We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was attending a conference and rather pay for the Ritz or St. Regis opted to stay here. Location is about an 1:10 from LAX just off the 405. The Ritz/St. Regis are 5 min away and same for Dana Point harbor. There is a park a quarter a mile away which leads to harbor and makes for a nice area to run in.

The lobby area is very nice an upscale for a Residence Inn. The check in staff was friendly and helpful when we had questions about area. The room was large and had a kitchen and large seating area. The bed was comfortable and there was flat screen tv. Bathroom was nice as well. They have free breakfast in the morning. The pool area looked great as it sits up on the hill with the neighborhood below.

The 2 negatives are: 1). They charge $12 dollars to park in a normal open parking lot. I thought this was pretty ridiculous; and 2) the hotel is next to a train track. About 5:30 am I began to hear the train horn and it continued every 20-30 min.

Overall this is a good hotel for price in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
24
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Number 1 - $12 for PARKING in the middle of no where????? This is not downtown!!

We went down as part of a multi couple wedding party so we got a bulk rate on the rooms which made them very reasonable. The place is very new and clean. Being a Residence Inn it had a very usable kitchen, unfortunately one of the couples actually had to change rooms because of the strong curry smell from a previous guest.

If you don't mind looking at Costco/I-5/a car dealer and Amtrak the location is great for the towns of San Clemente and San Juan Capistrano and an easy drive to Laguna Beach.

After the wedding (afternoon affair) we sat around the fire pit and had some wine and talked. We're older and left before 9:00 PM but DO NOT STAY in the back on the first floor overlooking the fire pit or pool. I can see, even though we were not very loud, it can be an annoyance for some guests.

Breakfast was fine and generous, the rooms were clean and well kept. Staff was friendly and professional. Only some little things were like no little shower cap or shoe rag in the bathroom pack. Not a big deal but you would expect those things.

All in all it was ok. I'm not sure I would hurry back.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms near the pool or fire pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county,ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Brand new hotel. Everything is super clean. Great location, great value and like i already said brand new. Great place. i ahve stayed at alot of hotels on orange county and this is one of the best. Great service. The staff was extremely pleasant and could not of been any better. Great place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
398 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I love this hotel. Stayed 14 days and definitely will go back. Spacious room with full kitchen.It is a new hotel so it is very clean and new. Comfortable bed but they do have a train that makes a lot of noise but you get used to it. Same boring breakfast as other hotels but in the evening they have snacks and also a barbecue on Thursday night with Hamburgers hot dogs, salads and wine and beer, I enjoyed relaxing by the fire pit. Rent a car because no restaurants within walking but a 5 minute ride to down town San Juan or San Clemente. View overlooks Costco and the reailroad tracks so don't expect a great view on the front side but from the back you can see the ocean and a prettier view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights while our house was being fumigated -- not really a vacation, and only 5 min from home -- but the hotel was an excellent choice. The staff were friendly, professional, and quite accommodating. The suite was lovely, modern, efficient without being spare, well designed, and comfortable. The "full kitchen" was a bit less-than-expected (e.g., no oven, just a microwave), but certainly adequate for our immediate needs. I had expected to hear more traffic and train noise, but there just wasn't anything to complain about, particularly with the windows closed and AC on. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it as well.

Room Tip: Third floor, middle room was very quiet yet close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed Labor Day weekend for Blues Cup Soccer tournament. Drove 400 miles & were pleasantly surprised how incredible it was. This isn't a resort,as some reviewers may have expected, but a home-away-from-home and it was perfect.

Overall:
Cons-(just to post one) gym water was not good, not cold or hot from the dispenser. Forgot bathing suit & they'll mail, but at my expense.

Pros: everything else

Stayed in room 119, king studio & loved the location! First floor, down the hall from the lobby & there was no noise at all. The kitchen was well equipped to our needs & a great size, LOTS of plug in's throughout room, great desk space, shower was awesome, tons of towels (so many, I had to move some into the cabinets). Bathroom had fan that ran with light & was a much needed plus that we haven't had, even at the Embassy Suites. Only con for room was not enough natural light as our window was partially blocked by another outside wall. .

Common spaces were great! Free WI-fi had good connection, 2 computers in lobby to use, very nice eating area/hang out area, fire place inside lobby was a nice feature, didn't use laundry, but was available. Gym was great, free headphones, towels, apples, nice equipment, plenty of equipment and space for a workout.

Outside was cool! Outdoor shower, half court basketball hoop area was netted off & with net for tennis (small but useable) & front desk provided racquets & balls, pool was good & clean-plenty of towels/seating. Nice that it had a glass surround which kept in the noise. Nice BBQ area that families were using, awesome fire ring & also had a putting green.

Breakfast was very good! No chef cooking omelets, but had scrambled eggs, pancakes one day & biscuits & gravy the next, lots of yogurts to choose, cereals, breads, yummy muffins, potatoes, sausage patties & plain oatmeal w/variety of toppings. I loved that they made the waffles so you didn't have to wait in a crazy line & they had whipped cream, strawberries, caramel syrup, chocolate chips to top them with.

Beach is less than 5 minutes away with no need to get on the freeway. Other beaches, like Dana Point, just a little farther away. You can see Costco from the backyard and hotel will stock your fridge if requested.

Room Tip: First floor rooms closer to lobby are most convenient and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

For a new hotel the landscaping is dead and dry, which begs the question me to does management walk the property or they are blind???? Now if you want your room cleaned, don't stay here! If they show up at all the job they do is weak. Now if it was just me I could understand your doubt, but other guest changed hotels because they could not get their room cleaned. Helllllllllllllllllo are listening management!!!!!!!!

Management runs around like chickens with their heads cut off, which indicates they truly have no management skills.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
#2 of 4 in Capistrano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#6 of 9 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano

Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the oceanSituated near the beach in San Juan Capistrano, this hotel is close to Doheny State Beach, Mission San Juan Capistrano and Dana Point Harbor.Pool, fitness facilityResidence Inn San Juan Capistrano offers a complimentary breakfast and light meal reception to guests. Other amenities include complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access and a complimentary grocery shopping service.Refrigerators, microwavesTelevisions come with cable channels. Guestrooms also feature kitchens and complimentary high-speed (wired and wireless) Internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.