We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, if basic, choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   399 Silicon Valley Blvd., San Jose, CA 95138 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Jose-Silicon Valley)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #38 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Solid, if basic, choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed one night here with my wife while visiting friends. I found the property clean, large, and nicely appointed. The rates are favorable to the area and better still, free parking. WIFI is free as well and I found it to be a decent speed. My SPG gold status was promptly recognized which is always nice. Although we didn't eat here, there is a restaurant across the parking lot and the hotel serves breakfast. The sundries store was small and limited...really just a little bit of counter space. The staff was friendly and the lobby large. The only complaint is that the shower head was all corroded up. Otherwise, the room was in decent shape. When passing through, I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    40
    37
    28
    23
See reviews for
33
19
17
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed at many properties in the Bay Area. Usually I will stay at a 4 Points because they are simply adequate and I have some tasks to accomplish in the area. This time I was moving my college student back on campus. I expect 4 Points as Starwood's lower end chain to be just OK. However, THIS one, about 10 minutes south of downtown San Jose, was very well placed. Once there, BEFORE you hit the maze of freeway interchanges and directions, you can pretty much get wherever you are going in the South Bay/Silicon Valley area easily.

As far as the property goes, the Coyote Creek multipurpose trail is right behind the hotel. I went on a pleasant post-drive run. I also worked out in the fitness room. It was OK to good. I liked the abs stand and the treadmills were fine. It didn't smell like rubber like another 4 Points I stayed in.

Since the exterior still looks pretty 90's, the property has obviously been remodeled. While I don't think all the art/photo choices and the "modern" spherical footrests will hold up, it was surprisingly and pleasantly up to date. There was even a wedding going on.

The rooms were just right. My only complaint is they need a bit more or brighter lighting and the power strips on the sides of the beds were loose. Beds super comfy. I appreciated how they re-purposed the older hotel furniture. Bathroom was light and bright and clean, but toilet sat pretty low. Also, I still don't like those shower dispensers. I bring my own stuff. There were convenient baskets in the shower to keep it all.

Parking in the back was inaccessible to the front entrances. I don't know if they closed off any access during the remodel.

I needed tea, and the staff person gave me 5 bags (generous). I used them all. Convenient Lucky market and gas and fast food is across 101 on Bernal Road.

Got everywhere I needed to be in 10 minutes. I hope all 4 Points are being remodeled like this one.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably less noisy. Get a room near the lobby/main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check-in was routine and quick. The front-desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Access to the room was easy and straight forward. I had a suite on the second floor. When you enter the room, you walk into the living area, which also has a bar area with a microwave and small refrigerator. The bedroom is in a separate room. The shower and bathroom vanity are also in two different rooms. The suite has two large flat screen televisions (living area and bedroom). The living area and bedroom have individual heating/cooling units controlled by separate thermostats. My room had a balcony, which was nice in the morning and evening. The room was clean and no issues other than normal wear and tear that you see in almost every hotel that is not brand new. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. I stopped at the bar after unpacking for a drink and something to eat. The bartender was friendly. I ordered some dinner, which was delivered quickly. The food was good, which means I would eat there again. The front parking area can be full if you arrive late, but hey it is California and there is never enough parking. The room rates are reasonable and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back side of the hotel to avoid the parking lot and Hwy 101 noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night after shopping at the Gilroy outlet (20 mins south from the hotel). Check-in was smooth, and we were assigned in the first floor not too far from the lobby. The hotel building is spanish style with nice lobby. SPG Platinum receives continental breakfast at the restaurant. It is located across the parking lot. Dining area is average size but enough for what we need. I recommend this hotel for any travelers looking for a night stay before continuing journey north towards SF area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is ideal for many who come on visits or business to Silicon valley ,San Jose.
The views from all their rooms are absolutely breathtaking overlooking the blue ridge mountains and highways with cars rushing by.
Service is prompt and free wifi and a large screen TV in the room is and added amenity.
My pet was allowed too for 15 -20minutes when my children visited me here on a two day visit after the transit period.Great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to get a panoramic view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Well its a Sheraton so you already knows that the room will be clean, tidy and spacious!

The only thing that makes me sad is that the room has no fridge / microwave so you need to buy everything on the front desk (damn franchises that want to make money everywhere).

Walmart 1.5 mi from the hotel!

Good option in SJ for fare prices and a very good internet.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wladiwck
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Excellent location if you are in the San Jose area. Close to the airport. Excellent rooms and very good restaurant. Recently renovated. Quick check-in and check-out. Easy access from and to Route 101.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay with us as well as with our convenient location. We hope that you will visit us again during your next trip to the area. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley

Address: 399 Silicon Valley Blvd., San Jose, CA 95138 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Jose-Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Silicon Valley is located in heart of San Jose, CA and within minutes to downtown San Jose and Silicon Valley's tech companies. Popular attractions nearby include the eccentric Winchester Mystery House, California's Great America amusement park, the new Levi Stadium home of the SF 49ers football team and renowned vineyards. At the end of a long day, relax in the inviting ambience of a spacious guest room or suite. Keep in touch with home and the office via free wireless High Speed Internet Access throughout our beautiful hotel Or relax in front and watch your favorite show on the 42' flat screen TV for your entertainment. Then to end the night sink into signature bed's plush mattress, covered in premium sheets and pillows. Our hotel has everything you need for a productive and relaxing stay. Stay on top of work in the business center. And make time for a good workout in our fully-equipped fitness center, or swim in the outdoor heated pool. Join us at our on-site Famous Summit Steak House for your Lunch or Dinner or wind down and enjoy a drink, a craft beer, a glass of wine, or a handcrafted cocktail at our Summit Bar and Grill, Watch a game on one of our 60'inch flat screen TV's. The Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Silicon Valley offers a range of versatile function space, ideal for intimate gatherings and large conferences. Our 6000 square feet of space includes five meeting rooms, most of which can be illuminated by natural light. We also offer 1200 square feet of banquet space in our restaurant, plus state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment, ranging from projectors and screens to sound systems. Our on-site planning professionals ensure that no detail will be overlooked for your San Jose business meeting or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose-Silicon Valley Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton San Jose - Silicon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.