We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great handmade baked goods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Bakery & Grocery

San Juan Bakery & Grocery
319 3rd, San Juan Bautista, CA 95045
831-623-4570
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great handmade baked goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a find! This terrific little bakery has a wide selection of different types of bread, cookies, and danish. You can see them making the bread when you are there and smell the baking down the street. A real, old fashioned bakery!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic again - thank Goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We used to visit this wonderful old establishment back in the day. Unfortunately in recent years it hit the skids with mediocre baked goods and shockingly nasty staff. Fortunately, it's been taken over by a whole new team with DELICIOUS doughnuts, pastries (holy cow the Bavarian Cream!). It's a good thing I don't live here or I'd be eating those glazed doughnuts daily!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The cinnamon flowers were amazing. I brought home some cinnamon bread and I wish I would have bought more. Very yummy bakery.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
1 review
“A MUST STOP !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Wonderful specialty breads for the holidays. Made my wedding cake 31 years ago in clay oven. Fabulous place to stop !!! Every time I come to San Juan Bautista, it is a MUST stop. -- Carolyn R.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must stop if your in San Juan Bautista, its on the main drag with all the historic shops. Great breads of many sweet...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

A must stop if your in San Juan Bautista, its on the main drag with all the historic shops. Great breads of many sweet and not so sweet varieties. Dare you not to eat some on the way home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Bakery & Grocery also viewed

San Juan Bautista, CA
 
San Juan Bautista, CA
 

Been to San Juan Bakery & Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Bakery & Grocery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.