We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Respite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Package - $199
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Jose, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Charming Respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from our second visit to the Apple Farm Inn (our first visit was in Aug 2012) and once again found it to be clean, comfortable and very charming! I love a hotel that has that little bit extra and this hotel certainly has that. From the welcoming front desk area with hot and cold beverages including a complimentary glass of wine upon check in, to the beautiful gift shop and restaurant, to the watermill and swimming pool and hot tub this hotel has plenty to explore and experience. This hotel has the feel of an inn or bed and breakfast and the decor is shabby chic and may feel a bit to some like visiting grandma's house with all of the wallpaper and floral decor but let me say that the two rooms that we experienced upon our stays were lovely, spacious and very comfortable. Both of our rooms had a seating area with a couch and fireplace and one evening we stayed in and played board games in front of the fireplace (beforehand we visited the bakery and got goodies and fresh pressed apple cider to enjoy) and had a great time. Our main reason for visiting was a family ATV trip to Pismo Beach. Pismo is about 12 miles from the Apple Farm and the drive to the beach is really beautiful. A great time was had by all- even our twenty somethings thought the place was very nice. We had breakfast twice in the restaurant and it was really good- the scones and biscuits that they serve with their boysenberry jam were heavenly! Besides Pismo, we made a stop at the Madonna Inn just to gawk at all of the crazy decor and had a meal out at the Firestone Grill in SLO- their trip tip sandwiches are crazy good. If I had any suggestions or comments for the future they would be: 1) We had decided that this vacation was going to be leisurely so we took our time in the mornings. Even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door we had the housekeepers knocking and they even called us once to see if we wanted housekeeping. Check out is at 12 noon so this was a bit annoying. The other comment is that while the restaurant served good food, the whole service experience was very slow. Other than that we had a really good time and look forward to returning soon. It is a beautiful place to relax!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear you chose to stay with us once again and that you were able to enjoy all the different parts of our property. We will be sure to retrain our housekeeping staff and we certainly appreciate that you let us know the ways we can improve. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    209
    65
    33
    21
See reviews for
155
316
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved this hotel - quaint & charming and so comfortable. Beds are excellent - slept so good! Location is excellent - right next to the entrance to the 101 but you wouldn't know it as it was very quiet, close to CalPolySLO, and town. Coffee shop has good old fashioned country food and they stock a very cute, full gift shop!

Room Tip: We got a really nice room with two queens and a sitting area. I hear it was a little more contempor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We really appreciate the time you took to write your review and for your stay at our hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are so glad to hear it. It's nice that you were able to explore our restaurant and gift shop as well. We do our best to combine cozy charm with the modern conveniences of a full service hotel. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and it was a great sized bedroom, the serve free coffee which is really good and they have a hot tub and swimming pool which are both excellent. Our weekend was great at there was nothing to complain about as the staff are lovely. We had breakfast in their restaurant which was pricey but really really tasty. The hotel itself is kind of funny as it is trying to be antique and cute but does kind of come across a little tacky and everything on display is for sale so you do feel like you are sleeping in a shop. But it did make us laugh! We got a deal on our room- if we were to have paid full price I would not think it was worth it but with a deal I would say yes. Great location for wine tasting and traveling to the other beach towns near by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of the various amenities that our property has to offer like our lobby beverages and heated swimming pool. We really appreciate your feedback and we do hope to welcome you again soon when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had previously stayed at the Apple Farm Inn and had a great time but on the last day there was a plumbing issue. I wasn't sure if I would return due to the bad experience of the issue but we gave it another chance this year. Kim set everything up for us and our experience this time far exceeded our expectations. The room in the main building was gorgeous, the staff was friendly, and you can't help but feel warm and fuzzy here. We are putting our previous poor experience behind us and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and your recent stay at our property. We are so thrilled that you gave us another try and that you enjoyed your stay so much! We really love it when we can have opportunity to improve and we thank you for giving us that. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We saw a concert at SLO Brewery and the Apple Farm was a 20-minute walk from the venue. Perfect for drinking and not driving.

The rooms in the main building can go for as high as $200 but if you're just looking for a place to sleep, select the smaller rooms in the annex for about $120. Small, but comy beds with a cute gas fireplace.

Free cookies and wine on arrival make this place a welcome retreat. For the same price you could stay at a flea-baggy motel in the heart of downtown. This is far superior.

Room Tip: Stay on a ground floor to save the walk up steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and you recent stay at our property. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are glad to hear it! We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and our cozy Trellis Court rooms. We really appreciate your comments and we look forward to your next visit to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been coming to the Apple Farm for over 20 years...it is a favorite anniversary getaway for us. We normally stay in the main Inn but this time we thought we'd save a few dollars and stay in the Trellis Court. Despite other reviews, we found the Trellis Court to be just fine. The room is a very miniature version of a room in the main Inn. It's the same decor, fireplace, etc...just tucked into a smaller space which we found to be perfect.
Check-in was smooth and the employees in the bakery and restaurant are always wonderful.
We did notice a few things that bothered us a bit...the afternoon reception that we've always enjoyed has definitely changed. Instead of being handed a full glass of wine we were offered a taste and if we wanted more we were told it would be $8 per glass. Really? That's tacky and not the level of service we have always loved at the Apple Farm.
We were also handed 2 cookies at check-in. It appears that cookies in the lobby at 7pm has been discontinued....something else we've always loved about the Apple Farm. The cookies we were handed at check-in were stale....again, not the level of service that we have always loved at the Apple Farm.
The gift shop has also changed over the years. In years past it would take me quite awhile to make my way through the gift shop as it was packed with so much to look at. Now it's a bit sparse...especially the upstairs area.
We will always love the Apple Farm but it is disappointing to see changes made that are not necessary and that "regulars" have come to love and are part of the reason we have kept coming back over the years. Those special "touches" are why people come back! Due to these changes it sparked our interest to look at other hotels in the area for our next getaway which we've never even considered before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time write a review and for your visits to our property over the years. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your last stay. We really appreciate the feedback of all of guests and especially our longtime guests like you. We are happy to announce that we will be bringing back our evening cookies in April. Currently, we are making some improvements to our Guest Wine Reception and we will soon be able to not only offer tastes of local wines, but also complimentary glasses of our Apple Farm label wine which is from local vineyards. Thank you again for your comments. We certainly hope we will be able to welcome you again soon for your next central coast getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Apple Farm for almost 20 years. The overall value received cannot be beat. Friendly knowledgeable staff, quiet spacious rooms, an amazing restaurant, all contribute to a delightful stay. Cookies on arrival, well stocked beverage table in the lobby, beautiful pool and jacuzzi area, afternoon guest reception and many more nice extras also help make the Apple Farm our favorite getaway in the Central Coast. We always enjoy the breakfast in bed room service option every morning in our robes in the comfortable sitting area of our room.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms always preferred, no cars, very quiet and lush garden window views. Subscribe to onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and your stays with us over the years. Your patronage is invaluable to us and we just love our longtime guests like you! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you for many more stays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.