We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This made our anniversary weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Package - $199
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Lompoc, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“This made our anniversary weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We made a last minute decision to stay here one night prior to heading further up the coast and I'm glad we did. We stayed in a room with a private hot tub in the back patio. The hot tub was great! It was hot, clean and romantic. They have nice robes available to put on after getting out of the tub which was needed on that cold central coast evening. The room was very nice, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. It was weird seeing an old tube TV but we didn't use it anyways. The air conditioner/ heater was old and noisy and I did have to get up one time to turn it down because it was making a weird sound, however we like to have white noise while sleeping so it didn't cause a problem for us. The evening wine reception was perfect. They offered plenty of snacks and the wine/champagne was great! We ate both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and the food was OK but I'll rate the food separately. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a private hot tub in the back patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so thrilled to hear you had a wonderful anniversary and stay and that you were able to enjoy our private hot tub rooms. They are a perfect retreat. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    207
    66
    34
    21
See reviews for
152
315
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is certainly one of the most memorable places we stayed on our 3 week road trip. Lots of character and charm, especially at Christmas time when we were there. We loved the cookies on arrival, friendly staff, $5 credit towards items in the bakery and the lunch in the restaurant was delicious. Our room was much smaller than others on our trip and the decor was very 'busy' but we had a great stay and would highly recommend. The town of SLO is quite a distance from the hotel but is well worth a trip, its beautiful. Look out of 'gum alley!'

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and your visit to our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your meal at our restaurant. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our downtown area as well. It is a fun downtown with lots to see and do and Bubble Gum Alley is definitely a unique highlight. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Apple Farm many times. This one-night visit was the shortest, but was wonderful. From the friendly greeting at the front desk to the impeccably clean and well-decorated room, our stay was first class. We purchased a special rate which included a $60.00 dinner credit and a $5.00 Breakfast credit, so we ate all our meals at the restaurant. The service there is also very good. The waiter brought my husband's coat, which he had left in the booth, to us in the Hotel Lobby. The young lady pouring wine at the guests' only hors d'oeuvre
event in the afternoon, went out of her way to get us a dinner menu from the restaurant, to look at while we sat and sipped. We always look forward to our trips to the Apple Farm. An exceptional place to stay.

Room Tip: It is well worth it to book one of the premium rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your recent visit to our hotel and restaurant. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and we are so glad to hear it. We appreciate your feedback on our staff and rooms and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Make sure you know your costs and fees when you book. The taxes are high on the rooms now, the service is substandard, the staff has become complacant and condescending. They act as if your bothering them at the front desk, they hide in the back and it takes announcing your there after ringing the bell to get front desk help. The conditions of the rooms show signs of budget problems and its a real dissapointment after years of staying there. Never again.

Room Tip: Dont go for the ugrades, just stay in the base rooms where you get the basics or find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for you recent visit to our hotel. We sincerely apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on having caring staff members and we try our best to be available to our guests. It sounds like we missed the mark this time around and I will be retraining the staff on this immediately. We have begun renovating our rooms and a majority of the Inn rooms have already been completed. Our Trellis Court rooms are due to be renovated in the coming year and we are excited about the plans we have for them. Once again thank you for your feedback as it continually helps us to improve and we certainly hope to hear from you directly so that we can have an opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here in September 2012 and I have to say it was one of the highlights of our three week holiday in California and Vegas.

The staff were so friendly and helpful from start to finish and they really went out of their way to help us in every way.

There are two kind of rooms, the main hotel and the motel. We stayed in the motel type rooms. To be fair, to call them motel rooms are doing them a major disservice, our room was gorgeous, it was a really quaint and beautifully decorated room. There is also a nice pool and they served wine there from 3-5 every day, which was nice. They also have quite a nice resturant and gift shop.

I'd highly recommend The Apple Farm if you are staying in the area, beautiful location, really friendly and helpful staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and the time you took to write your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of the different amenities on our property. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have always enjoyed the warmth and ambiance of the Inn. The staff as always been helpful, friendly and attentive. The renovated rooms are comfortable. Some tweaking can always be done.The heater/airconditioning unit can be noisy.While I know that everyone is trying to economize, I would like to suggest that each room have at least one, if not 2, lights bright enough by which you can read. Many hotels have changed back to dim lighting, but there are those of us who would like to read at night without struggling to see or turning on all the lights. When traveling In the US, I now carry a couple of light bulbs. In the restaurant, I wish for some smaller, heathier meals to be available

I always look forward to my stays and shall be back again.

Room Tip: I prefer the renovated rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for staying at our hotel. It sounds like you have enjoyed your stays over the years and we are glad to hear it. Our newly renovated rooms are all uniquely decorated and have a contemporary charm. Thank you for your feedback on the air conditioning units and the lamps in the rooms. I have passed on your comments to our Maintenance Manager so that he can improve these areas. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Apple Farm overnite on our way to Carmel and then again on our way back down the state. And it was a delight both times. The inn and town makes an excellent stop to breakup a long drive. A very different inn (beautifully decorated) with LOTS of charm and an attentive staff. And within walking distance to the town.Looking forward to returning and staying longer.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, stay at the Inn rather than the Motor Inn, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We appreciate your review and your recent visits to our inn. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stays and that our staff was attentive to your needs. Our location is convenient to downtown and it is a wonderful area to explore. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.