We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your Cajun connection in the west” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boiling Crab

The Boiling Crab
1631 E Capitol Expy #101, San Jose, CA 95121
(408) 532-6147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 1,922 Restaurants in San Jose
Restaurant details
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“your Cajun connection in the west”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

want to share great food in a homey atmosphere. eating with your hands and your table cloth is made of parchment. This is a great place to just peel your shrimp or crab and drink beer. Bibs are included

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If your not afraid to get your hands dirty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

First off, I'm not a veru patient person. When they said a 2 hour wait, I was out of there. But the family heard so much about this place they begged me to stay. We went across the parking lot to another restaurant and had some beers. I believe all the other restaurants in the area only survive by skimming off the head cases like me who won't want to wait to get into the boiling crab. Its like those sucker fish that tag along with sharks.
Well it was well worth the wait. We had crab legs, shrimp and clam or maybe it was oysters. 6 people, good seafood, $89= Happy Dad!

Go there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must try the clams!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I will just move to SJ because BC! The clams are the best! Many People will say they have really good shrimps, but my favorite is the Dunguness Crab. :-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Very very long line, so we put down our name, got an estimate and walked around to target and another tiny Vietnamese fruit shop in the next plaza.

The best dinner combo is going with close friends (yes you need to be comfortable to be messy around each other), sharing the shrimps, clams, and some crab. The whole shebang sauce is a bit overpowering and quite spicy so have one dish with lemon garlic only.

Also the sweet potato fries are very tasty.

Good thing they provide plastic cups with straws and bibs!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“Very good sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Food is fantastic, service is awesome, but the line is always too long and need to wait at least 1 hour to get food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boiling Crab also viewed

 

Been to The Boiling Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boiling Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.