We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Trellis Package - $119
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is amazing. A step back in time.

Courteous helpful service, beautiful grounds and delightful rooms. There was not a thing that my wife and I did not like about this place. I cannot praise it enough.

Their web site and photo shots don't do it justice

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. Should be more than 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and the time you took to write your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the room you stayed in. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    213
    65
    33
    21
See reviews for
160
322
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Apple Farm Inn, in San Luis Obispo, California, has been a favorite of many travelers to Central California. Once you go to the Apple Farm..you will never forget it.
With rooms in the main Inn, to rooms in several smaller buildings, there is something for everyone.
Each room is it's own distinctive style, and each offers a unique perspective.
Impeccable decor, immaculately clean, and tastefully decorated, you can't go wrong.
The Apple Farm Restaurant is on site, and has the tastiest food imaginable. Huge portions make it well worth the reasonable price. Save room for dessert!! You won't want to miss out. Try their famous Apple Dumpling, and be sure to get it a la mode..it's to die for!

Room Tip: Rooms in back are my favorite..walking through the beautiful garden is a must, and the creek that ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay at our property. It sounds like you had a wonderful and we are so glad to hear it. Our rooms are all decorated differently which is appealing to many of our guests and the Apple Dumpling at the restaurant is a favorite among our guests and employees alike. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here with our 5-year-old son. All of the staff was warm and welcoming even with a a child in a "nicer" hotel. We enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub, daily reception, apple cider and the attentive service. We highly recommend the Apple Farm. The only drawback was that the bed was a too soft. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so thrilled to hear that our staff were accommodating especially to your son. Please feel free to request a firmer mattress for your next visit. Our staff will be more than happy to reserve a room with this kind of mattress for you. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the trellis rooms which adjoin. They are quaint, a little small and not very quiet. The decor is what you would expect from an Apple Farm Inn. The bathroom was on the small side too. The welcoming cider and coffee in the lobby are great when you are pulling in tired. The room towels are adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay at our property. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. The Family Suites in the Trellis Court Motel are a wonderful and cozy option for families. The beverages in the lobby are some of our guests' favorite amenities and it's nice to hear that they were a welcome sight after a long drive. Thank you again for your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

this is a great hotel to stay in i stay in this for only one night i wanted to stay more i loved the hot tub and pool but Warning the chocolates they leave you taste like vomit but impart from that and a few freaky paintings in the room it was a great stay.

Room Tip: rooms by the poo are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our property and for your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear you had a relaxing visit and that you got to enjoy our pool and hot tub. It sounds like we need to double check our candy supply to make sure to it is up to our standards. Thank you again for your comments! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a few days here with another couple and it was very relaxing. We stayed in one of the updated rooms and it was beautiful. The room was much more contemporary although it still had that country inn feel. We loved the black and white decor accented with silver and light purples. My husband especially enjoyed the new flat screen television!! The only thing missing was the "handy-dandy" information binder normally found in the rooms with all the Inn information. I think they were working on updating those as well but because that was missing we didn't really have important details about the Manager's wine tasting reception. We left for the day and returned to learn the reception was over. The front desk check-in person didn't give us any information either. Next time we know to ask so we can plan a little better. All in all, the Apple Farm Inn is wonderful and we always come back for much needed rest and relaxation!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful but a room on the creek side are normally the quieter ones because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent stay at our property. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we are glad to hear it. We are pleased that you enjoyed the new decor in your room and the flat screen television. You are correct in saying that we are working on our Guest Information Binders and they should be finished very soon. That being said, we most definitely should have informed you of our Guest Wine Tasting Reception. We do apologize that this did not happen. We have retrained our staff on this and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is our go-to place when we need some time to relax and reconnect. The hospitality of the staff is top notch and the details like a welcome basket in each room, evening turn down service, daily guest reception etc...leave us feeling pampered. The restaurant food is delicious! We have recommended the Apple Farm to all our friends and family. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recent visit! We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays over the years. It sounds like you have gotten a chance to experience all of our services. Thank you again for your feedback and your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon for another romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.