We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place for Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
31631 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
949 661 0425
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

During our recent visit to San Diego we decided to drive up the coast and visit San Juan Capistrano. We found this restaurant across the street from the Mission so you could not ask for a better location. We found the service was just OK. I enjoyed my picnic plate as it provided a nice variety of food. As mentioned in other posts the Pate' was excellent.
We were a little disappointed that a "French" restaurant would have such a small, weak, list of French wines by the glass (or even by the bottle).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    13
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little french place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is perfect for a quiet night out with a loved one or an intimate dinner with close friends.. no frills... just good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Food/Substandard Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We dined here with friends (2 couples) on a Tuesday night last week. There were no customers inside and a few diners with tables on the patio which is where we chose to sit. Soon other parties began arriving for outdoor seating. Service for our table was very slow from receiving water to taking our wine order to our meal order. Those coming in after us received prompt/efficient service with wine and dinner served long before us. The worst part was when the server came to inform me they were out of the lamb curry, one of the specials for the evening which I had ordered, long after our order had been taken, and we had already eaten our salads/soup. At that point, it was time the meals should have been served, but it added another 30 minutes on to the wait time as I had to select another entree. On the positive side, the food was excellent. I had the chicken breast with cheese and mushroom sauce, one had sweetbreads, and 2 had petite fillets--certainly no complaints on the food! Salads were good as well as the split pea soup. For a well-established restaurant/high caliber, there should be no excuse for bad service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding French/Belgium bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This little place in San Jujan Capistrano is a real find for those who like country French at very reasonable prices. Their pate, roast duck (with a choice of several sauces), escargot and lamb chops were absoultely first rate. The duck served with a crisp skin and minimal fat. There is enough pate to take home with you. Sertvice is great as well. This is a very enjoyable restaurant and a great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“French Food and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a lovely place to take your family, most particularly your mom. The décor is Provencal with a small town French feel.

Ali is a wonderful host and his staff take care of your every need.

High end French selections at a reasonable price.

Book early for special events!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hirondelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.