We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PATIO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
31631 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
949 661 0425
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Rosemead, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“THE PATIO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I ate at "L'Hirondelle Restaurant" in San Juan Capistrano, CA on 4/18/2012. I've eaten there before. It's a wonderful place to have lunch when traveling from Los Angeles to San Diego. The name is the French word for the bird known to us as the Swallow. They have excellent food and service. My personal favorite is their salmon sandwich. Make sure that you sit out on the patio (if the weather permits) --- as it makes a beautiful setting for your meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    18
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely ending to a beautiful day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A friend and I stumbled across this little gem after a day visiting the Mission San Juan Capistrano. As we were contemplating the menu posted outside a man stuck his head out of a passing car and yelled "the food is really good there." So we went on in, and both of us are very glad we did. The decor is charming, the service is excellent - very attentive and prompt - and the food was extremely good. I had duck, with the chef's sauce, and my companion had the tarragon chicken, and both were very well done. The house salad dressing with fresh dill was marvelous, and the fresh fig gelato (which we shared at the suggestion of our server) was phenomenal. The evening was capped by a "serenade" from the bells of the basilica, just across the street. I highly recommend this lovely little restaurant if you're in San Juan Capistrano.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We sat on the lovely patio for a lunch to celebrate our anniversary. The soup was wonderful...chicken curry. My husband had the sea bass and I had Poulet Marie...both tasty and well prepared. The only disappointment was the potatoes...lovely presentation but instant potatoes...not good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had the chance to sit outside on the patio during the best of weather. The food was very well prepared - service could not have been better. Will be back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“c'est magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The service was exceptional...gracious and efficient.
The food is phenomenal. Our family has general managers in the restaurant industry and they were completely happy with everything. The appetizers, entrees, dessert, all were delicious. Our favorites were the house salad, peppered/smoked mackerel appetizer, lamb bucco, & trout.
They have an excellent wine and beer menu that caters to any taste.
The owners are on site, attending to the diners, and making sure that the meal is an event to remember. We were there on Fathers' Day and were rewarded with an excellent cigar to go!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hirondelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.