We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Package - $199
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Glendora, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a great experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We love the friendly, pampering ways of the Apple Farm. We love that once we get here we can literally "park" and relax. It just seems like they think of everything that might make you comfortable here then provide it. The staff is friendly and accommodating while being unobtrusive, a difficult balance that I think they achieve for the most part. The newly decorated rooms (not so much Victorian Flowery) was much appreciated by my husband. He did realize that until recently he was traveling with two women (our daughter is grown up now) who very much liked the feminine look of the rooms and went with it and enjoyed the relaxation the place provided. I love the new look of the rooms too! They are beautiful and elegant. It was a welcome change. We did have trouble with backaches from our "mattress" but after three days we noticed our back problems would stop after the sun came out of the morning fog and we decided our older bones are now noticing the difference in climate. We've been coming to this area for 35 years, the last 10 consistently staying at the Apple Farm because of a friends recommendation. We do not mind the new $4 fee as it is small and we use all that they offer. We have been charged way more for things we would never use, Vegas $10 per day, for a topless pool. This is the kind of place if you go with a happy heart and be kind to all that you meet that you will have a most enjoyable time. If you come with attitude and entitlement issues (you aren't spending The Ritz prices so don't expect Ritz treatment) no matter how they try to please you - you won't be happy. This place is clean, comfortable, kind, caring and relaxing. What else do you expect from an innkeeper?

Room Tip: Stay at the main inn. Ask for 3rd floor parking lot for view at night with less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your many stays with us. We are so glad that you have chosen our Inn as your home away from home here on the Central Coast. We appreciate your feedback on our newly renovated rooms and our staff. Thank you again for your comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming for many more stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    209
    65
    33
    21
See reviews for
155
316
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I have been coming here for almost fifteen years now, about once a year or two. About two weeks ago my wife and I brought our ten year old daughter with us for the first time so we could share with her the many wonderful experiences we've had over the years, and Apple Farm did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived we had the usual outstanding customer service along with the hot apple cider and chocolate chip cookies. For three days Kelly(our daughter) enjoyed the charm and beauty of San Luis Obispo which centered around our stay at this special Inn. As we left, Kelly felt the slight sadness that my wife and I always feel during check-out, and asked if we can come back again sometime. Thanks for everything, we surely will return again.

Room Tip: Every room in the Inn that we've stayed in over the years is charming and different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stays so much over the years and that your last stay was just as nice. It is so sweet how much your daughter liked her stay as well. We love welcoming families like yours. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit to our Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Apple Farm Inn once many years ago and eaten at the restaurant several times since our daughter lives in the area. This past weekend, Aug 10-11, we were there for a soccer tournament and decided to return for another visit. The whole experience was delightful! From booking the room online....to checking in with a very friendly staff (who offered a complimentary glass of wine!)... to the quaint and cozy refurbished room (with an awesome shower!)... to the beautiful landscaping and colorful flowers.... to the wonderful gift shop and yummy breakfast... Everything was perfect! We were also pleasantly surprised with all the little touches that you do not find in other hotels at this rate... Glass coffee mugs and wine glasses in the room with complimentary waters in the fridge.... A gas log fireplace .... A cozy little nook with desk.... Plantation shutters on all the windows... A super comfy bed and linens... And a beautiful bathroom and shower head to die for! Just wish we could have stayed a couple more days to enjoy this fabulous place! We'll be back for sure and maybe try one of the rooms with a private patio with hot tub!

Room Tip: Ask for one of their refurbished rooms... We were in #20
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so thrilled to hear your comments on our newly renovated Trellis Court queen room. It sounds like you had such a nice time and that means a lot. We love welcoming our guests with a glass of wine. Thank you for all of your comments especially regarding our staff members. We will be sure to pass them on. We look forward to welcoming you for a longer visit next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here Aug 8, 2013. It stops just short of being charming - rolls of flowered wallpaper adorn every wall in site. Flowery linens on and over the bed, flowery upholstery. The "charm" starts to feel forced. The room was very clean, although the bath is starting to look a bit tired and the towels were very basic quality. We were in a lower corner room which was quiet and private. The Martinellis, water, cookies and wine at checkin are all nice extras. The morning elevator gets busy with cleaning staff. The location is convenient to downtown SLO (don't miss the fantastic Farmer's Market on Thursday night- Apple Farm is near the trolley stop). The Inn is certainly sufficient and met our needs but the decor verged on overkill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate your review and your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel and that you were able to explore our downtown and experience San Luis Obispo's famous Farmer's Market. Thank you for your thoughts on our decor. We are currently in the process of renovating our rooms to a more contemporary country style with a few less flowers. Please feel free to request a more simple room for your next visit and our staff will be more than happy to pick out the perfect one for you. We look forward to your next visit to our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Came in on Tuesday August 6th, 2013 after making a reservation on TravelZoo for $99 per night. At check-in--- and offered two free glasses of their house wine along with two free chocolate chip cookies before the guest reception from 3:30 to 5 PM which was filled with geriatrics guzzling their free wine and eating all of the salmon wrapped cream cheese appetizers in the first 10 minutes.

The customer service at the resort was spot on --- with each employee saying good morning and solving issues wherever they could.

The room was quaint -- with a fire place, post bed, sitting area and two fine bottles of Aquafina and Martinelli's to enjoy! The old-school Zenith Television was the only drawback here, however, the Apple Farm Robes made up for it. Our room was head and shoulders above our previous nights hotel of "The Presidio" in Santa Barbara.

On Wednesday August 7th, 2013 --- we went over to the restaurant for the: Sausage and Eggs with Apple Links and Apple Muffin for $11.50 and Buttermilk Biscuits and Country Gravy for $7.50 along with two waters. The Biscuits and Gravy were gigantic and spot on --- along with Apple Links and Eggs. However, it appeared around 10:45 AM or so --- the servers were having a meeting after our check was dropped off as our server never returned after 10 minutes--- so I had to walk to the counter to pay it directly. The restaurant and gift shop seemed to be like an upscale Cracker Barrel as other posters mentioned.

At check-in I signed out after staying "one quick night"--- however, we were not offered a coupon for a discounted rate in the Fall like the group in front of us. Regardless, I'll most likely be back as the place except for in a few situations was really firing in all cylinders.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We appreciate your feedback on our restaurant staff. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our Restaurant Manager so that he can address them with our serving staff right away. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We decided to try out riding a train so we went from Oakland to San Luis Obispo and stayed at the Apple Farm Inn. We had a great time and would recommend the Inn to anyone. Our biggest concern was how to get from the train station to the Inn but we were pleasantly surprised to have them send a complimentary cab to and from the station. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. We had one of the rooms with a hot tub and a full bed. They have a wine reception each evening which we enjoyed as well as a glass for you when you check-in and 2 yummy cookies.
We each got a message and it was wonderful. We would recommend it.
We only had 2 small issues and I mean small, the hot tub wasn't that hot and the bathroom was tiny.
We ate at the restaurant there and had a good breakfast both times. I'll review the restaurant separately. They have a nice gift shop but it's a little pricey with one of a kind
Go and enjoy the Apple Farm Inn you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your train vacation was such a nice time. We do offer complimentary transportation to and from both the train station and our local airport so that guests who don't have a car don't have to worry about finding a ride. We appreciate your feedback on our rooms and amenities and we look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

When you check in, you are greeted by a very friendly staff member. You receive 2 cookies & when you get in your room, there are 2 bottles of apple juice & 2 bottles of water waiting for you. I thought that was terrific!! In the late afternoon, there is also a wine reception outside. The scones were divine!! We ate breakfast @ the restaurant & it was great as always!! You are only about 2 miles down the road from downtown San Luis & right next to the north 101 on ramp. Great location. We will always stay here!!

Room Tip: look at the pictures on the website to determine the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and your stay with us. It sounds like you had a wonderful time here and we are so happy it hear it! We love welcoming our guests with cookies and wine. We think it is a perfect way to start a vacation. We appreciate your feedback on our staff and our restaurant. We can't wait to welcome you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.