We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to meet...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Avenue

Sushi Avenue
1042 Marina Blvd, San Leandro, CA 94577-3437
510-352-5536
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 219 Restaurants in San Leandro
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Castro Valley, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to meet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have a group who meets once a month and this is one of those places we have become fond of. The portions are generous for a Japanese restaurant and the staff is gracious. I eat sashimi as well as many other of their fine dishes. Their bento boxes are a favorite of several friends. It's a great local place and has a nice atmosphere as well. Just go and try it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never disappointing - ALWAYS pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Besides serviding great sushi, Sushi Avenue has to get the "most friendly servers" award. The waitresses (and the occational waiter) ALWAYS greet you with a friendly Japanese welcome, are very gracious when waiting on tables, and always thank you (in Japanese) for dining with them as you depart. I always feel at home when dining at Sushi Avenue.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good sushi in San Leandro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is my second visit to this place 0 the first one was about 3 years ago. The place did not change a bit, the food is still good. However, I would not call this place a destination for sushi lovers. While you definitely get what you pay for, their food is not outstanding.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Friendly Service and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Friendly Service and good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san leandro,ca
1 review
“enjoyable lunch with the girls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

my Japanese friend took me and my mother for lunch to celebrate my moms visit from Ventura.the food just kept coming ,the very nice waitress brought us small appetitzers saying they were from the chief. what with our bento lunch boxes and side order of sushi and great Japanese beer, we were more than stuffed. took home the extras and enjoyed. we were there at the busy lunch hour, but service was fast and delightful. going back for dinner, my friend want us to enjoy the service of the delightful Japanese waitress who she says is funny. also i notice a gentleman waiting for his take out and was given a glass of water while he waited.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.