We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Accommodations and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Trellis Package - $119
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“Top Notch Accommodations and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had stayed at the Apple Farm Inn, years ago, so many years ago the internet had not yet evolved and there was no Trip Advisor. The place is just as I remembered it, like a cute country inn.

Upon arrival the staff were efficient and thorough. You received a complimentary glass of wine and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. There is also a wine and appetizer reception that happens every day from 3:30 to 5 pm down by the pool. In addition, there is beverages in the lobby, which is like a living room in someone's home. These are available anytime from 6 in the morning until 10 at night.

We had booked the two queen specialty room which has a sitting area. Our room was very well appointed; gas fireplace, large flat screen TV, coffee maker, small sofa, chair, coffee table, desk, wine bottle opener, free bottled water in the refrigerator, wine glass, regular glasses, ice bucket, coffee mugs . . . they thought of everything. There were also two bottles of apple juice and chocolates provided at no charge and replenished daily. In the room also had hairdryer, iron, ironing board, terry robes and the red wooden apple souvenir you can take home with you.

All of the rooms are unique, they all are decorated in the country/farm style but in different colors and patterns.

There is a card you can fill out for free breakfast in bed with your choices of hot beverage and juice. These are huge, the one basket has a blueberry muffin, an apple cinnamon muffin and two kinds of scones along with a plate with fresh fruit and yogurt. It is a lot of food for one person. They also offer some additional items to add to it, which we did not knowing how large it was all going to be. She brought in the tray and sat it down and thought to myself, "Wow, that's a lot of food" and then she came back in with another tray.

The locations is nice and quiet, there is a restaurant of theirs on the property and also two gift shops. The grounds are very well maintained and have lit up trees at night along the path to the old mill.

We didn't encounter one member of the staff that wasn't full of smiles and friendly, all the way up from the front desk and concierge to housekeeping and the grounds keepers.

Check out is at noon which is nice that you don't have to rush and enjoy yourself a little longer before leaving. I will definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are so happy to hear it! We appreciate your feedback on our amenities and our rooms. Our Breakfast in Bed option is delicious and starts at $10.95 per person. We look forward to welcoming you for many more visits in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    250
    76
    36
    22
See reviews for
190
387
28
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed two nights. Our travel was a few hours away,checked in before time. Front desk staff was friendly. We had a glass of complimentary wine. Main lobby was clean and quaint . Flowers were everywhere that decorated the place beautifully, could smell the nice fragrance . Weather was pleasant. Over all had a Great get -a-way . I plan on doing it again in the near future.

Room Tip: Clean room, Queen bed was comfortable .Room had a fireplace and private hot tub. Location was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear it was a romantic getaway for you and that you enjoyed your room and our amenities. Thank you for your feedback on our landscaping as well. Our Landscaping Manager will be so happy to hear your comments. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was excited about the one night reservation I had made with them, ($99 trellis package) for work for tomorrow night.

Five minutes after having made the reservation (48hr cancellation policy I was warned over the phone while making the reservation) I got a call from work telling me that I my assignment was cancelled.

I called Apple Farm Inn and they were nice enough to let it slide and cancel my reservation.

I know that I will be going to SLO for work in the near future and I will surely stay with them.

Thanks Apple Farm!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our room reservations department. We are glad to hear we were able to accommodate you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you for a stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked into Apple Farm Inn for 1 night on our way to Carmel. It was part of our honeymoon holiday. Out of all the hotels we stayed in around California, Apple Farm was high on my list, and I was looking forward to staying there.The website potrayed it as a cute country charming old world hotel. On arrival the main reception area lived up to my expectations, the restaurant and cafe shop area was also very nice. However it all went down hill as soon as were were handed the key to our room.... the room was not in Apple farm Inn as expected but in an adjacent single storey motel building, the room was very dark and dismal... decor was worn carpet was grubby. None of the electrical sockets worked so I went straight to reception to see if we could move room... and to let them know it wasn't what we expected. They gave us a key to another adjacent room which was equally disappointing same decor.... although the electrics worked it wasn't very nice. The bathroom was small and cramped and the coffee machine in the bathroom was very off putting. It wouldn't enitce one to make coffee. Alot of renovation works seemed to be going on in the adjacent rooms and part of the building appeared to be getting a complete long overdue makeover. In addition to the old disappointing decor our room in the motel building was just off the high way and had the added buzzing surround sound of busy traffic emanating in our room. Unfortunately we didn't get a room in the main building of Apple Farm, where I thought our booking was for and I was glad to be leaving after one night as the motel style room wasn't the romantic getaway I was expecting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned, we are working on renovating all of our Trellis Court rooms right now and the king rooms are next on our list. We will be updating the decor as well as expanding the bathrooms. We will also be adding a flat screen television and refrigerator to each room. Thank you again for your feedback. It is very appreciated. We are sorry we couldn't be a highlight on your trip and we do hope to have the opportunity to discuss this with you personally. We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights here. It is last hotel on Monterey Street before Freeway 101, therefore can be quite noisy.
Friendly welcome with complimentary glass of wine.
Charge of $4 plus tax pernight for local newspaper, coffee and cookies in reception, two bottles of water in fridge, wi-fi - since there is no opt out, why not just add to the room charge? Is there a tax advantage to the hotel?
Stayed in Trellis Court - can see that it has been refurbished. Room and bed quite small - had to find places for the luggage - top of desk and fridge. Bathroom good. Bed very comfortable.
As another recent reviewer mentioned, there is absolutely no information in the room about the hotel amenities at all; nothing about pool or shop opening / closing times or restaurant menus.
Always amused by a hotel asking guests to reuse towels to be 'green', then using 4 60w lightbulbs above bathroom sink!
Food in restaurant mixed - dinner okay - breakfast poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly renovated Queen Standard rooms in our Trellis Court. We appreciate your feedback on our Guest Services Directory. We currently having those reprinted and they should be back in the Trellis Court rooms soon. We apologize for the inconvenience. Our Front Desk is always more than happy to provide our guests with any information they need. We also thank you for your comments about restaurant. We will be sure to pass them on to our restaurant manager for review. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We drove from Chicago to SLO to bring our son to Cal Poly and spent 2 nights in a queen "Trellis" room. We found the room clean and comfortable and the front desk service was superb. We enjoyed the fresh cookies at check in, the complimentary glass of wine, and appreciated that we could delay checkout till 1 pm. The late checkout allowed us to rent bikes from Foothill Cyclery and ride to Avila Beach and back before departing SLO for the long drive home. We also enjoyed the restaurant which I will review separately.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. We are so thrilled that you had such a nice stay and that our staff was so helpful. It sounds like you had a nice stay visiting our local region. The San Luis Obispo to Avila Beach bike ride is a beautiful one. We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am not sure but someone's underwear was left at the head of the bed. Just made the whole room feel as if it had not been cleaned properly. We were in the older part of the hotel and you could tell that by the peeling paint and mildew in the bathroom. The service at the desk was good and when we reported the underwear, they came and removed the very quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize about the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room. Please know that this is not typical of our property and we will address this incident with our housekeeping staff immediately. We are working on renovating our Trellis Court section and have completed renovations of all the Queen rooms there. The King rooms are next on our list and we will be updating the decor and completely redoing the bathroom. We will also be adding flat screen televisions and refrigerators to each room. We plan to have renovations completed by early 2014. Once again we really appreciate your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you in one of our renovated rooms soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.