We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet and flowery hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Trellis Package - $119
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Stevenson Ranch, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“a quiet and flowery hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been by this hotel dozens of times over the years. We finally stayed at the Apple Farm to celebrate our anniversary. I called and made reservations several weeks ahead of time. Every person I talked to was nice and helpful. Upon checking in, my husband and I were offered a glass of wine. Our room was on the 3rd floor over looking the creek -room number 323. It was quiet and flowey. It was large. Very nice amenities. I was happy with the room. All the staff was nice. Our stay was part of a package deal that included zip lining in Santa Margarita, a town close by. I also recommend getting your brave on and trying zip lining, if you haven't tried it yet. Our experience from beginning to end was perfect at the Apple Farm.

Room Tip: 3rd floor over looking the creek is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are honored that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at our hotel and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. The zipline package is a fun and adventurous way to celebrate such an a occasion. We really appreciate your feedback on the package as it is a new offering. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    222
    66
    34
    21
See reviews for
164
339
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place is very well maintained, the room was large with a sitting area and flat-screen tv, the service was tops. We needed tickets to Hearst Castle and a staff member went out of her way to help us print out our tickets, the beds were very, very comfortable, as nice as the Ritz Carlton the previous night, the bathrooms were modern with plenty of towels, the atmosphere: pampered! We absolutely LOVED IT and would definately recommend it to weary travelers after lots of coastal driving! The restaurant was charming, like eating at a private home, the menu was decent, and we especially enjoyed the bakery and wine selection available in the gift shop to bring back to our room where they also had wine glasses waiting for us. It exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is located about a mile from "downtown" San Luis Obispo. We had one of the renovated rooms (which are a little more expensive than the non-renovated ones). The room was very spacious but somewhat located in the basement of the building. Hence, it was pretty dark and there was not enough artificial light to make you feel really comfortable down there. Apart from that, the room and the bathroom were clean and the furniture was ok. Front desk personnel was just ok, we could only check-in at 4PM and no effort was made to make it possible earlier (although they could see that we were pretty packed and travelling with a little baby). There is a very large restaurant on the property, food was ok (even though it is pretty unfortunate if the goat cheese salad comes without goat cheese...).

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not located on the lower level (or make sure you have your flashlight with yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit. I sincerely apologize that the property did not meet your expectation. We appreciate your feedback regarding the lighting on the first floor. I will forward this information to our maintenance manager for review. I am also appreciative of your feedback regarding the service you received at the front desk. We do try to deliver first class service always. I am sorry we missed the mark in your case. Rest assured we will use this experience as a training tool for our staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to San Luis Obispo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. If you were staying anywhere else in San Luis and walked past this hotel, you'd be disappointed. The buildings look lovely, the reception, public areas and even the bedrooms are decorated in a homely fashion. The cookies on arrival, the drinks table in reception and the goodies you get in the bedroom are all great (make the most of it, you do get charged!). The only small grumble I had is that I found the whole check in procedure a bit of a flaff; it all seemed to be about giving the cookies out, explaining about the dining vouchers, the guest do each afternoon and finally the glass of wine. We checked in about 4pm and luckily our room was ready, but there was a line of guests waiting to check in and many rooms did not seem to be ready for occupation, a bit late in the day I feel. It all seemed a bit faulty towers. This is however a personal preference and I understand most people love this kind of welcome.
Overall, the place is great and served the best pancakes I have ever tasted!

Room Tip: Ask for/upgrade to a room within the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had such a nice stay. We appreciate your feedback on our check-in process. We will do our best to expedite the experience in the future. We hope to be able to welcome you again if you find yourself in San Luis Obispo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for just one night on a stop over from San Fran to LA. What a shame we were here for only one night!!

We arrived a couple of hours early for check in, however our room was ready (Trellis Court) so we were given some home made cookies and wine..what a start!! The room was lovely, yes it's decorated in lots of flowers and not what id decorate my home in but it doesn't mean it wasn't lovely. We had a huge bed, very comfy, plenty of channels on the tv, great bathroom and absolutely no complaints!

We had a meal in their restaurant in the evening, food was beautiful and our server Jason was really lovely. I can't remember the last time I met someone so helpful and polite, thanks Jason!

They also have a small pool area with loungers which we used, they too were comfy!

They also have free coffee/water in the reception area in the morning and also on check in.

This is an amazing place just off of the freeway but you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. The homemade bakes are some of the most amazing over ever had, the staff are all amazing and helpful we will definitely return for longer!
Beth & Rach (UK)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your recent stay with us. We are honored that you chose us a stopover on your California tour. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the amenities of our property and we appreciate your feedback on them and about our staff. I have passed on your comments to our manager team so those employees can be recognized. We hope to be able to welcome you again if you find yourself on the Central Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night and really enjoyed our time at Apple Farm. The wine and cookies at check-in was a nice touch, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hot tub was very relaxing after a long day. We had breakfast at the restaurant and thought the muffins were great, as well as the rest of the breakfast. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We appreciate your review and your recent visit to our Inn. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are thrilled to hear it. Thank you for your feedback on our staff and our restaurant. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire team. We hope to welcome you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Lovely grounds, clean rooms, and friendly staff. We got a great price through Groupon but I would stay here again even without the discounted rate. I read some other reviews, which mentioned small rooms. Ours was very spacious so I'm not sure if we just got lucky. Wine for us, cookies for the kids. Nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the wine and cookies at check-in. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.