We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belgium on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
31631 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
949 661 0425
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Belgium on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My son introduced me this delightful restaurant when he was doing his residency at Scripps-Green, La Jolla and I've been back many times. In fact, it's a mandatory stop whenever I head to San Diego. The service is impeccable, the atmosphere elegant, the food to die for. Dining inside or out on the patio is a quiet, peaceful experience. Impossible to rate it too highly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible All-Time Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This intimate, exceptional epicurean gem sits inconspicuously across from the historic Mission in San Juan Capistrano, just on the edge of the Amtrak parking lot. Their French Onion soup is the absolute best I have EVER had, their food is perfect, their service is personal and their wine and Belgian beer choices extensive. If you are in search of the most wonderful ambiance and unforgettable dining experience you MUST add L'Hirondelle to you list of restaurants!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Intimate Garden, Exceptional Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went here on our first date over 5 years ago and the food and service have always been exceptional!

So much so that we decided it was the perfect place to get married.

Ali and the staff out did themselves by making our evening wedding on their romantic patio the stuff that dreams are made of.

Ali and his staff made everything simple and easy and as always the food and service were the spectacular intimate treat that we wanted to share with our families on our very special day.

When we came home from the honeymoon we were deluged with compliments from our families on the food, the service and our choice of locations.

The most wonderful part is having such a wonderful place where we can celibate our special evening for years to come.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had lunch here after touring the Mission. The food was excellent and the ambiance was lovely. We dined on their patio by the fountain. We had no trouble getting seated and the waiter was very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was closed the last time we went, but it was a Monday so I'm hoping that is just their regular closing day. I would hate for the restaurant to go away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is our first visit. My husband ordered the sweetbread it was phenomenal. I had the petit rack of lamb. Finger licking good. Great romantic ambiance and delightful staff. We will be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hirondelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.