We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills says it all.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly to your Saves list
Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Hilo, Hawaii
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“No frills says it all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is an old motel that has been spruced up a bit. It is a no frills place to sleep. I would only recommend this place if you just need a place to sleep and are not looking for anything else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    5
    17
See reviews for
4
13
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The price sounded good...$59 dollars for one night. The room was ok, two queen size beds. My husband, my mother and I had to travel to see my aunt for family urgent situation, so we didn't need something more. But the sheets were not big enough for our bed and they pulled away, revealing a bloody stained mattress. When we went to raise the toilet seat,l the toilet came off in our hands. Complaining to the front desk, they were polite and said they were sorry. My advice, DON'T GO HERE! The property as others have said is downtrodden and there is no upkeep. Go to a Motel 6 before checking in here. At least those are clean, albeit bare bones.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the Sea California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

The Rodeway Inn of San Luis Obispo is an older motel and past it's prime. It is clean in the sense that yes the maids cleaned the room and gave fresh sheets and towels but the place is so worn out that it still doesn't feel clean. Things like cigarette burn on the sink in the non-smoking room, torn curtains, peeling caulk, nicked up paint--you get the idea. The front desk person was nice enough. Stay here only if you want to sleep, shower and leave at a reasonable price. There are no frills or any reasons to hang here. If budget is what you are looking for the Motel 6 or Super 8 might even be better. San Luis Obispo on the other hand is a charming town with a quaint downtown that is worth a walk. There are many interesting little shops, good moderately priced restaurants and a number of bars with good people watching. Staying for their weekly street fair or as a launch point to go up the beautiful highway 1 toward Carmel would be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Check in was smooth and with a smile. Property does seem old but seems to have been updated - atleast our room was. Nice and clean inside, big room and big bathroom. This hotel is right next to the exit on 101, like several others next to it, so noise is a problem for light sleepers but we had our A/c on so did not hear much noise. Yes the walls are thin like all other motels and the breakfast is very very limited. But there is a Jack in the Box walking distance so that is where we went. This was the cheapest place in SLO and is worth it. Yes, the people at the front desk are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We came here to see my wife's son graduate from SLO. I wish we had driven to Pasa Robles or anyplace within 50 miles in order to avoid staying here. Filthy, run down. A terrible value at any price. "Free continental breakfast" is bad coffee in the office complete with sugar and non dairy creamer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

To put it simply; there are plastic covers on the beds, the non-smoking rooms have cigarette burns all over and wreaked of old cigarettes, and their idea of cleaning the room is changing the sheets and wiping the mirror-while ignoring the rest of the room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

I stayed here for $60 and thought it was good value for that. I stayed in a clean and spacious room with a/c - you can't ask for much more from a basic motel. I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Address: 1001 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Obispo Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.