We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just disgusting, really disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly to your Saves list
Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Redding, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not just disgusting, really disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

First you're hit by the smell... our "non-smoking" room was probably converted right before we got there because the cloying scent of whatever they used to mask the smell gave us all headaches.

Then you notice the walls... dirty, tape coming off ceiling, dust, cracks, molding dusty, yuck!

Smoke detector doesn't have batteries- I am writing from the room and hope we make it out alive... and did I mention we paid $100 per nite plus tax because this is CalPoly open house?

You can hear every bed creak from the room above... ewww...

Beds are hard, bath towels are like hand towels heating system is noisy, and they don't even change the cheap soap or shampoo every day... plus, I swear my nice hairspray disappeared.

If we could find any place else we would, but we are trapped... don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    6
    18
See reviews for
6
13
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This was the first hotel I got to after an eleven hour drive. Friendly and helpful lady on reception who gave me a discount. I wasn't expecting the Ritz but nor was I expecting a scene from CSI which is unfortunately what I got. I slept in my sleeping bag liner as the sheets had a funny smell. The front door felt loose so I put a chair up against it for security.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I am a very seasoned traveler so this is not the review of a sheltered shut-in. The hotel is terrible in all ways. Very very dated, very dirty, very poorly decorated, very skeevy, very gross. Yes there is free wifi and a continental breakfast served on a filthy shelf in the tiny and filthy office. The rooms are filth, and will have you afraid of touching anything. The lights have wires hanging out and the doors lock but do not seal leaving a space through which people can see in or out. The fridge is covered in sticky dirt and the carpet has a film over it. Spend a few dollars and stay at the Ramada directly across the street or you will regret it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

The hotel looks like it's straight out of a scary movie. There were rusty nails outside of our room's door. The room was filthy, dusty, smelled like a horrible room spray, broken and mismatched lamps with duct tape keeping them together. The sheets were FILTHY. When I brought this to the manager's (Jack...he was a complete jerk) he argued with me. After 30 minutes of arguing (loud, screaming....on his end) he refunded my full stay and we got the HELL out of there....DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The room was a bit shabby. When we tried the microwave in the room it was broken. The mattresses needed to be replaced at least 2 years ago.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Room smelled like a Nursing Home...disinfectant! Had the Handicapped Room so the Shower was HUGE! Good water flow. No way to lock the front sliding Window. Hotel is next to the 101 Highway Onramp so vehicles reving up the Engines constantly out front. DO NOT EAT at the Cajun Cafe Across the Street! Bugs crawling all over the Walls! Owner knows about them.....yet still open for business......The Continental Breakfast here is a joke....look elsewhere for food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The room was a bit cramped and the bathroom facilities were pretty poor. The parking was pretty full and we had to park in a space that we probably shouldn't have. There's not much round to entertain you and the staff seemed baffled when we came to check in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly

Address: 1001 Olive Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Obispo Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn SLO Cal Poly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.