We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Tired...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1350 N. Fourth St., San Jose, CA 95112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Old and Tired...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It's a bit baffling to see a property this old and tired still charging premium prices for their rooms. Yet, they do.
I suppose if the reason for your visit is an overnight before catching a plane in the morning, you don't mind this property. But looking around, many of the guests appear to be business folks.
If they are like me, they were more than a little disappointed with this hotel. The breakfast crowd starts gathering before 6:00 am, but the doors to the room don't open until 6:30. This is long after most business folks have left to start their days. I can't imagine it works much better for travelers who want an early start to the airport. 6:30 is just too late. Most every other airport hotel I stay at starts at 6:00 or earlier...never later.
Then there is the design of the property. Rooms that open to the outside. I do not feel they are as safe and secure as the hotels that enter into hallways. I really do not like this old, old concept.
And, if they are renovating this property, I did not see evidence of it.
The noise from outside was awful. I was awakened at 4:00 am one morning with what I thought might have been a M1-A1 tank coming into my room. I later figured it must have been a garbage truck. Either way, it was not pleasant.
From the copy paper welcome sheet to the "do you want a bottle of water for being a platinum member of Priority Club?" this hotel reeks of cheap...except for the prices they charge to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay with us. I assure you that there are more positive changes to come so please re-visit us when returning to the area. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
11
25
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Large rooms with bathroom, shower, fridge, tv, alarm clock, iron & board, tea-making facilities, desk and chairs with bar and air con.

All kept in very clean condition by hard working room staff.

Breakfast functional and fast.

Few 'front of house' staff available / visible.

Pool a joke.

Avoid a room next to the (very noisy) lifts [elevators] and tunr the air con dopwn for a quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid a room next to the (very noisy) lifts [elevators] and tunr the air con down for a quiet night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear deepinsight01,

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate the compliments about the hotel cleanliness and hard working staff. I am please that you liked your room accommodations. I am sorry that you did not find our pool facility to your liking. I apologize about the noise from the elevator and air conditioning unit. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am grateful for your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I understand they are going through renovations, and it needs it. The hotel is decent. I'd even stay there again, if I needed a hotel in the area, and the price was right.
I've stayed in many HIX, and the room was rather run down. It wasn't bad, it just felt old. I usually tell people HIX are very nice, with granite counter tops, and a nice updated look. Usually.
For an airport hotel, the location seemed convenient enough.
I had been upgraded to a suite, which fortunately was next to the elevator and did not share a wall with another room. Unfortunately, my toddler had a very bad night. He cried for about an hour straight, and to my dismay, I could hear him in the stairwell when I went down to find a snack to appease him. I hope we didn't disturb anyone, but the walls did seem thin (maybe only when joined to a stairwell?).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay with us. I assure you that there are more positive changes to come so please re-visit us when returning to the area. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Myself and three others shared a two double room that came with a little sitting area with a desk/chair and pull out couch with coffee table. There was also a mini-fridge and microwave. We stayed here because our hotel of choice downtown was booked due to a convention in town that night. The hotel itself was clean and quiet. Our room was on the third floor facing the main street. The parking lot was packed but we were able to find a space easily. The front desk staff was personable and efficient. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The beds were great, I only slept a couple of hours because I had to be up super early, but I slept well in the bed. We called a cab company to take us downtown for dinner and our show and it was there in less than ten minutes and the trip downtown took less than five minutes. The only drawback I can think of is the price. It was a little pricey, but I guess that is because it is right next to the airport and you're paying for that convenience? I didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast or pool, etc. But if in a bind, and you're looking for a clean and safe place, you would be safe in booking a room here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, Sales & Marketing Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us and others know about your stay with us. I assure you that there are more positive changes to come so please re-visit us when returning to the area. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way to Hawaii. I found the room rates in San Jose to be high and this hotel was no exception. The layout of the hotel is odd but they were able to put us on the first floor and we were fine. Breakfast was what I expected. There were plenty of choices and I had no issues with quality. We used the shuttle and the drivers were prompt and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Yeah, so... This hotel... I'm not sure how Holiday Inn can really put its name to it (even as an "Express"). Poorly furnished rooms, a breakfast that's frankly a joke (if I found a bagel that wasn't solid and dry I was doing well), and it felt like being in a prison camp.

On the plus point, it's quiet, but that's about it. The location is near nothing useful at all, a little over 5 minutes' walk to the VTA stop. The WiFi barely worked. It's acceptable, but there must be something better in a good location in San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear unspecified,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. I am particularly appreciative that you gave us a high score on Sleep Quality. However, I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource in improving guest services.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again since we have just finished our renovations last month.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was happy with staying at this hotel....stayed for 12 days on business. Warm greeting from the start and that continued each and every day. Front desk staff were always ready to help and for business they were awesome. Made copies I needed, received and sent faxes numerous times..for business purposes this was a plus. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Recently updated with some renovation still ongoing in the hallways. Breakfast was ok, nothing great but a few hot items available as well as the standard breakfast items for a hotel. The grounds were pretty clean but could use a little attention on a regular basis...dirty tables that stayed dirty for a few days. Location was good for getting around, area is not the best at night but still felt safe on the hotel property. Overall, it was a nice stay and I really appreciated the friendly helpfull front desk staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt

Address: 1350 N. Fourth St., San Jose, CA 95112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Jose International Airport. We are conveniently located 1.8 miles from the airport with easy access to major highways. Complimentary airport shuttle service available. Here for a convention? The light rail transit system is only two blocks away, which provides easy access to downtown San Jose, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center, and the Santa Clara Convention Center. Our hotel is perfect for the corporate and leisure traveler, offering renovated rooms and exceptional service. Here on business? We are in the heart of Silicon Valley, surrounded by several distinguished companies such as Siemens, Agilent Technologies, and Intel. We are just minutes away from the brand new eBay, Inc. facilities. If you're looking for a getaway, our hotel offers discount tickets to the world famous Winchester Mystery House. We are a short drive away from Paramount's Great America, and located just 30 miles fromSanta Cruz Boardwalk and beaches. .Whether it's relaxing in our pool and spa, an invigorating work out in our fitness center, winding down with a latest release pay-per-view movie, or working from your room with our high-speed Internet access, you are sure to enjoy your visit to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.