We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Nifty Fifty Rate - $129
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a first-rate hotel and I highly recommend it. Our room was beautifully decorated, with the attention to detail most impressive. The hotel rooms are so unlike the typical hotel/motel cookie-cutter rooms...the room was well furnished and comfortable and made us feel at home. The staff was friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good things about the Inn and will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel building in which the rooms are larger than in the newer one story "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much and that you liked the decorations in your room. Every room is different here on property which makes each visit a fun way to discover new rooms. We appreciate your comments about our staff as well. We will be sure to pass them on to our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    239
    73
    35
    22
See reviews for
181
375
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arriving at the Apple Farm Inn after a day of driving the PCH from San Fran was a welcome sight !! from the outside it looks like an old time farm kinda place full of character and charm and very very cute!
Once inside we were taken back to like an old movie world farm house I expected Strawberry Shortcakes to pop out at any minute !
The front of house staff were warm and welcoming and very friendly and helpful We were offered cookies that were Yummy !!
The room was situated on the lower ground floor.It was a good size !! with a four poster bed and full of charm and character Again it was ver very cute and something out of a Laura Ashley Show home !! all in all it was lovely a bit like Granny's cottage !
We went for dinner at the Inns own restaurant where the food was Very good and the staff also lovely Our waiter I think was called Harvey was very good ! good food and cheap
A great night sleep followed I just wish we had time in the morning to have breakfast ! I would deffo stay again !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We appreciate your review and your recent stay with us. It's so nice to hear that we could be a relaxing stop on your California tour. It sounds like you were able to visit the various parts of our property and we are glad to hear it. Thank you again for your feedback! We hope to be able to welcome you for another stay if you find yourself here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I have visited Apple Farm on several occasions and definitely for Anniversaries & Birthdays. If you want a place for a nice get-away with a classy-country flare to the rooms, this is the place! You enter your room with a welcome basket and music. They offer a daily wine reception and coffee and fresh baked cookies from their bakery in the evening. There is a beautiful restaurant, bakery and gift shop on the premises.

Room Tip: The Trellis Court is near the freeways; so should you be bothered by noise, make and book in the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your many stays with us. It's so nice to hear that we are your spot for special occasions. We appreciate your feedback on our rooms and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you for many more stays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellanza, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

During my honeymoon I spent a night at the Apple Farm Inn. The hotel is really nice and full, composed of a central part and a motel, a restaurant, a bakery and shop. In addition to the pool and to a real mill. We spent the afternoon relaxing by the pool. For the night we chose to sleep in the motel room to nothing was missing, she was beautiful and functional. The next morning we asked for breakfast in the room which was very complete and tasty. In the evening we had dinner at the restaurant and it was wonderful: great atmosphere, great food ... Must try the lemon meringue!

Room Tip: I slept in Trellis Court Queen: excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing us as a stop on your honeymoon vacation. We are honored that you chose us for such a special occasion and that you enjoyed your stay and the food at our restaurant. Our Breakfast in Bed option is a fun and tasty way to start the day and we appreciate your feedback on it. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again when you find yourself in California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We rode the Amtrak up to SLO from Ventura, CA. Beautiful ride, along the coast. We liked the hotel but not so much our room. Unfortunately, we ordered the queen bed room with hot tub. I was thinking the hot tub was in the room and it would be a spacious bath. Instead the hot tub was outside and the queen bed room was way small. I would recommend only reserving their larger rooms. Not the building 4 rooms.

The restaurant is delicious. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch. The location is close enough to walk downtown SLO for the nightlife but you'll want to cab it back. $10.

All of the staff were very hospitable. They've got that down too! Nice place!

Room Tip: Order the king suite rooms...not the queen rooms....too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for review of our recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you chose us as your train trip stopover. Visiting San Luis Obispo without a car is a fun way to explore our city. We appreciate your feedback on our queen rooms in our Trellis Court. They are a bit cozier, but we do offer larger rooms in the main Inn building of our hotel. We hope that you will be able to try one of those out for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The website makes it look absolutely charming and we knew going that it would be a very quaint hotel. I emailed the hotel prior to arrival to request a specific room but was told that since the booking had been made by Trailfinders, our room would not be in the main house. We were allowed to change if we paid an additional fee but we decided to leave it. Our room was in a motel like part of the hotel. It looks like the hotel bought a neighbouring motel and converted it. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable but it was near the highway so very noisy. It is a 20 min walk to downtown. The staff were very friendly and offered us cookies and lemonade upon arrival. We also received a 5 dollar voucher to use in the hotels bakery for which we got two giant muffins and a cookie. Not a bad stay but just check where you are located in the building.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not close to the highway as traffic is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your review and your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us on your California vacation. Thank you for your feedback on our Trellis Court rooms. I sincerely apologize that you did not have the best night's sleep. We are in the process of renovating them currently and we hope to be able to soften some of the traffic noise that can sometimes occur in that area of the property. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you for another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Apple Farm over 4th of July weekend and had a pleasant and relaxing stay that exceeded my expectations. Apple Farm has the charm and ambience of a bed & breakfast with the amenities of a hotel.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff who made us comfortable with glasses of wine and cookies. He even advised us about the Thursday farmer's market in downtown that evening, and helped us find a great hike in the morning (Irish Hills, a great little morning loop).

I was expecting "floral charm" based on reviews and photos, but was pleasantly surprised by the decor of our 1st floor king room at the Inn. It had been recently upgraded and the decor is in line with the country charm theme, but updated to be much more tasteful. The room was spacious and more than enough space for us.

The inn is well-located about a mile away from downtown. There's a trolley which can take you in and out, but we found it to be a very pleasant 15-20 minute walk to the restaurants downtown without the hassle of driving.

The only cons to report:
- I immediately found two very large spiders - one on the wall, one on my pillow (eek!) upon arrival. After getting rid of them, I inspected the room several times and didn't see any more.
- If you're hoping for a swim, the pool is rather small and feels a little dated despite being clean and well-maintained.

The pros far outweigh the cons. Would definitely love to visit SLO and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a nice first visit to our property and we are so happy to hear it. We are glad that you were able to explore our downtown area as well and that our Front Desk was helpful in suggesting activities. We appreciate your suggestions as well. Please know that we do our best to keep the pests away, but with our creek side location sometimes a few sneak in. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.