We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They won us back over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They won us back over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had previously stayed at the Apple Farm Inn and had a great time but on the last day there was a plumbing issue. I wasn't sure if I would return due to the bad experience of the issue but we gave it another chance this year. Kim set everything up for us and our experience this time far exceeded our expectations. The room in the main building was gorgeous, the staff was friendly, and you can't help but feel warm and fuzzy here. We are putting our previous poor experience behind us and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and your recent stay at our property. We are so thrilled that you gave us another try and that you enjoyed your stay so much! We really love it when we can have opportunity to improve and we thank you for giving us that. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    286
    87
    39
    22
See reviews for
235
445
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We saw a concert at SLO Brewery and the Apple Farm was a 20-minute walk from the venue. Perfect for drinking and not driving.

The rooms in the main building can go for as high as $200 but if you're just looking for a place to sleep, select the smaller rooms in the annex for about $120. Small, but comy beds with a cute gas fireplace.

Free cookies and wine on arrival make this place a welcome retreat. For the same price you could stay at a flea-baggy motel in the heart of downtown. This is far superior.

Room Tip: Stay on a ground floor to save the walk up steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and you recent stay at our property. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are glad to hear it! We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and our cozy Trellis Court rooms. We really appreciate your comments and we look forward to your next visit to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been coming to the Apple Farm for over 20 years...it is a favorite anniversary getaway for us. We normally stay in the main Inn but this time we thought we'd save a few dollars and stay in the Trellis Court. Despite other reviews, we found the Trellis Court to be just fine. The room is a very miniature version of a room in the main Inn. It's the same decor, fireplace, etc...just tucked into a smaller space which we found to be perfect.
Check-in was smooth and the employees in the bakery and restaurant are always wonderful.
We did notice a few things that bothered us a bit...the afternoon reception that we've always enjoyed has definitely changed. Instead of being handed a full glass of wine we were offered a taste and if we wanted more we were told it would be $8 per glass. Really? That's tacky and not the level of service we have always loved at the Apple Farm.
We were also handed 2 cookies at check-in. It appears that cookies in the lobby at 7pm has been discontinued....something else we've always loved about the Apple Farm. The cookies we were handed at check-in were stale....again, not the level of service that we have always loved at the Apple Farm.
The gift shop has also changed over the years. In years past it would take me quite awhile to make my way through the gift shop as it was packed with so much to look at. Now it's a bit sparse...especially the upstairs area.
We will always love the Apple Farm but it is disappointing to see changes made that are not necessary and that "regulars" have come to love and are part of the reason we have kept coming back over the years. Those special "touches" are why people come back! Due to these changes it sparked our interest to look at other hotels in the area for our next getaway which we've never even considered before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time write a review and for your visits to our property over the years. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your last stay. We really appreciate the feedback of all of guests and especially our longtime guests like you. We are happy to announce that we will be bringing back our evening cookies in April. Currently, we are making some improvements to our Guest Wine Reception and we will soon be able to not only offer tastes of local wines, but also complimentary glasses of our Apple Farm label wine which is from local vineyards. Thank you again for your comments. We certainly hope we will be able to welcome you again soon for your next central coast getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Apple Farm for almost 20 years. The overall value received cannot be beat. Friendly knowledgeable staff, quiet spacious rooms, an amazing restaurant, all contribute to a delightful stay. Cookies on arrival, well stocked beverage table in the lobby, beautiful pool and jacuzzi area, afternoon guest reception and many more nice extras also help make the Apple Farm our favorite getaway in the Central Coast. We always enjoy the breakfast in bed room service option every morning in our robes in the comfortable sitting area of our room.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms always preferred, no cars, very quiet and lush garden window views. Subscribe to onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and your stays with us over the years. Your patronage is invaluable to us and we just love our longtime guests like you! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you for many more stays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here. We stayed in the motor inn part of the hotel, as we needed a family suite. Eventhough the hotel website said it might be noisy, we didn't find it noisy at all.

The hotel is so kitsch and adorable with loads of cutesy furniture and decorations. We were welcomed very warmly with complimentary glasses of wine and delicious home made cookies.. Yum!! As it was valentines day, there was a barbershop quartet going round serenading the guests. They serenaded our baby girl which was very sweet!

The restaurant is also very good with massive servings!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit your our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Family Suites. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all the different amenities of our property and we are glad to hear that the Barbershop Quartet was a fun addition to your stay. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our first stay at The Apple Farm Inn, despite numerous stops over the years at the restaurant on our way to Northern California. Nice property with friendly, helpful staff. Our recently upgraded king bed room was large, comfortable, nicely appointed, and clean. The afternoon guest reception was a nice touch. The housekeeping staff was particularly cordial. Breakfast at the restaurant was good with prompt, friendly and efficient service. Two minor drawbacks were that the HVAC system was a bit noisy with no in room controls and there was no place anywhere on the property for my husband to enjoy an evening cigar.

Room Tip: If you're noise sensitive like me, you might want to ask for a room away from the HVAC units and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for choosing to stay at our Inn. We are so thrilled to hear you had a nice visit. Thank you for letting us know about the heater unit. We will be sure to have our maintenance department look into it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we appreciate your business and feedback, which we certainly be passed along to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been coming to the Apple Farm Inn for 15 yrs now. We have spent family getaways to romantic weekends and birthdays here. And they never disappoint. Fresh baked cookies on arrival, staff is friendly and eager to make your stay enjoyable. Rooms are beautiful and comfy. The restaurant is always good and your in a good location to go and see all the things the central coast has to offer. We recommend Apple Farm Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your visits to our property over the years. We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your stays. Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you for many more stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#10 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.