We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Jose Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2660 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“San Jose Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Not too bad for the cost, Industrial area of the city, but it has a great shopping center just minutes away with a lot of good places to eat. 10 minute drive to the downtown area and San Jose State University.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks Roger for taking time to write a wonderful review for our hotel.We do appreciate it it and it has overjoyed our employees.We do celeberate when our guests appreciate our hardwork.Thanks so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    18
    2
    7
See reviews for
30
12
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you plan on going to the Winchester Mystery House, then this is the hotel for you! The front desk provides two adult tickets with a night's stay as part of the price. Furthermore, you can purchase additional tickets at a discounted rate.

The hotel was a typical roadside version of a motel...outside corridors, two stories. The rooms were clean, but not overly spacious. There was a pipe leak when we first arrived, so we had no water for a spell. So, we enjoyed ourselves in the Jacuzzi, and the water was back on when we returned to our room.

The rooms are cooled with a typical wall unit a/c. It's semi-loud, but only a whisper if you use ear plugs. A recommendation to the staff is to use the air for the gym, as it takes too long for an entire room to cool down for you to work out. I know they save on electricity, but the gym was not at all inviting, given the room was about 90 degrees.

The beds were nice and clean, and roomy. And, the firm and soft pillow choices were a nice touch. The breakfast had a nice variety, and the buffet was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear ToniN705,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review and all the nice comments about the room you had and the breakfast. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for the disappointment you had with our facilities. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed one night on our way Northwards and homebound. This HI Express Location really goes the extra mile with genunine appreciative service and personal touches to make your stay here worthwhile.
Warmly welcomed at check-in by Jeni who was most professional and wonderfully accommodating in assisting our family accessibility requirments with room suggestions.
This is one of the very few Motel style properties with walk-up 2 stories which works well for those accessibility needs, settling in and moving luggage on the ground floor rooms was a snip.
Talk about extra touch welcome for our Platinum status, each of our rooms had a whole tray of welcome goodies such as local hot warm cookies, crisps, granola bars, pop and the local newspaper.
( usually we only get a bottle of water and/or chocolate bar so this sets a high standard for all the other HI Expresses to emulate!)
Very comfortable rooms, toilet paper tissues are arranged into a rose decoration, cute!
Breakfast offered more local choices than any other HI Express I've been to; on top of the usual hot and cold selection, there was also Soy Milk, Chocolate Milk, great selection of juices, yoghurts and breads which we really appreciated.
Loved the outdoor pool and jacuzzi which was a little haven for a relaxing dip, lovingly decorated with plants, another personal touch.
Exercise room is a little stuffy as you can't open the windows so just turn on the aircon and keep the door open, no problems. Good equipment and a nice Sauna also to wind down after a long day's drive.
There are 2 Grocery stores 5 minutes away from the hotel if you don't feel like eating out, otherwise there is a small mall 7 minutes away down the road with usual casual eatery choices.
Obviously a very convenient place for business stopovers as we noticed regular business folk checking in and were off early the next day for their meetings in San Jose city.
Overall, a very pleasant stay for both pleasure and business alike.
My compliments to the owners and excellent staff who have this formula very right.

Room Tip: Apparently, the property is busiest on the weekends and charges higher accordingly; the business tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you FSR for your review on our hotel.We wish to thank you so much for taking time out and writing such a wonderful review for our hotel and our staff.We try to set the benchmark higher everytime.We also have our employees attend our inhouse training programs and IHG classes so to improve productivity, performance and on how to value each and every guest at the hotel.The hotel has gone through an extensive renovation program and we are really proud of our nice looking rooms.We understand you have lots of choices in San Jose but you chose our hotel..we are extending our heartiest thanks to you Sir.We really value your business and thanks so much for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Christchurch
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is Holiday Inn is undergoing some updating (carpets were being replaced while I was there). It is not in the most salubrious area of town, but handy for the main routes. It has a nice out door pool and gym area. The staff were particularly friendly and welcoming and there were few regulars checking in which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks MerchantAdventure for taking time to write a wonderful review regarding your stay at our hotel.We appreciate that you do recognise the hardwork and dedication my staff puts in to make the guest stay very comfortable.Thanks so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Facility is close to many things. Grounds and room were very clean and neat. Room was nicely set up and had enough towels, soaps, pillows, lights, and bottled water. Room had a microwave, refrigerator, chairs, desk, free wi-fi. We've stayed here quite a few times in the past two years. The staff is always pleasant and interested in us on arrival and throughout the stay. The breakfast is adequate and is expected, after all, this a hotel, not a gourmet restaurant. Miss Kopel was very pleasant and friendly each morning and at checkout. One may be able to achieve a better rate by contacting the facility directly, rather than going thru central reservations, no guarantee. Worth a try.

Room Tip: Rooms in the far wing (numbers 102,104,etc.) are quieter than ones near front office. All rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much Mr Douglas for such a wonderful review..my staff is overjoyed with your review.You have been our VIP guest and we really value and appreciate your business
Guests like you always help us to increase productivity and performance in all the Departments of the hotel..we wish to extend our sincere thanks again and please come and visit us when you are in San Jose again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The part of town was not the best, but it was certainly not close to the worst. I walked outside after dark and did not feel in fear of my life. The room was very clean and very large. We paid $93 plus tax. The only 2 constructive comments I have would be to add towel bars in the bathroom and sink area (It looked recently remodeled, so it could be that they just haven't added them yet.) and get better pillows (They come in "soft" and "firm", but I found they were only "lumpy" and did not have a particular hardness to them. The breakfast area was well taken care of and had a good selection of cereal and hot food. Would I recommend the hotel to my family? Yes, I would!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you JS for your kind review and wonderful advice for our hotel.We really value your comments and appreciate it. The hotel has gone through some major renovations and yes the Towel Bar is in place also in all rooms.We have also put in place 37" and 42" Flat Screen TV's,New Carpet's,Window Coverings,more than 100 HD channels and new Safe Deposit Lockers in all rooms
Your comments have really pumped us to perform even harder to serve our guests more efficiently and with lots of respect.Thank you so much again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We brought our softball team here for one night. The price was good, rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was actually a much larger selection than I had expected. There was an issue with one of the rooms at check-in, but it got resolved. The neighborhood wasn't all that great, and in the future if I bring a group of teen-aged kids to the area I may choose a hotel with interior corridors if I am staying for more than one night.

Overall, I was pleased and would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much Scott for your wonderful review about our hotel and the services we provide.It has been a pleasure to serve you and your wonderful team.We were very pleased to host you all
Please keep us in mind when you are in San Jose again-we really value your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Address: 2660 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.