We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible All-Time Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
31631 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
949 661 0425
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible All-Time Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This intimate, exceptional epicurean gem sits inconspicuously across from the historic Mission in San Juan Capistrano, just on the edge of the Amtrak parking lot. Their French Onion soup is the absolute best I have EVER had, their food is perfect, their service is personal and their wine and Belgian beer choices extensive. If you are in search of the most wonderful ambiance and unforgettable dining experience you MUST add L'Hirondelle to you list of restaurants!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Intimate Garden, Exceptional Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went here on our first date over 5 years ago and the food and service have always been exceptional!

So much so that we decided it was the perfect place to get married.

Ali and the staff out did themselves by making our evening wedding on their romantic patio the stuff that dreams are made of.

Ali and his staff made everything simple and easy and as always the food and service were the spectacular intimate treat that we wanted to share with our families on our very special day.

When we came home from the honeymoon we were deluged with compliments from our families on the food, the service and our choice of locations.

The most wonderful part is having such a wonderful place where we can celibate our special evening for years to come.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had lunch here after touring the Mission. The food was excellent and the ambiance was lovely. We dined on their patio by the fountain. We had no trouble getting seated and the waiter was very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was closed the last time we went, but it was a Monday so I'm hoping that is just their regular closing day. I would hate for the restaurant to go away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is our first visit. My husband ordered the sweetbread it was phenomenal. I had the petit rack of lamb. Finger licking good. Great romantic ambiance and delightful staff. We will be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still wonderful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just went to L'Hirondelle for the first time in years (since the original owner passed away). I have to say, everything was just as wonderful as the first time I was there. Looking forward to going back again soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hirondelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.