We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Mission” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Creek Inn

Cedar Creek Inn
26860 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-3236
949-240-2229
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cedar Creek Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: El Camino Real
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Close to the Mission”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The meal my mother and I had was adequate - perhaps it was just what we ordered. The wait staff was SO NICE and friendly - made us feel like locals rather than the tourists that we were. The portions were good. I would go again, but just watch what you order - nothing too exotic or interesting - stick with the basics

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    65
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

You can't go wrong at the Cedar Creek Inn. We've gone many times with friends for lunch and have always been pleased. Their menu is great, the food fantastic, service very good and the location is perfect. Sit outside and experience San Juan Capistrano's mission from just across the street.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, Ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great service & food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After a very disappointing lunch at Montage we were ready for something good and this cozy restaurant delivered. Whenever you're in Orange County you have to be prepared for waits and a busy atmosphere. Cedar Creek is busy on a Friday nite but they are attentive and the food comes quickly. We enjoyed this place for the warmth and casual dining experience. We will come again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
234 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice and yet cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I remember when this used to be a Nursery with Mexican art work. Now its a charming, sightly elegant restaurant. Went with the girls today. We love the crab cake, Caesar salad! The dressing is just salty enough. The, not too over the top, Christmas decorations are very festive. They have a large roaring fireplace. If you are going on a drizzly day, call and ask for a table near it. The house chardonnay is nice, with a mild oak flavor. If its a warm day they offer patio dining under old beautiful trees. Check out the happy hour specials. This is a great celebration restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening Patio Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I go here frequently in the evening for a Romantic but laid back glass of Wine, Calamari and Crab Cakes under the trees. There is even an outdoor fire place in the corner.

The staff is always great, even when they occasionally get a bit busy.

The food is always fantastic!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Creek Inn also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Cedar Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.