We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's Getaway Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Nifty Fifty Rate - $129
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Girl's Getaway Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I have spent many anniversaries, birthdays and weekend getaways at the Apple Farm in the last 20+ years, but this time I took my girlfriend for a getaway weekend to enjoy the wineries and coastal beach cities near SLO. She's more of a modern 'sofitel' type, but was pleasantly surprised by the updated rooms, decor, and amenities. The bed linens were sumptuous and neither one of us wanted to get out of bed in the morning! I booked a 2-queen room on the 3rd floor with a window bench view of the Water Grist Mill...beautiful! She really enjoyed the wine hour and the freshly baked cookies each evening, which is our favorite part of staying at the Apple Farm! We both enjoyed an Apple Shea Butter massage in the morning before heading out for the day...ahh! I only wish they could accomodate 2 people in their massage room. I ordered up 2 box lunches (highly recommend!) to take with us while we explored the wineries of Paso and Templeton before heading out to the coast for the day. In the evening, we headed to the Thursday night Farmer's Market and walked Higuera Street, buying Santa Maria Tri Tip and local produce from the vendors. The following day, we headed to Hearst Castle and again enjoyed the beach cities. That evening, we went and bought some sub sandwiches and munchies, and headed out to the Sunset Drive-In for a movie. The bakery at the Apple Farm restaurant is exceptional, and you MUST take home something sweet after your stay! Country-style comfort food is the standard fare, always tasty and plentiful. Try their baked Apple Dumpling and order it when you first arrive for your meal - you won't be disappointed! The gift shop has a large variety of unique items and is exceptionally beautiful at Christmas! The entire grounds at the Apple Farm are whimsical and have a french country flare. Make sure to stop in and see the Grist Mill and gift shop. If you enjoy a scheduled vacation, try one of their winery package stays. You'll have an itinerary showcasing many of the wonderful spots in the area, and they always take you on a beautiful drive that's as memorable as the Apple Farm itself! Definitely a great Girlfriend's Getaway spot and highly recommended by these two best friends!

Room Tip: If you like old-fashioned, country-style kitsch, choose an original room in the Inn. For more moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Apple Farm! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great girl's getaway weekend! It sounds like you both had fun exploring San Luis Obispo and the surrounding areas. The location of our Inn is great for getting out and checking out local attractions. I am happy that you took advantage of our box lunches. They are perfect for a day of wine tasting and beach going. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    241
    73
    35
    22
See reviews for
182
376
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Apple Farm several times. LOVE the gift shop, LOVE the restuarant, like the hotel. I can take the frills and OTT country, and the rooms we have stayed in have been nicely kept up. I would just say overall seems a little pricey for SLO.
One complaint - when we checked in (about 5) the very nice desk clerk said "Cookies are put out at 7, get here quickly, they run out fast." If you are offering "complimentary cookies", shouldn't you have enough to go around? I mean like for all night long? That was disappointing. (we never got a cookie)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am thrilled to hear you love our restaurant and gift shop! They are a favorite of many of our guests.The cookies are also a favorite. We offer them every evening at 7pm in our lobby. We bake them fresh daily and we base the amount on how many people are staying with us for the night. Sometimes people take a few to many and we end up running out. When this is the case guests are more than welcome to ask the front desk for cookie vouchers which can be used in the bakery. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked sight unseen through an auction site and were pleasantly surprised with Apple Farm. The gentleman at the front desk asked if we would prefer one king bed, and when we said yes, he put us in a beautiful room with a fireplace, sitting area and 4-poster bed. It was much more than we expected for a one night, "just passing through" stay. The room was tastefully decorated, bathroom was updated and quite large, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. It is wonderful to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay! I am glad our front desk was able to find a room that you both enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon whether it is for a quick trip or an extended vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Because of the staff I am giving this inn the 4 stars, otherwise it would only get 3.The rooms were clean but in need of serious renovations! New furniture and tv's would be a plus. While some like the country decor, it is just a little OTT for my taste. The staff is extremely courteous, friendly and helpful and they went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant. Beautiful surroundings, awesome cookies, lovely wine reception as well. Good value for short stay. We did eat at the restaurant, dinner & breakfast. Again the staff did not disappoint. Food was good just not exceptional.Gift shop was really nice and we did purchase some of their baked goods and jam (yummy!). Maybe the rooms that have been updated would have been a better choice. I would not pass this up if you are in the area but you just might want to see the rooms before you decide to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before you check in and you might want to choose another or upgrade to a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your stay so enjoyable! We work very hard to provide excellent service to anyone who comes to the Apple Farm. The traditional decor of some of our rooms is not for everyone. I hope you have the chance to come back and experience our renovated rooms. We have kept the same feel with a more contemporary style. Thank you for your feedback it helps us to continuously improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Had arranged to stay at one of the cottages but were graciously transferred to the main hotel due to irrigation issues earlier in the day. The room was clean and newly updated. Martinelli apple cider and chocolate awaited us and was a lovely touch. At 7pm, in the main reception area are complimentary cookies fresh out of the oven. Various selections like chocolate chip with cranberries or an English toffee. The cookie size is generous and delicious. Get there quick as samples go fast.

The location is central and would be a great place to stay a few nights as your main location and explore the out-lying areas of wineries and other local interests. Sadly, we only stayed one night. The price was very reasonable for such a lovely room.

There is a hot tub and heated outdoor pool that was clean and enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I am glad you were able to try our cookies. They are a favorite of many of our guests. We hope you will have the chance to come back and stay with us for more than one night. We have multiple packages that include touring and tasting throughout this area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Apple Farm at least once a year for close to 8 years. As other hotels updated their rooms the Apple Farm lagged behind but we continued to forgive them as the hotel was cozy and predictable. Over the past few years they have updated some of their rooms to "speciality" rooms and increased the prices a bit. Really not much changed. The quilts are bright and new but the sheets are thin and the pillows are flat foam and the shower heads have no water pressure. The TV's are still still the old standard version with a poor picture and the best they can do is some HBO. Not to say we won't be back but we would continue to look for those special low season rates otherwise they are overpriced.

Room Tip: If you have a room you like you can call ahead and request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. I am sorry that you did not feel the specialty room you stayed in was adequately renovated. Every room in our Inn is unique, so some rooms may seem less updated because they have been kept more traditional. Last year we started adding new flat screen TVs and mini refrigerators to the renovated rooms and we are always happy to place you in one of these rooms if you request it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We originally made hotel reservations through Hotels.com because we found a deal for $99/night! Our Vacation was delayed a day because one of us came down with the stomach flu and we missed the first day of our reservation. However, Apple Farm was more then accommodating to our situation and helped us rearrange our reservations last minute without any penalty. The rooms were beautifully decorated with turn-of-the-century cottage style appeal.

We had a large room with a King size bed and a seating area, windows looking out toward the back of the property where the creek runs. The bath room was clean and very spacious. There were cozy robes waiting in the closet with a fridge and coffee maker tucked away in the closet. Nice large flat screen TV with lots of free channels. They also had complimentary Martinelli's Apple Cider and Hershey's kisses chocolates waiting for you..(NICE TOUCH!)

The ENTIRE Apple Farm staff was extremely friendly, the front desk always had a smile and were extremely welcoming, the staff at the Apple Farm Restaurant and Bakery were just as welcoming. TRY THE SCONES <-----!!!! They also have a wine reception from 3:30 (?) till 5:30 and the gentlemen that was pouring the wines had one rule: If you leave the reception, you must leave with a full glass to take back to your room. (SIGN ME UP!)

One of the BEST weekend get-aways you could have starts at the Apple Farm

Room Tip: Check out the Wine reception and don't forget to grab a cookie every night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am sorry to hear about the stomach flu but I am glad our staff was able to make some changes that accommodated your needs. We strive to make sure every guest has an exceptional experience with us. It is wonderful that the staff you interacted with made your trip so special. We hope you will spend many more weekend getaways with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Apple Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.