We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your earplugs!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Save Saved
You added Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bring your earplugs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I wish I had read these reviews first. This an obviously old property, they tried sprucing it up. Everything in our room was very nice, but that was the only thing going for this place. We were on the second floor, the floor squeaked when you walked on it. The next room's door squeaked very loudly, every time that knucklehead opened the door it sounded like it was right next to you. Several of the occupants staying there looked like long term tenants and fresh out of rehab. Traffic noise was bad, this was a very bad experience. Very surprised 'Rodeway Inn' is part of the name of this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    5
    17
See reviews for
4
13
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I'll never go back to this ashamed hotel again and will not recommend it to anyone either. The room is filthy, the so called "breakfast" is nothing more than some packaged pastries. Oh by the way, if the orange juice or coffee is empty, the owner will ask you to help him to get or make a new one. I wonder who works there, me or him?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I don't understand what everyone is complaining about.

My brother and I stayed here last week and it was great. There were problems, as mentioned, but some people really need to lighten up. I had a good laugh reading someone's description of the Rodeway as a "third world experience". Pretty awesome. It was worth the price I paid and I had a very relaxing night there. Some people need to travel outside of "Amarricaaaa" for some real world context and perspective.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Expensive - over $100 with tax. Grungy! Holey drapes. Rough thin sheets. Thin pillows, and don't look under the pillowcase. Hard mattress. The blanket should have been thrown away years ago. Oddly, furniture looked new. Guests need nice bedding and mattress; cleanliness, Owners should sleep overnight in a room. It's a dump. Stay away! Choice Hotels should be ashamed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst,Texas.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This hotel is located in one of the best part of Ca was horrible at its best. Nothing deserves more than one star or less. I will never recommend it to anyone. Poorly maintained, missing items in breakfast, clogged up sink and bath tub, dirty carpet, no one to answer service call except owners daughter, next day morning no one on desk to listen to my complain(just drop the key and get out).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lousy value on a Cal Poly activity weekend. We booked 2 nites and left after one.

The room was simply dirty and had a foul smell, black smudges on the bathroom door, rust stains, cracked paint, filthy grout, mystery smears, and cigarette burns. Wife's pillow case was stenciled with "Cottage Hospital", blanket appeared to be WWII Russian surplus made of steel wool. Bare bulbs on a rusting base in bathroom, hook torn off door, shower curtain had mysterious drips and mildew, filthy window sills, hair stuck to walls. Thrift store furniture artfully disguised with dust and lint rolls, cracks and gaps in the ceiling plaster, and the front door would not consistently stay closed or unlock. Armchair had filthy upholstery and a staple on the back cut my finger.

Air conditioner worked well, HBO was so snowy it was unwatchable, and as soon as we accessed the free wifi we were attacked repeated with viruses. "Free Breakfast" was Svenhard Danish in cellophane, reconsistitued orange juice and coffee. You could see the remains of the pool poking through the gravel in a weed-choked lot next to the office.

Other than that it was nice!

Room Tip: Pick anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

First you're hit by the smell... our "non-smoking" room was probably converted right before we got there because the cloying scent of whatever they used to mask the smell gave us all headaches.

Then you notice the walls... dirty, tape coming off ceiling, dust, cracks, molding dusty, yuck!

Smoke detector doesn't have batteries- I am writing from the room and hope we make it out alive... and did I mention we paid $100 per nite plus tax because this is CalPoly open house?

You can hear every bed creak from the room above... ewww...

Beds are hard, bath towels are like hand towels heating system is noisy, and they don't even change the cheap soap or shampoo every day... plus, I swear my nice hairspray disappeared.

If we could find any place else we would, but we are trapped... don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Address: 1001 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Obispo Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.