We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for the Money in Silicon Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2660 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 72 hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Long Island, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for the Money in Silicon Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very recently, I had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Jose. The hotel was in a convenient to my business appointment and was easy to find. The check-in experience is one of the factors that sets the tone for the experience for me. The check-in at the Holiday Inn Express in San Jose was very friendly and efficient.

The room was spacious, clean, and included snacks and bottled water. Very nice gesture for a hotel in this price point. The bed had a choice of pillows and the linens were clean and comfortable.

As other reviewers have mentioned the entry to your room is straight from the parking lot. While this may be bothersome to some people, it is convenient when bringing your luggage into your room.

The breakfast area was clean and there were a lot of choices for your meal. The staff at the front desk greeted me and wished me a good morning too.

With other hotels in the area including a different Holiday Inn Express in the area charging upwards of $300 per night, this hotel is a real gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments..it makes our employees feel rewarded when the guest is really happy.This is our ultimate goal...to be guest ready and to keep the service and quality level higher at all times
It was a pleasure to have you at the hotel-thank you so much again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
24
10
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We traveled 21 days on a row with our kids and are used to travel around the globe on different quality levels. The reception staff was really excellent in giving the guest a warm feeling. There performance during check in as well visual performance was high standard as a 5**** hotel. My compliments ! It was the warmest greeting and service since a long time. They explained the Hotel services as well complementary snacks available which we did not see in any of the Holiday Inn Express we stayed in. After arriving in the room we got a phonecall if everything was to our satisfaction. The rooms were nice and clean as you should expect from any hotel. Overall a nice surprise and an example for many hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve2660, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much VD for your beautiful words and very kind compliments.It always pumps up the spirit of my staff when they hear about wonderful guests comments.Your review helped us to up our services and performance and to raise our benchmark.We really value you as our guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

On a resent trip we had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in Lebec Ca and it was fantastic. So assuming all the Holiday Inn Express's would be the same we made made reservations at this one. Like others are saying it is like a converted Motel. The rooms are clean but loud, you can hear everything that is going on outside. The breakfast was somewhat the same as the other Holiday Inn Express but not as good. scrambled eggs instead of cheese omelets no biscuits (maybe they were out) but gravy I guess for the eggs or over a english muffin? everything was just not as good in comparison. And it was more expensive than the nicer place... The employees are friendly and helpful. I don't want to bash this establishment it was fine, clean, safe, friendly just not the same value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms can be loud. But they are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear sbird1932,

Thank you for you review. I am delighted to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful during your recent stay with us. However, it is my regret that you were not satisfied with your overall experience. I apologize about the noise and the quality of breakfast served. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is not your typical Holiday Inn Express. The room entrance is from the outside. It is possibly a converted motel. The room we were in was clean and everything worked. They had a nice snack basket and bottled water in the room when we arrived. Plenty of pillows on the bed and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast bar was good-the usual stuff available..The person replenishing the bar was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the traffic noise. We had a room near the street and the noise from the traffic woke me up early.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the front. There is too much traffic on the street early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you VL for taking time to post a review of the hotel.It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel..We take great pride in the service and quality of our hotel and your comments helps us strive for better all the time
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you faced at the hotel regarding the noise..We have taken steps to train our employees to provide the guest choices so this issue can be addressed.Please come visit us again when you are in San Jose
Thank you so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Provided the nicest welcome basket I have ever received and I travel over 40 weeks per year. Also had ice waiting in the room in the freezer. Provided me with additional bottled water each day as opposed to just at check-in. Wi-fi was free and fast, most free connections and some that you are billed for usually connect very slow, this one connected at about 130 all week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
placentia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We loved everything except that is set up as a motel. All rooms face the parking lot and noisy smokers kept talking outside until I opened my doors and went off at them (after midnight!!).
The staff is excellent! The rooms are very nice, updated HIE quaility. We had a nice welcome basket and bottles of water because we joined the HIE Club.
This locations offeres a Winchester House package which is a great value but the location is too far.
The breakfast is great!!! Tons of food and staff was again great!
Small pool with detached hot tub. I would stay here again if we came back to SJ. But, I would want a room close to the main office and away from the smokers corner.

Room Tip: Join the HIE club to get little perks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I usually stay at HIEs wherever I go, but the AM front desk hostess, Kopal, was especially cordial and helpful on 7.8.12. She made sure the pancake batter was made in a timely manner, and I just felt very taken care of during breakfast. I would stay here again if I were in town just because she was so nice. Thank you HIE and Kopal!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Address: 2660 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.