We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very quaint...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Trellis Package - $119
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very quaint...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We rode the Amtrak up to SLO from Ventura, CA. Beautiful ride, along the coast. We liked the hotel but not so much our room. Unfortunately, we ordered the queen bed room with hot tub. I was thinking the hot tub was in the room and it would be a spacious bath. Instead the hot tub was outside and the queen bed room was way small. I would recommend only reserving their larger rooms. Not the building 4 rooms.

The restaurant is delicious. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch. The location is close enough to walk downtown SLO for the nightlife but you'll want to cab it back. $10.

All of the staff were very hospitable. They've got that down too! Nice place!

Room Tip: Order the king suite rooms...not the queen rooms....too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for review of our recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you chose us as your train trip stopover. Visiting San Luis Obispo without a car is a fun way to explore our city. We appreciate your feedback on our queen rooms in our Trellis Court. They are a bit cozier, but we do offer larger rooms in the main Inn building of our hotel. We hope that you will be able to try one of those out for your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    221
    66
    34
    21
See reviews for
164
337
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The website makes it look absolutely charming and we knew going that it would be a very quaint hotel. I emailed the hotel prior to arrival to request a specific room but was told that since the booking had been made by Trailfinders, our room would not be in the main house. We were allowed to change if we paid an additional fee but we decided to leave it. Our room was in a motel like part of the hotel. It looks like the hotel bought a neighbouring motel and converted it. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable but it was near the highway so very noisy. It is a 20 min walk to downtown. The staff were very friendly and offered us cookies and lemonade upon arrival. We also received a 5 dollar voucher to use in the hotels bakery for which we got two giant muffins and a cookie. Not a bad stay but just check where you are located in the building.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not close to the highway as traffic is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your review and your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us on your California vacation. Thank you for your feedback on our Trellis Court rooms. I sincerely apologize that you did not have the best night's sleep. We are in the process of renovating them currently and we hope to be able to soften some of the traffic noise that can sometimes occur in that area of the property. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you for another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Apple Farm over 4th of July weekend and had a pleasant and relaxing stay that exceeded my expectations. Apple Farm has the charm and ambience of a bed & breakfast with the amenities of a hotel.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff who made us comfortable with glasses of wine and cookies. He even advised us about the Thursday farmer's market in downtown that evening, and helped us find a great hike in the morning (Irish Hills, a great little morning loop).

I was expecting "floral charm" based on reviews and photos, but was pleasantly surprised by the decor of our 1st floor king room at the Inn. It had been recently upgraded and the decor is in line with the country charm theme, but updated to be much more tasteful. The room was spacious and more than enough space for us.

The inn is well-located about a mile away from downtown. There's a trolley which can take you in and out, but we found it to be a very pleasant 15-20 minute walk to the restaurants downtown without the hassle of driving.

The only cons to report:
- I immediately found two very large spiders - one on the wall, one on my pillow (eek!) upon arrival. After getting rid of them, I inspected the room several times and didn't see any more.
- If you're hoping for a swim, the pool is rather small and feels a little dated despite being clean and well-maintained.

The pros far outweigh the cons. Would definitely love to visit SLO and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your recent stay with us. It sounds like you had a nice first visit to our property and we are so happy to hear it. We are glad that you were able to explore our downtown area as well and that our Front Desk was helpful in suggesting activities. We appreciate your suggestions as well. Please know that we do our best to keep the pests away, but with our creek side location sometimes a few sneak in. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean quiet friendly place to stay
Good food on site, ample parking, close to freeways, courteous staff.
The rooms were nice, with a coffee maker and te best part about it was there was a tub in every room to relax in at he end of a tiring day if sightseeing
Morro bay is a 20 minute drive and Cambria is also 45 mins away
Easy access to the 101 freeway
Overall a great location

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location near 101 and our beautiful beach towns. Many of our rooms do have bathtubs which is perfect for relaxing and we even have some that have private patio hot tubs. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you to our hotel when you find yourself on the Central Coast again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We would have like to hang out by the pool longer....but they kicked everyone out and locked the
pool door @ 10 p.m. And it was such a lovely night.....loved the hotel and the rooms and would stay there again.

Just one bad experience....we went to the gift shop....and the disgruntled employees, a mother and daughter, were battling it out, saying they couldn't work together and how much they hated their jobs.
Another lady kept reminding everyone that the thimble-full of apple cider was just for a taste, and that the apple juice was for sale, not for sampling only. Then she took a phone call and privately said she was in hell and dealing with the "bottom feeder customers" in the discount shop. I should have corrected them, but everyone left quickly, and was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room. Thank you for your feedback on the pool hours. Because so many rooms are nearby the pool, we have to have a curfew. We would love to be able to keep it open later on warm summer nights, but we do not want to disturb nearby rooms. We also appreciate that you let us know about your Gift Shop experience. This is clearly not up to our standards of guest service and we apologize that this occurred. Please be assured that we will be addressing this with our Gift Shop staff immediately. Thank you again for all of your comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were attending a destination wedding and the wedding hosts reserved a block of rooms at the Apple Farm Inn. A great choice! It was a whirlwind trip for us so we didn't have time to take advantage of the wine or hot tub but the cookies were delicious! We were in the trellis section which was quite nice. The bed was comfortable. There were nice extras like fancy soap. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was excellent and the $5 off coupon from our room was much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will pay us a visit once again the next time you make it to town. It was a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been by this hotel dozens of times over the years. We finally stayed at the Apple Farm to celebrate our anniversary. I called and made reservations several weeks ahead of time. Every person I talked to was nice and helpful. Upon checking in, my husband and I were offered a glass of wine. Our room was on the 3rd floor over looking the creek -room number 323. It was quiet and flowey. It was large. Very nice amenities. I was happy with the room. All the staff was nice. Our stay was part of a package deal that included zip lining in Santa Margarita, a town close by. I also recommend getting your brave on and trying zip lining, if you haven't tried it yet. Our experience from beginning to end was perfect at the Apple Farm.

Room Tip: 3rd floor over looking the creek is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at our hotel and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. The zipline package is a fun and adventurous way to celebrate such an a occasion. We really appreciate your feedback on the package as it is a new offering. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.