third stay at this hotel, but it is the first time we stayed in the Trellis portion of the hotel. We love the Main hotel which is pretty and more set up like an inn. The Trellis on the other hand is "very small" bearly fit in a queen size bed. The bed isn't comfy like those in the Main hotel either. The bathrom is tiny. You can't have more than one person walking into it. Unfortunately for us, the toilet was backup in the middle of the night. It was gross. We ask for a plunger in the morning and fix it ourselve since it was too hard to think about waiting for them to march into our tiny room. The staff is very friendly and the cookies they gave us at check in is delicious. The place is bit pricey. Trellis is a little cheaper side, and now we know why. I will stay in the Main again, but not in the Trellis. The front desk mentioned that they have plan to update the Trellis. Until than, no Trellis for me again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank your for your review of your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear that your visit did not exceed your expectations. The maintenance issue was certainly unfortunate and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and our maintenance team has solved the plumbing issue that caused this. As you mentioned, the rooms in the Trellis Court are smaller than the rooms in the Inn. We have begun renovations in this area of our property and we plan on enlarging the bathroom space in many of the rooms as well as updating the decor and adding a flat screen television and refrigerator to each room. Once again, we really appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next reservation so that we can ensure you reserve the best room that we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our family just stayed at the Apple Farm for Parent Weekend at Cal Poly. What a treat! The moment you walk into the lobby, guests are offered a chilled glass of chardonnay and yummy chocolate chip cookies. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated - we stay in a different room each time. It is very quiet for sleeping. Don't forget to go to the complimentary wine tasting room - I believe from 3 pm - 5 pm. We first stayed here when my son was touring Cal Poly - now we will stay here every time we visit. Book in advance for Cal Poly events - often sells out. Also the Apple Farm Restaurant is delicious!

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 beds are a little larger and book room on back side if you want to sleep in - some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We really appreciate the time you took to write such a nice review and for your recent stay with us. We are honored that we are your place when you visit your son at Cal Poly. Thank you for your feedback on our rooms and amenities. We are so glad to hear that you enjoy them so much. We are grateful for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you for many more stays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.