We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food/Substandard Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
31631 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
949 661 0425
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Food/Substandard Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We dined here with friends (2 couples) on a Tuesday night last week. There were no customers inside and a few diners with tables on the patio which is where we chose to sit. Soon other parties began arriving for outdoor seating. Service for our table was very slow from receiving water to taking our wine order to our meal order. Those coming in after us received prompt/efficient service with wine and dinner served long before us. The worst part was when the server came to inform me they were out of the lamb curry, one of the specials for the evening which I had ordered, long after our order had been taken, and we had already eaten our salads/soup. At that point, it was time the meals should have been served, but it added another 30 minutes on to the wait time as I had to select another entree. On the positive side, the food was excellent. I had the chicken breast with cheese and mushroom sauce, one had sweetbreads, and 2 had petite fillets--certainly no complaints on the food! Salads were good as well as the split pea soup. For a well-established restaurant/high caliber, there should be no excuse for bad service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    13
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding French/Belgium bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This little place in San Jujan Capistrano is a real find for those who like country French at very reasonable prices. Their pate, roast duck (with a choice of several sauces), escargot and lamb chops were absoultely first rate. The duck served with a crisp skin and minimal fat. There is enough pate to take home with you. Sertvice is great as well. This is a very enjoyable restaurant and a great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“French Food and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a lovely place to take your family, most particularly your mom. The décor is Provencal with a small town French feel.

Ali is a wonderful host and his staff take care of your every need.

High end French selections at a reasonable price.

Book early for special events!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Pate ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Four of us ate here before concert in the Basilica San Juan Capistrano. I have trouble identifying any of the entrees as either French or Belgium in origin although they were nice. We had lamb chops, standing rib pork chops, Jon Dory special and all were nicely prepared and quite delicious. The fresh vegetables were perfect. The most outstanding part of the meal was the appetizer of pate and a selection of absolutely wonderful cheeses, perfectly sized for four of us. Although I would gladly return with my spouse and have just this with a wonderful glass of wine. Service was amazing considering how busy they were. Drinks were replenished and we waited for nothing. It was a wonderful meal and we would return. The wine selection was very good, but we brought our own and corkage was 15$ per bottle. Seating is rather crowded together, but the atmosphere was very European.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“On a scale of One to Ten, L'Hirondelle is a 12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Ali and his team never fail to provide excellent cuisine and service, Whether we are eating on the patio over looking the Mission or indoors in the cozy environment, we are always made to feel as special guests. Ali and his wife, Lisa, bought this restaurant from the former owners and have taken it to a higher level of excellence.
The set menu is excellent and the two daily specials are always interesting and great. In our opinion, this is the best restaurant in town. We are locals and eat here several times per year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hirondelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.