We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service, spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel the week before Christmas. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We had two little ones in the king studio room and it was not crowded at all. The beds are very comfortable, even the fold out one!

The hotel staff are extremely nice and personable. The staff member in the morning was always helpful and gave us tips on getting good prices for Disneyland tickets.

When going back to Orange County, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
12
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife, 5 year old daughter, 2 dogs were had to leave our house and "live" in this hotel for 5 nights last week and it was outstanding. The rooms are spacious and the amenities in the room are great. The breakfast provided is outstanding- eggs, various meats, cereals, etc. The property is great for dogs- bags and trash cans and lots of grass. There is a nice pantry in the lobby as well. The fitness center is outstanding as is the laundry facility. Staff was friendly and attentive as well. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We overall enjoyed are stay at the Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano. It is well located with very each access to Dana Point area restaurants, Doheny Harbor and the Mission at San Juan Capistrano. The Metrolink/Coaster rail link is TOO CLOSE. Train horns around the clock. We first heard them while checking in and asked the front desk person about them. The female front desk clerk explained how the trains stopped after 10:00 p.m. so not a worry. An out and out misrepresentation. Our (and others) first morning breakfast buffet experience was marred with no milk availability for cereal or oatmeal. Upon speaking with Anthony he indicated their vendor did not deliver and that they knew about it the night before. I asked him why, with several groceries nearby, no one solved the problem. Upon the suggestion from me, someone promptly headed to a store.

Management suggestions from a longtime senior H.R. Executive: EMPLOYEE TRAINING and EMPOWERMENT. Train your staff to always be honest with the guest, don't misrepresent and empower your staff to solve problems when a senior manager is not available. Don't let the corporate b.s. worrying about a $2.50 reimbursement ruin a guest experience.

We will stay again at this property. Kudos to Chris for being honest and forthright with us about the train issue when approached the second night of our stay. He is an outstanding employee.

Room Tip: Check which room is more isolated from the train whistles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This property is within a 3 minute drive of Dana Point and right off the highway. There isn't really much within walking distance immediately around the hotel, but typical amenities are within a short drive (grocery store, pharmacy, gas, etc). The hotel was great - breakfast was included in the price and the main meal was different every day during my 5 day stay. Dinner was even offered three nights during my stay. I was surprised that the property charged to park a vehicle as you really have to drive to get there or to get away from the hotel, but the breakfast and dinner more than made up for the parking fee. I would most certainly stay here again if ever I'm in southern OC!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, tx
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I was attending a conference and rather pay for the Ritz or St. Regis opted to stay here. Location is about an 1:10 from LAX just off the 405. The Ritz/St. Regis are 5 min away and same for Dana Point harbor. There is a park a quarter a mile away which leads to harbor and makes for a nice area to run in.

The lobby area is very nice an upscale for a Residence Inn. The check in staff was friendly and helpful when we had questions about area. The room was large and had a kitchen and large seating area. The bed was comfortable and there was flat screen tv. Bathroom was nice as well. They have free breakfast in the morning. The pool area looked great as it sits up on the hill with the neighborhood below.

The 2 negatives are: 1). They charge $12 dollars to park in a normal open parking lot. I thought this was pretty ridiculous; and 2) the hotel is next to a train track. About 5:30 am I began to hear the train horn and it continued every 20-30 min.

Overall this is a good hotel for price in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Number 1 - $12 for PARKING in the middle of no where????? This is not downtown!!

We went down as part of a multi couple wedding party so we got a bulk rate on the rooms which made them very reasonable. The place is very new and clean. Being a Residence Inn it had a very usable kitchen, unfortunately one of the couples actually had to change rooms because of the strong curry smell from a previous guest.

If you don't mind looking at Costco/I-5/a car dealer and Amtrak the location is great for the towns of San Clemente and San Juan Capistrano and an easy drive to Laguna Beach.

After the wedding (afternoon affair) we sat around the fire pit and had some wine and talked. We're older and left before 9:00 PM but DO NOT STAY in the back on the first floor overlooking the fire pit or pool. I can see, even though we were not very loud, it can be an annoyance for some guests.

Breakfast was fine and generous, the rooms were clean and well kept. Staff was friendly and professional. Only some little things were like no little shower cap or shoe rag in the bathroom pack. Not a big deal but you would expect those things.

All in all it was ok. I'm not sure I would hurry back.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms near the pool or fire pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county,ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Brand new hotel. Everything is super clean. Great location, great value and like i already said brand new. Great place. i ahve stayed at alot of hotels on orange county and this is one of the best. Great service. The staff was extremely pleasant and could not of been any better. Great place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano

Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the oceanSituated near the beach in San Juan Capistrano, this hotel is close to Doheny State Beach, Mission San Juan Capistrano and Dana Point Harbor.Pool, fitness facilityResidence Inn San Juan Capistrano offers a complimentary breakfast and light meal reception to guests. Other amenities include complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access and a complimentary grocery shopping service.Refrigerators, microwavesTelevisions come with cable channels. Guestrooms also feature kitchens and complimentary high-speed (wired and wireless) Internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.