We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay somewhere else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bendigo
1 review
“stay somewhere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Gawdy and outdated. Cramped and worn out. Excessive freeze of money on credit card. All this could be overlooked if front desk was helpful, however wrong information was given by staff more than once. No fridge or microwave or iron or washing facilities. Too expensive, cheaper rooms nearby offering more.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write your review and for your recent stay with us. We are so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are currently working to renovate our Trellis Court rooms and we plan on toning down the more floral decor and updating it to a more contemporary country design. There are also plans to add a refrigerator to each of those rooms as well as a flat screen television. We would love for you to have an opportunity to experience our Inn section of the hotel because the rooms are larger and many have been renovated. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can address you personally regarding the service issues you experienced. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    254
    79
    36
    22
See reviews for
200
391
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Falls, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was truly a great place to end our vacation. The scenery, staff, food and beautiful rooms (small or large) were perfect. So many extras with your stay. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was wonderful and well cared for. The staff all around the property were very helpful and kind. I can't say enough about how great the rooms were. I didn't want to leave! I also booked the spa package and took full advantage of the 2 massages. I felt relaxed and renewed by the time we had to leave. The massage was out of this world. The food was a little pricey at the restaurant BUT you get a HUGE portion. Talk about cute...you have to check out the gift store(even got a 20% discount on items purchased) and fresh baked goods yummy! Thank you Apple Farm we will be back...hopefully soon!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a smaller room in the terrace area (room 3) very cute! If you have more then 2 people y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write your review and for your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were able to stay in both sides of our property and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed both of your rooms. Thank you for your comments on our restaurant and gift shop as well. We can't wait to welcome you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caruthers, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a great place for couples to get away and relax. We loved the room with hot tub and fireplace, and the snacks and wine at check in was a nice touch. We had a great time, and I hope we can return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace or hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We appreciate your review and your recent visit to our Inn. We are glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and that you plan on returning soon. Thank you for your feedback on our wine reception and hot tub rooms as well. We can't wait to welcome you for another relaxing stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group last week. Very nice place, full of knick-knacks, kitschy stuff which you can also buy in the gift shops there.
The bed was a little soft for me but the room was large, with a gas fireplace. Clean and comfortable. There was a fridge in the closet with water bottles, cold, and apple juice on the desk. The in room coffee maker was good, with decent coffee. There's also coffee in the lobby all day, along with hot apple cider, which was a nice change.
The wifi worked wonderfully well, better than most places I have stayed.
There is a slightly pricey restaurant on the property but the food was good and plentiful. There's also a small bakery there where you can get some goodies for the morning.
The only negative is that the hotel is so far away from the main part of town, about a mile, so it's a long walk if you don't want to drive very far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and your meals with us. The cider in the lobby is a guest favorite and we love getting feedback on it. We really appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this quaint American Motel, the fist place off the very busy 101 on Monterey St. We were made very welcome with free cookies & wine tasting with canopies. Staff very nice & helpful in every way. Nice shop with gifts & cakes.
However you must like flowers, flowers on the walls, blinds, chairs & cupboards, a rather silly four poster bed which did nothing but take up room. Think it is need of redecoration.
We ate at the restaurant which was fine, but quite a walk to other places to eat but Downtown was great, lots going on, & many other restaurants. We rather liked the hotel & town, pleased we stayed there whilst on our travels.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay and that you were able to experience our downtown area. We appreciate your feedback on the flowers in your room. We are currently working on a renovation project of our Trellis Court section and we plan on toning down the floral decor in many of the rooms while still maintaining on our country style. Thank you again for your comments. We do hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with a rough idea of what to expect but it really exceeded anything we had imagined. It is very cutesy and the embodiment of old time America. It was superb. The attention to detail surpassed most other hotels we have visited. On arrival we were offered a glass of local wine and choc chip cookies which were very welcome after our drive from Napa. We were then invited to the afternoon guest reception in a beautiful, flower-filled garden, where we tasted more local wine and nibbled delicious appetisers. (The cheese scones were particularly tasty!) our room was spotlessly clean. It had a four poster bed, a rocking chair and a very comfortable couch. It was beautifully decorated. we were surprised to discover that the rooms on the third floor were even nicer than ours. they must be incredible. Limitless coffee was available in the lobby. The staff was very professional and genuinely friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. All in all a fantastic experience! Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate your review and we are so happy that you chose us as a stop on your California tour. It sounds like you were able to try the many amenities we have to offer and we are pleased that you enjoyed them. The cheese scones at the Guest Reception are a guest (and staff) favorite. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Inn if you find yourself on the Central Coast in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was probably our 20th visit to the Apple Farm--and reading a bunch of the reviews had us worried. No need. The gardens were lovely, our room (317) had been completely redecorated with so much attention to detail and beauty, and we enjoyed all the extras we've come to expect--the wine and cheese reception, cookies in the evening, hot drinks in the lobby at all hours, turn down service, newspaper delivery and more. There is a red wooden apple to commemorate your visit, apple cider and chocolate in the room, a gift shop, restaurant, pool and jacuzzi, places to sit outdoors and read or chat--and we enjoyed the "Bounty of the County" package which took us to a coffee company (private tour--amazing), glassblower, winery and finished with a brewery and flights of beer. Tour, gourmet lunches, two nights and all the perks for a great deal. Thank you Apple Farm!

Room Tip: Third floor away from the pool is better if it's a time when there might be a bunch of kids in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your many stays with us over the years! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your Bounty of the County tour. That package is a guest favorite and we like adding new stops on it each year that showcase all the great things our county has to offer. We really appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you for many more visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.