We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a night's sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27174 Ortega Highway, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Winchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a night's sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 for a night after getting off a flight from London Heathrow. The room was what I expected, and had good wifi. Would recommend this hotel for a base and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    31
    16
    18
See reviews for
37
42
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the shower worked well and the staff was professional and friendly. The gift shop had a nice supply of snacks and drinks, plus there is a Denny's in the parking lot. All in all, I was quite impressed, with one exception...

The internet wifi service was horribly slow. It performed about as well as a dial-up connection. As someone who relies on having good access wherever I stay for work reasons, I was disappointed.

So, while I give this hotel high marks in just about every category, the lack of good wifi may cause me to look elsewhere in the future. If that isn't a concern for you, however, this is a nice place to stay, and very conveniently located to downtown San Juan Capistrano.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is our fourth stay at this hotel. We stay here when visiting family in San Juan Capistrano, it's a perfect place for coming and going. Its a very convenient location, about 10 minutes by car from Dana Point and the beach. There are nearby horse stables and horseback riding, a golf course, and a trail for running.

This is a very basic hotel, clean, spacious rooms, and a comfortable bed. There is also a refrigerator. Rooms on the second level have good size balconies.

This past stay we asked for a roll away bed, paid for it, and it was never delivered. We called the front desk and they were all out of roll aways. It was very disappointing, since we reserved it in advance. However, this was our first complaint after four stays.

Bring your own soap, the soap they provide crumbles when showering. A little shampoo is provided. The hotel is within walking distance to the mission. No frills, inexpensive stay. There is a nice sized pool located in the parking lot.

I recommend asking for a room in the back away from the Ortega Hwy. Room 421.

Room Tip: I recommend asking for a room in the back away from the Ortega Hwy. Room 421.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
The Best Western Capistrano Inn values and appreciates your comments on your recent stay. We will always encourage and seek guest feedback. Overall Improvement in customer service is a focus for us and we continue to expect more from ourselves in order to exceed our guest expectations. Thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on your experience. Your business is appreciated and it would be our honor to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Rob Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
949-493-5661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel was selected by the bride and groom for their wedding guests. They were going for location and managing expense to their guests; they negotiated a rate.
Never received e-mail confirmation of the reservations and rate; requested twice after initial reservation. Verbally they confirmed the correct rates each time I called.
When arrived, they could not figure what rooms to put us in (we needed 3 rooms, traveling with young children, they knew this when reservation was made), had no map of the facility, the front desk did not know what type of beds were in each room –then our rates were wrong, higher – they said I requested AAA, which I do not have. They did not know the wedding rates and had to check other wedding guest rooms – the front desk said they would fix it.
I got LOCKED IN MY ROOM, when I tried to leave for breakfast one of the two dead bolts would not open. I was told to maintenance was not there yet, to wait, he would be arriving soon. Rooms had various locking systems.
Breakfast was toaster waffles, instant oatmeal with hot water container that was not hot – then cold cereal, packaged pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bananas and apples - sufficient but less than expected, so this is what you should expect.
The outlet in the bathroom did not hold the plugs.
Very slow internet.
When we checked in the rooms smelled until you ran the fan.
When we checked out, the rates were still wrong. No one there could help; the manager did not take calls when he was off duty. The staff is clueless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback to the Best Western Capistrano Inn. All staff and management will discuss customer reviews on a weekly basic. We are disappointed we could not provide the service we strive for and for not meeting your expectations. We will continue to strive for improvement and a better understanding of guest expectations. Feedback will be used to better serve our next guest and it is always encouraged and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to comment on your experience. Our sincere apologizes for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Rob Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
949-493-5661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This property was right off the 5. I pull in late one evening, the price was right, the room was clean and quite. The fella at the front desk was awake and friendly at 1 AM. What I like about Best Westerns is you know what your going to get. Great place for a short stay while traveling in Southern California. I would most likely stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the time you spend reviewing your experience at the Best Western Capistrano Inn. We appreciate all guest feedback and proactively use it to better serve our next guest. We value your business and are pleased to hear about your stay. It would be out honor to accommodate you and your needs in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Rob Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
949-493-5661 Ext.450
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I always consider Best Western when planning vacations, as I have good experience with their other hotels, but this particular one, though in great location to the places I planned to go, was not to my expectation. There were a lot of small roaches in our room, from the carpet to the beds. We check-in really late at the time when every motels/hotels are full so we had no choice but made do with the accommodation we have that moment. It was terrible. They should have someone to do quality check on their rooms and facilities. And this was our 5 year wedding anniversary vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
The Best Western Capistrano encourages guest’s reviews and appreciates all feedback. We genuinely embrace opportunities to rectify and resolve issues if a guest encounters one at our establishment. When we do not have this opportunity we are greatly disappointed. We sincerely apologize for not providing the experience and service that we strive for. It would be my pleasure to rectify your experience if you would be kind enough to open a dialog with us directly.

Sincerely,


Robert Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
949-493-5661 Ext.450
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Easy to find right off the highway. Parking is pretty tight. They're tucked in behind a busy gas station and right next to a Denny's. my room was on the south facing area and as I approached my room, there was a pungent oder of sewage. The room was nice with all the niceties. Nice tv with working remote. After getting some food at Denny's I decided to try out the jacuzzi, which was very nice ( so was the pool).
I had a good nights sleep.
I was up at 6:30 am needing to get going, but wickedly disappointed to be told they had NO COFFEE till 7am. Grudgingly, I waited (gotta have my morning coffee). The guy in the office for my check out was not hiding the fact that he couldn't have cared less.

I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We appreciate you saying something about your stay and experience at our hotel. I want to apologize for the lack of care you’re received during your check out. I am not pleased and I am highly disappointed about the absence of our sympathy regarding the coffee. We will continue to focus on improving guest service and we will take your comments to heart to better serve our next guest.

Thank you,


Robert Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
949-493-5661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn

Address: 27174 Ortega Highway, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the beautiful and historical city of San Juan Capistrano. We appreciate the opportunity to meet all your lodging needs and we sincerely hope your stay with us is pleasant. For your convenience, assistance is available 24 hours a day at our front desk. We are located just three blocks from the historical mission and town center. With many surrounding shops and restaurants and four short miles from the coast and beautiful Capistrano beaches we are confident you will be please choosing to stay in the beautiful city of San Juan Capistrano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.