We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy option as you drive through SLO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Cafe

Natural Cafe
698 Higuera Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
(805) 546-9200
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 257 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
San Diego, California,
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Healthy option as you drive through SLO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife, who helps keep me healthy, suggested we go here. I was very happy that we did. I had the chicken teriyaki sandwich. Excellent flavor, delicious bread, and the sandwich comes with blue corn chips and salsa rather than fries or chips. A nice unique touch. Also had a spinach salad - again very healthy and delicious. The service was kind - college kids handling their business, and a friendly and helpful manager. I also had the Tap It IPA that the local brew company makes. Avoid that and take the 805 from Firestone instead, or stay on the healthy train and have water. All in all, a great location, well priced, and very healthy. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    16
    23
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Natural Cafe has great smoothies...and the food is very good. Not unique or special, but if your hungry and want something healthy to eat this is the place. As been noted by other reviewers, the staff and the actual restaurant are very low-keyed. Actually kind of bland, no atmosphere of any sort. BUT they serve good food and I guess in the end that's all that counts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, small bill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Sometimes it seems crazy that it costs $50, $100 or more just to go out and enjoy a good meal. While the Natural Cafe may not have the romantic ambience desired for a special event, it's hard to beat the simple, tasty and affordable menu. We ( lil woman and I) typically get out for around $20, including a couple bucks for a jar tip. (we're water drinkers, if you're buying alcohol you'll need to have another bill available). I like the chicken and fish entrees, or a salad or sandwich if not too hungry. Form what they say, and as far as I can tell, the food is quite healthy. Can't go wrong , really.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Central Coast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You Can Never Go Wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Natural Cafe is my favorite restaurant in San Luis Obispo. It's a little different, so let me explain. You order at the back from an interesting choice plus the daily specials, are then given a number, and sometimes, and your food is delivered in a jiffy. The staff is friendly and helpful. They are happy to make substitutions and satisfy each customer. Their specials are wonderful. My favorite dish is the Old Town Salad, a perfect combination of ingredients. It's a great light meal in itself. This is the place to eat if you or your guest are vegetarian. There are plenty of meatless choices among the healthy menu items. I have never been disappointed with a meal from Natural Cafe. Great view for people watching on busy Higuera Street.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Varied menu; good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is wonderful to find a restaurant with delicious, healthy fare for both carnivores/omnivores and vegi types. Delicious sandwiches and soup! Casual atmosphere and friendly service. We will return!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Natural Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.