We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Nifty Fifty Rate - $129
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here with our toddler in Sept 2011. We decided to do so based on the reviews and also advice from family. Also the location is good next to 101 and with a trolley stop right outside. This hotel is a very cozy place, much like an oversized B & B. The decor is definitely "older", but that seems to be part of the charm. The furnishings are antique-like and the staff were very nice and aimed to please (with one exception which I will get to). The grounds, with the waterwheel, are very cute and the entire place has a very down-home fell about it. The restaurant was much like the hotel, with home style cooking and good food. Now the two problems....the first wasn't a big deal. When I made the reservation, we were promised that extra bedding would be waiting for us on the window/day bed so our daughter could use it. Nothing extra was there. Again, not a huge thing, but don't say it will be there if it isn't going to be. The second issue is the main reason that this is a 2 star rating instead of a 4 star. That is, that the room adjoining ours was undergoing renovations on both of our mornings there. So, on both days, 8am brought non-stop and very loud banging on our walls. It was almost comical. Since we were with our young daughter, we were up thankfully, but had we been on a romantic getaway and wanting to sleep in I would have been highly ticked. I think what bothered me most though was the fact that nothing of this was said to us at check-in. It's not hard to figure out which rooms would be affected by this work, so just tell me what's going on at check-in and that I should let you know if it becomes a problem. That would have been sufficient, because I understand that renovations need to occur from time to time. After the first morning, I did inform the desk manager that it was a problem. He was 'very sorry', but absolutely nothing was done about it. It surprised me because I really felt like this place prides itself on service. It was clearly lacking here. I would go back to the restaurant, but I doubt I would stay here again. It's ashame because it's a cute place and it was all avoidable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate the time you took to provide comments and suggestions about our hotel. I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I apologize that you were not forewarned about the renovations that are happening in the Inn. We are undergoing a big project and, I agree, you should have been informed that this was going on. We should have taken action to improve your stay, we do pride ourselves on our service and this was not up to our standards. I will be forwarding this to the front desk to ensure that we are relaying this information on to our guests who will be affected by the noise. Thank you again for your review and we hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    241
    73
    36
    22
See reviews for
182
378
27
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, Calif
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We usually stay in the main hotel and wait for a weekday special. (like $99, etc). We stayed on several occasions and always pleased. Very nice decor and well done. Even the non upgraded rooms are very nice!!

When we drive up the coast, we stay at the Apple Farm on the way to the Bay area. On our last stay, the weather was rainy but being in a very nice room made our stay. We always stay in the main hotel. My wife likes the restaurant too.

Bottom line: Great value with normal non specials--incredible values with one of the specials!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It is great to hear that you have been able to stay with us on several occasions. Our location between southern California and the Bay Area is ideal for stopping on the way. I am glad you have enjoyed your rooms we strive to make our guests feel at home. Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Apple Farm and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Finally a decent price came for this hotel ~ $99 per night. With a $5 per night food credit which could be used both at once which is never the case with coupons. They give wine tasting coupons but the wine area is in Palo Robles a good 20 .highway minutes away. The room had a sitting area with couch and table. Very comfortable. We peeked into another room which had a canopy bed with a much smaller sitting area. Our room had 2 queens. We ate at the good but overpriced restaurant and used the two $5 credits toward the bill. The trolley stops at the hotel next door for a car less ride to downtown. ($.25) The staff had a long line at check out but didn't have or didn't bother to call more clerks. The rooms will eventually have mini-fridges as this was one item we addressed at the reception area. Parking is free. There are freshly baked cookies in the lobby at 7 but if you get there by 7:10 they are gone. Wine and appetizers are offered for 1 1/2 hours in a cute garden type setting and sitting room.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the brook side. You can hear the water babbling and it is like a hypnotic sleep aid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments. It looks like you booked the Travelzoo special we recently had going which is a really fun deal! We offer many different packages throughout the year that include an array of activities and amenities. We are glad you were able to experience our traditional amenities as well, such as the guest reception and the dining vouchers, which are provided to all of our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We were looking forward to our stay at this unique property but after a long drive down the 101 we didn't get the good greeting we imagined! Far from it! It took a long time to check in with just one member of staff on duty and two sets of people in front of us both with room issues. Finally we were seen by a smug young man who checked us in to a room with one bed for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teens) we enquired about roll aways but none were available and he made no attempt at apologising for the oversight and suggested we pay for an additional room! After another 20 minute wait and he finally relented and gave us a room with a pull out sofa not ideal but better than our kids sleeping on the floor!

We had continental breakfast included but again the staff were not welcoming when we said we just wanted to make use of the vouchers and head out on our road trip. We weren't allowed to take the muffins with us and whilst my kids were allowed juice to drink adults weren't so as I don't drink tea or coffee I went without on principal!

Reading the recent reviews it doesn't look like our experience was isolated and no point anybody offering to rectify the situation we were visiting the area on a special 40th birthday road trip from the U.K. so unlikely to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you taking the time to share your feedback. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please allow me to address a few of the points you mentioned in your review.

I apologize that the room you were provided with did not accommodate your needs. Most importantly the behavior of our staff was not up to our standards and I have spoken with the Front Desk Manager who has addressed the problem directly. Because of the issues we have had with continental breakfast, including some of things you have mentioned, we do not offer it any more. We were unable to implement the amenity successfully, so in order to better satisfy our guests we have chosen to provide $5 vouchers for the restaurant in place of this. However, there are still a few reservations with continental breakfast, such as yours, and I apologize that it did not go smoothly. It is because of this that we have changed our procedure. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to review your stay. It allows us to better serve our guests in the future. I know we cannot change your experience but we constantly work to improve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We've stayed at the Apple Farm many times over the years. While they are a bit overpriced for the size of rooms and lack of some basic modern conveniences (i.e. no mini-fridge or microwave in the room), the country decor and other small touches are great. My daughter looked the hot apple cider and freshly baked cookies every day. The location is good - right off the freeway as you enter SLO, but the main hotel is set back from the street and many of the rooms overlook the creek which provides quiet and privacy. Their resident CMT, Theresa, was awesome! One of the best massages I've received. All in all, it's one of our favorites places to stay in SLO.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank your for reviewing our property. I am glad you have enjoyed your time with us over the years. I agree that refrigerators are important and we are bringing them in as we work on updating all of our rooms in the Inn, there are even a few that have them already. I am happy you have been able to take advantage of our amenities. The fresh baked cookies are very popular! It is also wonderful that you were able to get a massage during your stay, our CMT's are great. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and i have stayed at The Apple Farm several times over the last year. We have had a good experience on every stay. The decor is not for everyone. If you have an aversion to Laura Ashley or Waverly - this isn't the place for you. The rooms are good sized with a sitting area so you have a place to read without being in bed. The small touches are nice - nightlight in the bathroom, bud vase of flowers, apple juice and chocolates in the room, cookies and drinks in the lobby. Some people maybe confused by the hallway decorations - little seasonal displays all along the corridors. They are for sale! For those needing retail therapy you can walk out of your room and immediately start shopping. I would give 5 stars, but as another reviewer mentioned, there are no mini fridges in the rooms. You can't even rent or borrow one. That makes things challenging when you have leftovers to stash or bought anything perishable at the farmers market.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review the Apple Farm! I am so happy that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We work very hard to make sure this happens. We completely agree that our rooms are in need of refrigerators which is why we are adding them as we redo all of our rooms. During your next stay you will able to request a room with a mini fridge. I am glad you enjoy the decorations, during the upcoming holidays we will be decorating accordingly with many more items to browse through. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

A very nice little motel with the feeling of a B&B. Onsite diner and large gift shop with all kinds of trinkets to purchase. Rooms are spotless with a homey feel. You would almost think Grandma and Grandpa are just down the hall. Nice little nightly reception on the patio too.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.