We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best overall value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Nifty Fifty Rate - $129
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“best overall value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Apple Farm for almost 20 years. The overall value received cannot be beat. Friendly knowledgeable staff, quiet spacious rooms, an amazing restaurant, all contribute to a delightful stay. Cookies on arrival, well stocked beverage table in the lobby, beautiful pool and jacuzzi area, afternoon guest reception and many more nice extras also help make the Apple Farm our favorite getaway in the Central Coast. We always enjoy the breakfast in bed room service option every morning in our robes in the comfortable sitting area of our room.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms always preferred, no cars, very quiet and lush garden window views. Subscribe to onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and your stays with us over the years. Your patronage is invaluable to us and we just love our longtime guests like you! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you for many more stays in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    241
    73
    36
    22
See reviews for
182
377
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a great stay here. We stayed in the motor inn part of the hotel, as we needed a family suite. Eventhough the hotel website said it might be noisy, we didn't find it noisy at all.

The hotel is so kitsch and adorable with loads of cutesy furniture and decorations. We were welcomed very warmly with complimentary glasses of wine and delicious home made cookies.. Yum!! As it was valentines day, there was a barbershop quartet going round serenading the guests. They serenaded our baby girl which was very sweet!

The restaurant is also very good with massive servings!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent visit your our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Family Suites. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all the different amenities of our property and we are glad to hear that the Barbershop Quartet was a fun addition to your stay. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our first stay at The Apple Farm Inn, despite numerous stops over the years at the restaurant on our way to Northern California. Nice property with friendly, helpful staff. Our recently upgraded king bed room was large, comfortable, nicely appointed, and clean. The afternoon guest reception was a nice touch. The housekeeping staff was particularly cordial. Breakfast at the restaurant was good with prompt, friendly and efficient service. Two minor drawbacks were that the HVAC system was a bit noisy with no in room controls and there was no place anywhere on the property for my husband to enjoy an evening cigar.

Room Tip: If you're noise sensitive like me, you might want to ask for a room away from the HVAC units and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for choosing to stay at our Inn. We are so thrilled to hear you had a nice visit. Thank you for letting us know about the heater unit. We will be sure to have our maintenance department look into it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we appreciate your business and feedback, which we certainly be passed along to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been coming to the Apple Farm Inn for 15 yrs now. We have spent family getaways to romantic weekends and birthdays here. And they never disappoint. Fresh baked cookies on arrival, staff is friendly and eager to make your stay enjoyable. Rooms are beautiful and comfy. The restaurant is always good and your in a good location to go and see all the things the central coast has to offer. We recommend Apple Farm Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your visits to our property over the years. We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your stays. Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you for many more stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Apple Farm has consistently over the years been one of our favorite stops along the Central Coast. The service is friendly and the decor is warm and inviting. Recently stayed in a room with 2 Queens that was spacious and well appointed. We especially appreciated the good lighting for reading at night. The restaurant never disappoints us. The breakfast and dinner menu offer enough variety, excellent service and quality food to make your stay very relaxing------food coupons also a plus! The Apple Farm's charm always leaves us with warm memories and the knowledge that a place does exist where one can de- stress and feel refreshed!

Room Tip: Creek side and specialty rooms ( corner suites) are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate your review and your stays with us over the years. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay just as much! Our rooms with two queen beds have mostly been renovated and are spacious and comfortable. We are happy that you also enjoyed your restaurant meals. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We made a last minute decision to stay here one night prior to heading further up the coast and I'm glad we did. We stayed in a room with a private hot tub in the back patio. The hot tub was great! It was hot, clean and romantic. They have nice robes available to put on after getting out of the tub which was needed on that cold central coast evening. The room was very nice, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. It was weird seeing an old tube TV but we didn't use it anyways. The air conditioner/ heater was old and noisy and I did have to get up one time to turn it down because it was making a weird sound, however we like to have white noise while sleeping so it didn't cause a problem for us. The evening wine reception was perfect. They offered plenty of snacks and the wine/champagne was great! We ate both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was OK but I'll rate the food separately. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a private hot tub in the back patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so thrilled to hear you had a wonderful anniversary and stay and that you were able to enjoy our private hot tub rooms. They are a perfect retreat. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is certainly one of the most memorable places we stayed on our 3 week road trip. Lots of character and charm, especially at Christmas time when we were there. We loved the cookies on arrival, friendly staff, $5 credit towards items in the bakery and the lunch in the restaurant was delicious. Our room was much smaller than others on our trip and the decor was very 'busy' but we had a great stay and would highly recommend. The town of SLO is quite a distance from the hotel but is well worth a trip, its beautiful. Look out of 'gum alley!'

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and your visit to our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal at our restaurant. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our downtown area as well. It is a fun downtown with lots to see and do and Bubble Gum Alley is definitely a unique highlight. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.