We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Nifty Fifty Rate - $129
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Prunedale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Again, we enjoyed the Apple Farm Inn. This time we stayed in one of the Trellis Court rooms. While this room was smaller than the ones in the Inn, we enjoyed the comfort, and the private hot tub. We will return again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    240
    73
    35
    22
See reviews for
181
376
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The room was so homey and cozy. I loved every inch of it. The staff was very kind and friendly and made me feel like I was coming home. The restaurant had excellent food and the gift shop was put together beautifully and the staff was friendly and helpful. We couldn't believe what we got for the price. My husband and I will definitely stay here again and again. It was a fantastic experience. My friend had a death in the family and missed her reservation but the manager was kind and understanding and let she and her husband stay another day. That is small town kindness that you don't see every day. I was so impressed by that. I thought that went beyond business and showed they cared about their customers. I always recommend the Apple Farm. It is so delightful, great value for the price and the staff is superb!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 123. It was a great mix of cozy yet not overly feminine so my husband liked it too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Apple Farm and it was wonderful. Charming decor. the rooms are spacious and fit four people comfortably.The beds are comfy and it's kept up and clean.The cookies and apple cider in the lobby are a nice touch. The restaurant next door is great also. Don't forget to order a scone.Have fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The best hotel with old-fashioned country charm and hospitality. Love the cookies at checkin and the wine offer in late afternoon. The food at the restaurant is wonderful. Only spent one night but could stay there forever. Furnishings and ambiance of room is romantic and warm and.... Love the fireplace. definitely would reserve here again!

Room Tip: we had room 304 so it was great-double queen with fireplace. can hear frogs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from our second visit to the Apple Farm Inn (our first visit was in Aug 2012) and once again found it to be clean, comfortable and very charming! I love a hotel that has that little bit extra and this hotel certainly has that. From the welcoming front desk area with hot and cold beverages including a complimentary glass of wine upon check in, to the beautiful gift shop and restaurant, to the watermill and swimming pool and hot tub this hotel has plenty to explore and experience. This hotel has the feel of an inn or bed and breakfast and the decor is shabby chic and may feel a bit to some like visiting grandma's house with all of the wallpaper and floral decor but let me say that the two rooms that we experienced upon our stays were lovely, spacious and very comfortable. Both of our rooms had a seating area with a couch and fireplace and one evening we stayed in and played board games in front of the fireplace (beforehand we visited the bakery and got goodies and fresh pressed apple cider to enjoy) and had a great time. Our main reason for visiting was a family ATV trip to Pismo Beach. Pismo is about 12 miles from the Apple Farm and the drive to the beach is really beautiful. A great time was had by all- even our twenty somethings thought the place was very nice. We had breakfast twice in the restaurant and it was really good- the scones and biscuits that they serve with their boysenberry jam were heavenly! Besides Pismo, we made a stop at the Madonna Inn just to gawk at all of the crazy decor and had a meal out at the Firestone Grill in SLO- their trip tip sandwiches are crazy good. If I had any suggestions or comments for the future they would be: 1) We had decided that this vacation was going to be leisurely so we took our time in the mornings. Even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door we had the housekeepers knocking and they even called us once to see if we wanted housekeeping. Check out is at 12 noon so this was a bit annoying. The other comment is that while the restaurant served good food, the whole service experience was very slow. Other than that we had a really good time and look forward to returning soon. It is a beautiful place to relax!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you chose to stay with us once again and that you were able to enjoy all the different parts of our property. We will be sure to retrain our housekeeping staff and we certainly appreciate that you let us know the ways we can improve. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved this hotel - quaint & charming and so comfortable. Beds are excellent - slept so good! Location is excellent - right next to the entrance to the 101 but you wouldn't know it as it was very quiet, close to CalPolySLO, and town. Coffee shop has good old fashioned country food and they stock a very cute, full gift shop!

Room Tip: We got a really nice room with two queens and a sitting area. I hear it was a little more contempor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We really appreciate the time you took to write your review and for your stay at our hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are so glad to hear it. It's nice that you were able to explore our restaurant and gift shop as well. We do our best to combine cozy charm with the modern conveniences of a full service hotel. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and it was a great sized bedroom, the serve free coffee which is really good and they have a hot tub and swimming pool which are both excellent. Our weekend was great at there was nothing to complain about as the staff are lovely. We had breakfast in their restaurant which was pricey but really really tasty. The hotel itself is kind of funny as it is trying to be antique and cute but does kind of come across a little tacky and everything on display is for sale so you do feel like you are sleeping in a shop. But it did make us laugh! We got a deal on our room- if we were to have paid full price I would not think it was worth it but with a deal I would say yes. Great location for wine tasting and traveling to the other beach towns near by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of the various amenities that our property has to offer like our lobby beverages and heated swimming pool. We really appreciate your feedback and we do hope to welcome you again soon when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.