We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back for chow fun only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Layang Layang

Layang Layang
1480 S De Anza Blvd, San Jose, CA 95129-4605
408-777-8897
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 1,902 restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Description: Hour: Tu - Thr: 11AM-3PM, 5PM-9:30PM Fri: 11AM-3AM, 5PM-10PM Sat: 11AM-10PM Sun: 11AM-9PM
Restaurant details
Description: Hour: Tu - Thr: 11AM-3PM, 5PM-9:30PM Fri: 11AM-3AM, 5PM-10PM Sat: 11AM-10PM Sun: 11AM-9PM
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Will come back for chow fun only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Tried few dishes, some are not bad and some are really average. The restaurant at lunch time is noisy. The parking lots are limited and it is hard to find a spot after 1pm.

What's good...
-Egg chow fun: the gravy is nice and topped with fried shallots. It comes with cut chili and belacan chilli. The fried chow fun itself has the fried aroma. Will come back for this dish.
-Price is reasonable and service is good

Dishes that I don't like...
-Chow kueh teow : too oily and missing the original kick. The kueh teow taste like coming from dried noodle, not the fresh wet noodle.

-Roti Canai: Roti is crispy but the curry is too sweet and not authentic.

-Malaysia nasi goring: Fried rice is an easy dish to cook at home but in a restaurant, it is also an easy dish to tell if the food is great. This fried rice does not give the right aroma and taste.

-Curry chicken rice: Can not make it. You can taste that the chicken and the curry are prepared separately. It feels like using an instant method to combine the curry gravy and chicken into a dish. So, if you order curry prawn, may be you get the same curry gravy + prawn.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    13
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always crowded!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

You may think Chinese food, Indonesian food, and Malaysian food are all the same. NOT! Layang Layang is mostly Malaysian but has the aforementioned food types plus Indian food. The satay chicken appetizer is a must! Always hot and tender and comes with a tasty peanut sauce. Today we had Indian green curry vegetables among other things. Very tasty. The staff always comes by with water refills as it can be spicy if you don't tell them to tame it down. The problem is lack of parking and lack of tables. I wish this place was bigger. You can always find street parking within 2 blocks or so. Try to go there early for lunch or early dinner. Hardly any waiting room inside. Although there is a patio outside the front door, its right on a busy street. But once you get a table, the service is fast and efficient. The food comes reasonably fast as table turnover is the name of the game here. Try the FBI or the ABC for dessert. Go there to see what this is!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcal
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Small & Wonderful Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

One of our favorite places.
A small and very popular establishment, you should arrive early (5:30-6:00 PM) in order to avoid a long wait.
Service is good and the food is varied and tasty.
We have tried many of the menu items... these are some of our favorites:
The Roti Canai is a great start. A light, thin pancake with a curry dipping sauce.
The Princess Tofu is light and smooth with a delicate taste.
The Mango Chicken is very good or you can choose a vegetarian version (Mango Delight), both are excellent.
Mouse Tail Noodles (Pearl Mee) is tasty....
Seafood Sarang is definitely worth a try.
We plan on returning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Best Egg Chow Fun EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My SIL is from Singapore, and this is one of her favorite restaurants in San Jose. We've been there several times and tried many different dishes. They were all wonderful, but best of all (and living forever in my culinary dreams) is their egg chow fun, a savory, wonderful noodle dish! Prices are reasonable, and service is good. Wonderful Malaysian food!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Was nto hopeful when we decided to visit them in Milpitas branch which they recently opened.
But I must emphasize, much surprised! Fantastic service, OKOK ambience ( do not compare it with Banana Leaf etc ...) and delicious food.. Nasi Goreng was my favorite as well as Roti Murtabak was much beyond my expectations. Very fresh and very much worth trying!
I will surely visit them again in near future!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Layang Layang also viewed

 

Been to Layang Layang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layang Layang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.