We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are San Juan Capistrano locals and love this restaurant weekly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
31631 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
949 661 0425
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
ca
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We are San Juan Capistrano locals and love this restaurant weekly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years; going back to when it was owned and operated by Walter and Ramone. After Walter retired, Ali and Lisa bought the place. It is a warm, friendly environment with excellent food and ambiance. My wife and I eat here often and it is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions; office luncheons with out of town visitors or our staff for holidays, etc.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, wonderful atmosphere and a congenial host - you can't ask for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I discovered L'Hirondelle Restaurant when visiting the mission. It has become one of our all time favorites for dinners, lunches and Sunday brunches. We have never been dissappointed by the food, atmosphere or service. Ali, the owner, has made many celebrations special for our family.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in SJC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were looking for a quiet place to dine with some foodie friends of ours and remembered this little gem across from the Mission in San Juan. We haven't been there for a while, but this visit reminded us why we like it. The food is delicious, the wine list is full of interesting choices, the service is superb, and if you're looking for a peaceful atmosphere to catch up with friends it's perfect. The outdoor patio also looks inviting, but we'll save that for a warmer evening. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't miss it! Traditional French food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Sitting on the patio for lunch or dinner is a relaxing and wonderful experience. The service is great, the food is great, and I go back there again and again. Last time I was part of two couples and we had appetizers, salads, entrees, and wine and the check was about $50 each with tip. You cannot beat that for excellent French cuisine. The have small plates on some items which are much less expensive (lunch portions), and for those who do not have a large appetite they are great (price around $16)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely and Relaxing Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I took advantage of the $10 metrolink weekend pass for a day trip to San Juan Capistrano. We had read about this little place on trip advisor and decided to give it a try. It turned out to be the best lunch we have experienced in Orange County. The small patio surrounded by lush vegetation and piped music minimized train and traffic noice. We enjoyed escargot in butter garlic sauce, the best I've had; followed by Seared Ahi Salad, a Kobi Burger and mimosas (which carry a nice punch). We are going back and taking our friends. Our servers were attentive without being intrusive. bon appetit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hirondelle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.