We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful patio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
31631 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
949 661 0425
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We sat on the lovely patio for a lunch to celebrate our anniversary. The soup was wonderful...chicken curry. My husband had the sea bass and I had Poulet Marie...both tasty and well prepared. The only disappointment was the potatoes...lovely presentation but instant potatoes...not good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Tampa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Had the chance to sit outside on the patio during the best of weather. The food was very well prepared - service could not have been better. Will be back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phatfillTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“c'est magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The service was exceptional...gracious and efficient.
The food is phenomenal. Our family has general managers in the restaurant industry and they were completely happy with everything. The appetizers, entrees, dessert, all were delicious. Our favorites were the house salad, peppered/smoked mackerel appetizer, lamb bucco, & trout.
They have an excellent wine and beer menu that caters to any taste.
The owners are on site, attending to the diners, and making sure that the meal is an event to remember. We were there on Fathers' Day and were rewarded with an excellent cigar to go!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LasFloresStout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyable birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We went here for my birthday...a treat from my daughter and son-in-law. The wait for the Ramos Cafe was too long so we choose L'Hirondelle as an alternative. I'm glad we did! It was not crowded and we had a friendly and efficient waitress. I had grilled trout...which was excellent! My husband had scrambled eggs and salmon and was quite pleased with it. Everyone enjoyed their meals...and the grandkids were even well-behaved! Prices were fair for the quality of the food. I'd definitely go there again when in San Juan Capistrano.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful Special Occasion Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. We've been here dozens of times over the years and have never been disappointed. The atmosphere is warm and inviting... kind of a rustic elegance. The food and wine are exceptional. It's a little expensive, but worth it! I highly recommend the escargot for an appetizer and, if you like caramel, you must try the coupe maison for dessert. Some reviewers indicate that this place is not suited for kids, but our kids have been dinning at L'Hirondelle's since they were infants. The staff always make them feel special and they enjoy the food very much.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank BennyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing