We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little OTT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Package - $199
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Midlands UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A little OTT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We needed an overnight between LA and San Francisco, and San Luis appealed as we had stopped for lunch on a previous trip, so I wanted to explore more. Our welcome could not have been finer with excellent cookies to boot. Our room for 3 adults was well sized and the decoration was very flowery. All along the corridors were Christmas type decorations though our stay was before Halloween, this seemed a little over the top for my tastes. We were invited back to the lobby for a glass of wine. The quantity was generous and the quality very acceptable. The other guests were very friendly and chatty which added to the ambience. This is a comfortable stop and if you like the type of decor you will love it here. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit to our property. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our welcome cookies and wine are a guest favorite and we love surprising our first time guests with these little extras. We certainly appreciate your feedback and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    208
    66
    34
    21
See reviews for
152
316
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed there last night. First time to stay here. Very nice looking hotel, friendly staff and the room was spacious and very comfortable. Nicely decorated and very pleasant environment.

Apple Farm restaurant is on the same property but a separate building. Had a confirmed dinner reservation for 9PM. Showed up at 9:10PM and the doors were locked. Front desk confirmed that they shut at 9PM. Taking a reservation for 9PM and not letting me know that if I show up 10 mins late (or probably even 1 min, who knows) I would not be allowed in is ridiculous.

It is also right at the exit of the 101 fwy so there's a little noise. Didn't bother me but if my wife was with me on this trip she probably would not have liked that aspect.

Inn on its own would be 4+ stars but the restaurant was a huge downer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. While we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our Inn, we are so sorry to hear of your restaurant experience. We agree that we should have explained our closing time more explicitly. We will retrain our host staff on this and make sure that our online reservation system will only take reservations up until 8:45pm. Thank you again for your feedback. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is our third stay at this hotel, but it is the first time we stayed in the Trellis portion of the hotel. We love the Main hotel which is pretty and more set up like an inn. The Trellis on the other hand is "very small" bearly fit in a queen size bed. The bed isn't comfy like those in the Main hotel either. The bathrom is tiny. You can't have more than one person walking into it. Unfortunately for us, the toilet was backup in the middle of the night. It was gross. We ask for a plunger in the morning and fix it ourselve since it was too hard to think about waiting for them to march into our tiny room. The staff is very friendly and the cookies they gave us at check in is delicious. The place is bit pricey. Trellis is a little cheaper side, and now we know why. I will stay in the Main again, but not in the Trellis. The front desk mentioned that they have plan to update the Trellis. Until than, no Trellis for me again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank your for your review of your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear that your visit did not exceed your expectations. The maintenance issue was certainly unfortunate and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and our maintenance team has solved the plumbing issue that caused this. As you mentioned, the rooms in the Trellis Court are smaller than the rooms in the Inn. We have begun renovations in this area of our property and we plan on enlarging the bathroom space in many of the rooms as well as updating the decor and adding a flat screen television and refrigerator to each room. Once again, we really appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to contact us directly for your next reservation so that we can ensure you reserve the best room that we have available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our family just stayed at the Apple Farm for Parent Weekend at Cal Poly. What a treat! The moment you walk into the lobby, guests are offered a chilled glass of chardonnay and yummy chocolate chip cookies. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated - we stay in a different room each time. It is very quiet for sleeping. Don't forget to go to the complimentary wine tasting room - I believe from 3 pm - 5 pm. We first stayed here when my son was touring Cal Poly - now we will stay here every time we visit. Book in advance for Cal Poly events - often sells out. Also the Apple Farm Restaurant is delicious!

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 beds are a little larger and book room on back side if you want to sleep in - some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We really appreciate the time you took to write such a nice review and for your recent stay with us. We are honored that we are your place when you visit your son at Cal Poly. Thank you for your feedback on our rooms and amenities. We are so glad to hear that you enjoy them so much. We are grateful for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you for many more stays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Apple Farm is a nice location, proximate to the Cal Poly Campus. The charm is inviting, kind of like staying at grandma's house. However, they need to update their look. 80's calico country clutter is tiresome and annoying. They should go with a sleeker, more modern country theme of decor. Otherwise, nice place if you don't mind all the stuff. I would not stay again, as we found all the matchy matchy everything a little too much and not restful at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate your feedback on our country theme. Currently, we are working on renovating many of our rooms right now to a more contemporary country decor. We are about 70% finished with the renovations. We would certainly love another opportunity to welcome you and ensure you are staying in a renovated room. Please feel free to contact us directly if you do decide to return so that we can pick out the perfect room for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

on our trip down to LA we stopped for one night at this charming hotel.we picked this out because it seemed the best one in the area and downtown looked like a good place to stop and stroll around for dinner.
the hotel itself is very nice,like a doll house I would say..people are very nice and in the hall you can find complimentary tea,coffee and a very good apple cider,warm and tasting! everything is colourful and gives that welcome home feeling..the property is spread in different buildings so it is like to be in a little village, 20 min walk distance from downtown.
we were given a very spacious room with direct access to the little swimming pool they have outside the main building,we had even chairs and table outside our room.gas fireplace was funny...but unfortunately so nice was the room and so unfortunate was its location,we had the lift just on one side and it was very noisy till late in the night and then again early in the morning.They have for sure better rooms,we could not change ours but they said to us that the direct access to the swimming pool area and the possibility to be outside compensated the location of our room.

Room Tip: do not take room number 100!!it is -1 floor and really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our property and amenities so much. Thank you for your feedback on room 100. That room is near the elevator and below the lobby and so it tends to be noisier than our other rooms. The room itself is lovely with a larger bathroom and direct access to the pool 24 hours a day. We are sorry that we were unable to relocate you to a quieter room due to our availability. We will be sure to assign you a quieter room on our third floor for your next visit. We really appreciate your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you for another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Apple Farm many times over the years and have experienced most of the room types within the main house. They are all decorated nicely and provide peaceful comfort. The rooms creek-side are quieter but all of the rooms are nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to offer assistance and make every guest feel welcome. The hotel offers a glass of wine and fresh baked cookies upon arrival and offers a guest reception with wine tasting from one of the local wineries each evening. The restaurant offers excellent meals, especially breakfast! If you plan to eat there on Sunday morning make a reservation in advance. They get very busy as they are one of the best places in town.

Room Tip: Creek-side rooms are quieter. If you want a really nice room ask for #300.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so honored to be your home away from home here in San Luis Obispo. We really are glad to hear how much you enjoy your stays with us and our rooms. Our breakfasts are pretty tasty and it's true that reservation are recommended and we are more than happy to make them for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.