We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Package - $199
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Belfast
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“American dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with a rough idea of what to expect but it really exceeded anything we had imagined. It is very cutesy and the embodiment of old time America. It was superb. The attention to detail surpassed most other hotels we have visited. On arrival we were offered a glass of local wine and choc chip cookies which were very welcome after our drive from Napa. We were then invited to the afternoon guest reception in a beautiful, flower-filled garden, where we tasted more local wine and nibbled delicious appetisers. (The cheese scones were particularly tasty!) our room was spotlessly clean. It had a four poster bed, a rocking chair and a very comfortable couch. It was beautifully decorated. we were surprised to discover that the rooms on the third floor were even nicer than ours. they must be incredible. Limitless coffee was available in the lobby. The staff was very professional and genuinely friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. All in all a fantastic experience! Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate your review and we are so happy that you chose us as a stop on your California tour. It sounds like you were able to try the many amenities we have to offer and we are pleased that you enjoyed them. The cheese scones at the Guest Reception are a guest (and staff) favorite. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Inn if you find yourself on the Central Coast in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    206
    64
    34
    21
See reviews for
150
309
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was probably our 20th visit to the Apple Farm--and reading a bunch of the reviews had us worried. No need. The gardens were lovely, our room (317) had been completely redecorated with so much attention to detail and beauty, and we enjoyed all the extras we've come to expect--the wine and cheese reception, cookies in the evening, hot drinks in the lobby at all hours, turn down service, newspaper delivery and more. There is a red wooden apple to commemorate your visit, apple cider and chocolate in the room, a gift shop, restaurant, pool and jacuzzi, places to sit outdoors and read or chat--and we enjoyed the "Bounty of the County" package which took us to a coffee company (private tour--amazing), glassblower, winery and finished with a brewery and flights of beer. Tour, gourmet lunches, two nights and all the perks for a great deal. Thank you Apple Farm!

Room Tip: Third floor away from the pool is better if it's a time when there might be a bunch of kids in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your many stays with us over the years! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your Bounty of the County tour. That package is a guest favorite and we like adding new stops on it each year that showcase all the great things our county has to offer. We really appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you for many more visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We loved this place! They doted on us! Rooms cozy,w/exquisite decor.Great Restaurant and Bakery,too!
The Staff,all friendly and helpful!
Coffee and Hot Cider available in the Lobby and a Guests welcoming with Canapes and Wine in a lovely setting,near a water wheel and below magnificent amazingly tall Sycamore trees!
We will be back! We bought our stay on Groupon!
We loved it! A wonderful dinner at their restaurant,and after checking out bought pastries to bring home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. It sounds like your first stay was wonderful and we are so thrilled to hear that! We really appreciate your comments especially regarding our staff members. We will be sure to pass them on to our entire team. Thank you again. We look forward for welcoming you for many more visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I AM a huge fan of this Inn - this is my second time to stay and I always stay in the main inn just because of safety. I didn't book the great deal of $129 in advance, I was driving through today and could only get the $179 deal which for me was well worth it as 1) I am tired, just drove from LA and2) I know that I am going to get a good night's sleep in a place that is very, very nice, very safe, and has a fabulous restaurant on the premises for a delicious breakfast. Just one pet peeve. When you say that there is a wine reception from 3:30pm through 5pm - then ALL items should remain on the table until 5pm. As much as I enjoyed the guest reception with local wine, delicious cheesy rolls, chef-mix snacks and salmon rolls that no one touched (who is going to eat fish that has been sitting out?), the friendly guy pouring wine started putting all of the refreshments away around 4:30pm, there went the water, snacks, and appetizers. By the time 5pm arrived, everything was long gone. Come on folks, really? Have EVERYTHING out and available until 5pm-as paid for and promised. Other than that, I am a big fan. I have been coming here for breakfast for over 20 years - every time I take a trip on the 101, this is the place.

Room Tip: Along the creek is dark in the evenings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your stays with us. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stays and then we are your spot on the 101. Thank you for letting us know about your Guest Wine Reception experience. This is definitely not typical of our reception and I have addressed this with our reception host personally. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of our trip to visit the California missions. We stayed in one of the Trellis rooms because of the lure of the private hot tub. The rooms are located below the parking lot, so when you go outside your room, you look up a small (5 ft) hill and see the cars. We enjoyed the hot tub. The room was very small and overdone in flowery fabric that covered everything (curtains, chairs, walls, tablecloth, lamp shades, bed posts - see photos). When we turned on the heater, it set off the fire alarm. There were silverfish in the bathroom and spider under my pillow. We called the front desk and were told that bugs are a problem in those rooms because of the close proximity of trees (really?), but we were welcome to stay next time in the main building. There is a wheel house (closed when we were there). They have a 2-story gift shop attached to the restaurant. Apple cider is sold at the gift shop and is delicious!! The entire property is all done in "Main Street USA" style - very fun. The illusion is shattered however, when you go into the restaurant which plays loud pop music. The food was good. We ate there for breakfast and dinner. If you get a chance, have a cheese flight at Meze Wine Bar (located on Santa Barbara Avenue).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the bugs that you found in your room. Please be assured that we do have very high housekeeping standards and that we do our best to keep the pests away. I have notified our Housekeeping Manager about this so that she may address this with our housekeeping staff immediately. We are working on renovation of our Trellis Court rooms to update the floral fabrics to a more simple country design. Once again, we appreciate all of your feedback as it continually helps us to improve and we certainly hope to be able to welcome you again in soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thank you Apple Farm for your warm hospitality! We really enjoyed our stay! I especially loved your warm apple cider each day! The diner/shop was so charming. We dined there at breakfast and also dinner. Be sure to also try their amazing apple pie or apple dumpling! Yummy yummy! It was such a relaxing stay and We will definitely be back! Thank you again Apple Farm for your kind hospitality!

Room Tip: Stay in the classic rooms! They are so charming & adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear you had such a nice time and that could be your home away from home. Thank you for your restaurant visits as well. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire staff. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went to the Apple Farm over this last weekend!! We stay there eveytime we go to San Luis Obispo! The room is spacious, clean and updated with new paint, colors and a flat screen.
The fireplaces are a nice touch, as is the Apple juice and cookies upon checking in!!
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Wine in served every afternoon in a lovely courtyard.
There is always coffee and lemon waterr waiting for you in the lobby as well!! Overall it is a very comfortable cozy place to stay!!

Room Tip: Book ahead so you can stay creekside which I find a bit nicer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to write your review and for your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you have chosen us as your home away from home in San Luis Obispo. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to many more visits from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.