We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for toddlers for an hour or so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ZOOMARS Petting Zoo

ZOOMARS Petting Zoo
31791 Los Rios Street, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
949- 831-6550
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We're one of a kind and hay bales of fun. We're good times, friendly animals and the happiest folks you'll ever meet. For the past 30 years our little zoo has charmed more than three million visitors
San Clemente, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun for toddlers for an hour or so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Zoomars a few times and have had fun there. I recommend waiting for a Groupon deal as full pop isn't really worth it. My son had his first horse ride there on Shadow. Very mellow, gentle little horse. The train tracks are short, but of course every kid wants to ride it. The dinosaur is gone. The gemstone adventure is fun for the little ones, but ends pretty fast. Won't go in the goat/sheep enclosure again. The goats are VERY aggressive and knocked my son over trying to get to food. The rabbits and guinea pigs are cool, but if you don't get there early, they will already have eaten their fill and will be more shy. If you take your little ones into the rabbit/guinea pig area, please supervise your kids and make sure they are gentle with the animals! Some parents seem to let their kids abuse the animals and don't teach them to be gentle.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We love ZOOMARS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is a great family place. From Birthday parties to petting zoo it is a super fun place for the kids. A good tip is to get there right when they open at 10:00 a.m. the bunnies are hungry ad they come to your lap to get some carrots. I love their pumpkin patch in October. The staff is very friendly too!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hands on-Clean Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thankfully they provide hand sanitizer when leaving the petting animal area and another large sink area with soap and paper towels. You can go inside one area that had guinea pigs to play with or another that has goats. Also you can get close and touch the llamas,horses and rabbits if they will let you! Don't miss letting your kids play in the corn kernel bin! Just don't let them eat it! I think the kids we took played there the longest. The little train was fun for the kids. The panning for "gold" was educational even if they only got some pretty colored rocks to take home. I was hoping for an nice hunk of gold! The souvenir rocks were good quality.
Hopefully you have a coupon for a discount admission, otherwise it is pricey for a family to go for what amounts to about 2 hours of things to do there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very friendly and exciting for toddlers however VERY overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Had to pay 8dollars for myself, 7 dollars for my 14 month old, 3 for food to feed animals, and then extra for a ponyride and even more to ride the train.
My child however did have a blast :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take your young kidlets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just this past week spent another wonderful afternoon at Zoomars with our young grand-daughters! We took the train (Metrolink) right to the San Juan Capistrano station, arriving at 3:30--allowing for a perfect amount of time to spend there before its 5 p.m. close. Yes, it's a pricey afternoon at $8 pp admission (including children), $5 for horsey rides, $3 for train rides, and (I think) another $5 for critter food. But it's worth the delight that results from holding and feeding the guinea pigs and rabbits (in the large straw-covered enclosure) and checking out the goats, sheep, chickens, llamas, cows, and their favorites, the mules with zebra legs! There is limited playground equipment, a "sandbox" filled with dry corn kernels, and an area for group birthday parties. In honor of the dinosaur statue that the City Council recently ordered removed, there is another possible extra fee for a fossil hunt. (We didn't do that.)

There's only a porta-potty and lots of dust everywhere. Bring wipes!

This is appropriate only for the quite-young--it's simple, the two rides (horse and train) appealing only to the unsophisticated--but it was definitely a huge hit with our 2 and 4 year old grand-daughters.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZOOMARS Petting Zoo also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to ZOOMARS Petting Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZOOMARS Petting Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.