We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Normal, Small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1350 N. Fourth St., San Jose, CA 95112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice, Normal, Small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The industrial garages nearby put me off a bit at first, but once I got used to the neighborhood, I was fine. The place is small but adequate, the staff pleasant and accommodating. The pool is small and clean with a nice but way too tepid hot tub spa. Turn it up a few degrees, please. 3 blocks west is the light rail line on 1st St. For fun I rode the streetcar, I mean light rail line, downtown for lunch at a street cafe, and back. I enjoyed my stay here. Would have stayed another day but rates magically mysteriously changed so I moved on.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Airport. We are glad that everything went well with your stay and that we were able to provide good service.

We do hope that the next time you are in the San Jose area, you do come can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    44
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
11
22
21
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Arrived a day early for a family gathering and just needed a place to stay for the night. I found this property on tripadvisor and figured it was perfect for what I needed. Close to Japantown and downtown, yet far away from any tourist area. Since I am an IHG member, I was given an upgrade, which I appreciated.

Really great room with a small ktichenette. Large bathroom and nice desk set-up. The bed was comfortable and it was a welcomed place to sleep when I returned for the night. The breakfast room was large and had some ample offerings. I just grabbed what I needed and brought it all up to the room. The only thing negative thing I can say was when a housekeeper tried to enter my room. Luckily I had the secure lock on or she would've walked in on me changing. She meant to go to the room next door, but it was no biggie, just startled me.

I don't make it up this way as often as before, but I would definitely stay here again. Especially since all the downtown hotels charge so much for the rooms and the parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Airport. We are glad that everything went well with your stay and that we were able to provide good service. We will work with our housekeeping staff on the issue that you mentioned.

We do hope that the next time you are in the San Jose area, you do come can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel really impressed me. The staff and the rooms are very nice. The rooms are very well appointed. Would definitely stay here on my next visit to San Jose. The value for the price was superb. By mistake I stopped at the Holiday Inn (not Express) around the corner and although the other facility was much bigger, the staff was not as nice and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Airport. We are glad that everything went well with your stay and that we were able to provide good service.

We do hope that the next time you are in the San Jose area, you do come can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I recently booked six rooms for myself and my employees who were coming into the states from outside the country. A few days later I received a phone call from Tony Hill, the hotel manager. He was checking to see if we needed anything further than the reservation. I asked him a few questions and he was very helpful. He told us we could ask for him if we had any further questions. He really went above and beyond what you would expect from a manager.

The property was perfect for our business travel. The breakfast was hot, the pool was sparkling clean, the beds were comfortable and the WiFi was fast. The staff was friendly with our out of the country guests. Everything went smoothly. Our company will be staying here every time we visit the area. I would highly suggest this hotel when visiting Silicon Valley.

Thank you for making the stay happily memorable. See you next year.

Room Tip: Each room was equally quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: IHG hotels are ahead of the competition in their green practices.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Your business and satisfaction is very important to us. We do hope that the next time you are in San Jose that you do stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Pros: very comfortable, soft beds, free breakfast including items I like such as soy milk (1 of the 3 days) bagels, peanut butter, cereals, several vegan options. Close to the light rail train to downtown. Adequate gym including 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, a bike and a weight machine. Pool and sauna, lots of free parking. Good water pressure in shower.
Cons: rooms are not too attractive. My favorite cable TV station was available, but no signal for most of the time I was watching. Building is a confusing labyrinth, but there are signs to direct you to lobby, etc. not too much in the immediate area.
I can't comment on the value as my organization booked it, I don't know what the rate was.

Green Features: I'd like to see less plastic and paper at breakfast. Maybe real dishes and silverware.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Your business and satisfaction is very important to us. We do hope that the next time you are in San Jose that you do stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas Park, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in last month for business. Found reasonable prices here compared to locations nearer to my business. The location is not that great, but parking lot felt safe to me and I did have a car to run around. Remodeling seemed done in the part of the hotel (which is an interesting labyrinth of rooms, corridors, courtyard) where I was on 2nd floor. Room was clean, updated furniture and bathroom. Fridge & microwave in room; several new machines in fitness room. Breakfast area was clean, food was standard Holiday Inn Express, ample, and hot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Your business and satisfaction is very important to us. We do hope that the next time you are in San Jose that you do stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The online photos are not what I saw. The rooms are in the process of being remodeled and even the new stuff looks old. The chairs look like they are from the 70s, dirty and worn out.

What was even worse was the staff. I called to check on the safety of the hotel and they told me they could not tell me anything on the phone. I would have to come to the hotel first. The manager also told me no hotel was safe and they could not advise on safety.

The facilities are dingy and dark with POOR service. Would recommend staying somewhere else. Management tried to have this post removed rather than addressing the issues. I also call Holiday Inn to report the problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you once again for notifying us that we are under renovation. We do notify our guests that certain areas of the hotel is under renovation during their stay.We do not place guests in areas that are being renovated. Regarding your safety concern, we did notify you that we do have a security guard BUT how safe a person feels is still up to the individual and his or her actions.

We did notify both TripAdvisor and IHG Customer Care regarding your review. Since you were not a paying guest and did not stay on our property, they decided to remove your previous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt

Address: 1350 N. Fourth St., San Jose, CA 95112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Jose International Airport. We are conveniently located 1.8 miles from the airport with easy access to major highways. Complimentary airport shuttle service available. Here for a convention? The light rail transit system is only two blocks away, which provides easy access to downtown San Jose, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center, and the Santa Clara Convention Center. Our hotel is perfect for the corporate and leisure traveler, offering renovated rooms and exceptional service. Here on business? We are in the heart of Silicon Valley, surrounded by several distinguished companies such as Siemens, Agilent Technologies, and Intel. We are just minutes away from the brand new eBay, Inc. facilities. If you're looking for a getaway, our hotel offers discount tickets to the world famous Winchester Mystery House. We are a short drive away from Paramount's Great America, and located just 30 miles fromSanta Cruz Boardwalk and beaches. .Whether it's relaxing in our pool and spa, an invigorating work out in our fitness center, winding down with a latest release pay-per-view movie, or working from your room with our high-speed Internet access, you are sure to enjoy your visit to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.