We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Solid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Trellis Package - $119
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Apple Farm a number of times over the last 20 years. A wonderful place to stay with kids. We have stayed there with as many as four kids, but now we are down to one.

The property is maximally themed and is always meticulously maintained. Very clean rooms. No flat screens in the room we stayed in, but that is about all I have as a criticism.

Price/Value is very good, and the property is well located to explore the town. If I was traveling without kids, I might stay at something a bit more upscale, but it is perfect for a family vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for all your visits to our hotel over the years. We are thrilled we have been able to welcome you so many times and that you have enjoyed your stays with your family. We really appreciate your comments and we will be sure to pass them on to our entire staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your family for many more visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    216
    65
    34
    21
See reviews for
161
325
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had read some poor reviews of the Apple Farm on line but it was recommended by a friend so we went ahead and booked there. We had a wonderful stay! Everyone was courteous and we really enjoyed breakfast in their restaurant. Shopping in the gift shop was toooo much fun. I recommend this place to you if you are looking for a nice place in San Luis Obispo.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room and really enjoyed our stay. It is close to the highway but we had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent visit to our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you chose us for your vacation and that you enjoyed your stay! Our Family Suite is a perfect respite for larger groups and our Gift Shop is so fun to browse. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again when you travel to the Central Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Having stayed at many locations around the world, I have found the Apple Farm to be one of the best kept secrets, expecially in California. The location is always clean and inviting, the grounds are always beautifully manicured, the service prompt, and the people are the friendliest anywhere. You are treated as a member of the family, and not just just room renter. Everyone is very helpful, and they make you feel as if you are the most important person to walk through the front door. The rooms are impeccably appointed, clean, inviting, and as comfortable as being in your own home. The complementary amenity & beverage in your room lets you know that you are appreciated as a guest, and a welcomed friend. The beds are fantastic, the lenins clean and ffresh, and the views from every room are filled with sights and sounds of serenity. Shopping, dining, or whatever you want is a pleasent walking distance, or a trolly is on a routine schedule. On a scale of 1 - 5, I give it a 10.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the second or thrid floor rooms on the creek side. There are two very private ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and your stays over the years. We are so thrilled that you have enjoyed your stays and that our staff has been so personable and professional. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff. Thank you for your review! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prunedale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Again, we enjoyed the Apple Farm Inn. This time we stayed in one of the Trellis Court rooms. While this room was smaller than the ones in the Inn, we enjoyed the comfort, and the private hot tub. We will return again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The room was so homey and cozy. I loved every inch of it. The staff was very kind and friendly and made me feel like I was coming home. The restaurant had excellent food and the gift shop was put together beautifully and the staff was friendly and helpful. We couldn't believe what we got for the price. My husband and I will definitely stay here again and again. It was a fantastic experience. My friend had a death in the family and missed her reservation but the manager was kind and understanding and let she and her husband stay another day. That is small town kindness that you don't see every day. I was so impressed by that. I thought that went beyond business and showed they cared about their customers. I always recommend the Apple Farm. It is so delightful, great value for the price and the staff is superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 123. It was a great mix of cozy yet not overly feminine so my husband liked it too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Apple Farm and it was wonderful. Charming decor. the rooms are spacious and fit four people comfortably.The beds are comfy and it's kept up and clean.The cookies and apple cider in the lobby are a nice touch. The restaurant next door is great also. Don't forget to order a scone.Have fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The best hotel with old-fashioned country charm and hospitality. Love the cookies at checkin and the wine offer in late afternoon. The food at the restaurant is wonderful. Only spent one night but could stay there forever. Furnishings and ambiance of room is romantic and warm and.... Love the fireplace. definitely would reserve here again!

Room Tip: we had room 304 so it was great-double queen with fireplace. can hear frogs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.