We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2660 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Slater, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I am very satisfied with my stay.....the room was very clean (important to me) and organized, staff was very friendly and professional, and the grounds were well cared for and tidy. The room has a microwave, fridge, flat screen TV. I have priority gold status with Holiday Inn, and they had my welcome snacks, fresh cookies, and a newspaper nicely presented within my room, and I even had chilled bottles of water in my fridge, and a fresh bucket of ice waiting in the freezer! This is in addition to a compliamentary upgrade to a suite. Overall, the very best treatment I've gotten at any Holiday Inn, bar none. I will definitely consider this location during my next trip through San Jose.

Note - This location is directly below the flight path for the airport and 6 miles away from it - some may consider this a plus, as you can watch the jets as they line up for landing - others may not like the noise (not intrusive, but obvious). Myself, I do not mind it at all.

Room Tip: Room 101 (end suite) is very quiet - it's on the very end of the motel, so it gets very little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    15
    1
    7
See reviews for
23
10
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst driving PCH, mainly due to the proximity of the hotel to Gilroy oultets.
This hotel is an old style motel I guess which has been taken over by HI Express. The room was very large, it was clean and everything worked ok. We only really wanted it to sleep in, we arrived late in the evening and left straight after breakfast the next day.
I would say it was perfectly adequate for a short stay. There is plenty of parking available. We were in a room on the ground floor but I'm not sure there is an elevator so carrying suitcases up to a top floor room would be a pain.
The only negative comment is that we could hear the people in the room next to us talking, but after a 10 hour flight it didn't keep us awake!
Breakfast was the usual HIE fare (except for the non-functioning pancake machine, boo!), there aren't many seats available in the breakfast area but that wasn't a problem when we were there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel is OK but I found the pillows to be hard and small,oddly half sized,not conducive to good sleep..Also they have installed flourescent lightbulbs in the rooms.Yes they are saving some money(being green) but I really don't like that kind of light especially for a bedside lamp.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The room was spotlessly clean, clean, clean and updated with new furnishings and linens. There were plenty of lights (incl extra lights in the ceiling above each bed) and a mini-fridge and microwave. The service was excellent - we were given a welcome amenity upon arrival (snacks, newspaper, water) and then fresh cookies were delivered to our room shortly thereafter. Everyone we met (check-in, maids, breakfast area help, etc.) was very nice and helpful.

This appears to be an older motel that's been completely modernized. The grounds were lovely, with nice landscaping and flowers everywhere. The small pool area was also lovely, with nice chairs w/ big cushions, mosaic tiles in the pool, and more flowering plants. We walked around the area after dinner, and it's in a safe neighborhood (quiet) and very convenient to the airport.

You can tell that they pay attention to details here, both in how they maintain the property and how they treat the guests. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian in london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here one night while driving down from SF to LA this August.
We wanted to visit the great mall at Milpitas and also Gilroy mall. This is a fresh looking, motel type hotel. The rooms are comfortable and amenities are good. We had 2 Queen beds for a family of 4 and these wre sufficient.There is a small swimming pool. The parking is free. The breakfast is bear the reception. It can get crowded in the morning and the selection is basic but one can't expect more. The staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, make sure you are not near the designated smoking area on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Last week our friends and family had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express from 8/24-8/26 and we left the hotel on Saturday morning. By Sunday, I realized we left a brandnew men shoes in room 229, I called back and spoked to a female at the front desk; she promissed to check and will call me back in half hour later but never heard from her, until late afternoon, I called again, she said she found the shoes, she tried to call me but was wrong number, turned out she wrote my phone number wrong. She asked me to call back in the morning between 7am to 12noon to speak to a mail man. The next day (Monday) I called back and was transferred to a man (not a mail man); he said he would write down my credit card information and give to FedEx. He could not tell me the rate of shipping fee. He said " FedEx might charge you more or less than your shoes". I am truly not happy with the customer service at all. I am sure there is certain flat rate for shipping. Nobody would give out their credit card information if they don't know how much they could be charged. I think customer service needs to be improved.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel was great! The dining area was small when we had breakfast in the morning, but there was plenty of food to go around, and the staff was really on top of it. We took advantage of the hot tub & pool at night, both of which were nice & clean. The only thing that was misleading was the roll-away bed option. We were told that it cost an extra $20, even though the site we used listed it with the rest of the free accommodations. Otherwise, the beds and bathrooms were great and all 5 of us that went were very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City

Address: 2660 Monterey Road, San Jose, CA 95111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown San Jose has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Our hotel is 6 miles from Mineta San Jose International Airport and 3 miles from downtown San Jose. Enjoy shopping at Valley Fair Mall or dining at the wide variety of downtown restaurants. Explore the endless rooms of the Winchester Mystery House. Visiting All Tech Companies, the San Jose Convention Center, or the campuses of San Jose State and Santa Clara Universities? All are within easy reach when you stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Jose. Another smart idea: we said good-bye to the traditional bedspread as part of our Simply Smart Bedding. Our all white triple-sheeting just screams freshness. And if you do your thinking in the shower, prepare to be inspired with our complete bathroom make-over such as Stay Smart shower head. You'll appreciate the large work spaces in every room. From communications to accommodations, you'll find our amenities the perfect companion for the business or leisure traveler. Every room includes 2 phones, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffer maker, iron & full size ironing board, free local calls and free Internet/WiFi . While here, we'll get you started each morning with our free Express Start breakfast buffet with lots of breakfast choices and hot entrees like cheesy omelets, fluffy scrambled eggs, sausage patties, crispy bacon and other favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Central City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.