We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2660 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
placentia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We loved everything except that is set up as a motel. All rooms face the parking lot and noisy smokers kept talking outside until I opened my doors and went off at them (after midnight!!).
The staff is excellent! The rooms are very nice, updated HIE quaility. We had a nice welcome basket and bottles of water because we joined the HIE Club.
This locations offeres a Winchester House package which is a great value but the location is too far.
The breakfast is great!!! Tons of food and staff was again great!
Small pool with detached hot tub. I would stay here again if we came back to SJ. But, I would want a room close to the main office and away from the smokers corner.

Room Tip: Join the HIE club to get little perks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    17
    2
    7
See reviews for
28
12
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I usually stay at HIEs wherever I go, but the AM front desk hostess, Kopal, was especially cordial and helpful on 7.8.12. She made sure the pancake batter was made in a timely manner, and I just felt very taken care of during breakfast. I would stay here again if I were in town just because she was so nice. Thank you HIE and Kopal!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It's been a long time since I've been to a "travel" type of hotel that has been this good. When we arrived, the clerk was very friendly, we could understand her English, and she provided a great "goodie bag" with popcorn, energy bars, chips, etc. Our room was spotlessly clean, updated with granite etc., and with two complimentary bottles of water.

We stayed 5 nights and the housekeeping was perfect. Our room was really cleaned every day, and we got 2 complimentary bottles of water every day. The pool and hot tub were also clean, clean, clean. The public bathrooms were beautiful and spotless. Grounds beautiful with lots of flowers and plants.

The motel was pretty quiet, even though it was on a busy street. The sheets were nice and the bed was super comfortable---no morning backaches. The taqueria at the super market next door was wonderful---very affordable and delicious.

Again, I can't say enough about this place. Spotlessly clean and friendly service. Great place!

Room Tip: It's best to ask for a room farthest away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed two days with the whole family there. Rooms are big, nice and clean. The pool is not big, but good for nice swim.
The people at the reception are very nice, friendly all the time.
Kopal served us coffee from the rich breakfat buffet and asked whether she could do anything more fur us.. And they even had fresh pancakes from a pancake maker.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had a great stay at this hotel. The property appears to be very recently renovated. The room was very clean, the bathroom was clean, the bed was comfortable. The AC worked great and kept me very comfortable. My only request for update is more Power Plugs. I would stay here again and recommend that others do too. The staff was very friendly and very dedicated to me having a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stay at Holiday Inn properties almost every week and this one was by far the worst.
It looks like an old renovation on a Motel 6. The beds are very old and not comfortable. I had all HARD pillows and asked for a soft one from the desk. They claimed thay had none to give. Then the best of all were the ROACHES in the bathroom when I awoke.
The HIE at the airportis MUCH BETTER!
I will never stay here again and suggest you don't either.

Room Tip: DOnt stay here. Stay at the Holiday Inn express at the Airportor anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear AJP959,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Jose.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Last time I stayed her I gave this hotel a good review. After staying there again last week thing have changed. The rates have skyrocketed for the type of property location, even if your a priority member. they make you sign a waver stating that the room rates will be different depending on the day of the week.Usually cheapest on Sunday, getting higher Monday and Tues., and higher yet on Wed. I don't know about the rest of the week but can only assume the same thing occurs. So before you stay here make sure you know what your paying so as not to be surprised like I was, and not happy. The grounds are still pretty and the breakfast was good, but watch your rates. Some downtown hotels are newer and cheaper.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back seem a little quieter, but you still get jets landing a lot of the time as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear acdc5348,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Address: 2660 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.