We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all bad for a Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Connect
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
London, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not at all bad for a Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

Hiltons in the US can be a mixed bag. Sometimes great, sometimes quite grungy and in need of updating. I guess that's something which goes with the territory of being such a huge operation. Fortunately, the San Jose Hilton was definitely above average.

I was staying here while attending a convention at the neighbouring San Jose Convention Centre, to which the hotel is directly attached.

Check-in on Sunday afternoon was quick and easy, even though I was slightly early arriving, and I was given a nice large room which met all my preferences, on the 6th Floor.

The room was clean, furniture was in good repair, the bed comfortable, the airconditioning quiet and efficient, and even the window opened (though be warned, you're right under the approach path into SJC here)!

The hotel bar is a little small, but has a good selection of beers on tap (i.e. more than just Bud and one other domestic brew), and friendly service. It was a fine meeting point before heading out for dinner in an evening, or having a nightcap before turning in. I didn't eat in the hotel on this trip, but the food seemed to be above average hotel bar food. When I arrived, the duty manager was running the bar, because there was a catering staff meeting going on. Good to see hotel management getting hands on, and not being out of their depth!

Self-parking is available for those of you who can't stand valet, at $14 per day with unlimited in-out priviledges, though the route down to the carpark is a bit odd and hidden away (it's not off the main foyer).

Given that it's located in a convention centre - and therefore the flow of guests is quite "tidal" - it really needs more than 3 elevators to adequately service all floors. The wait for the elevators could be quite excrutiating at times.

The 1pm check-out time seems quite generous, and is handy if the event your attending finishes at lunchtime on the last day.

There is a small gym, a tiny splashing pool, and a decent sized hot tub on a terrace on the 3rd floor.

My experience of the hotel laundry - actually outsourced to an external laundry in San Jose - was quick and efficient, and got ice cream stains out of my shirt (don't ask).

I had a good stay, and would recommend the Hilton, especially if you're attending a convention, or have business nearby. It's within easy walking distance of all Downtown San Jose business, bars and dining.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    200
    92
    44
    18
See reviews for
60
58
51
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
575 helpful votes 575 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2006

I read the mixed reviews at Trip Advisor and was not hopeful. Upon checking in I found the clerks to be friendly and very helpful. When we needed directions on how to walk over to the cinema and restaurants, the bellman and guest services agent were very patient and helpful in providing the information to us.

The hotel is located conveniently next to the convention center and is connected so you do not need to walk outside in inclement weather. In fact, the lobby has an exit right into the convention center.

There is limited dining inside the hotel itself. The sole restaurant/bar is called City Grill and the menu is not extensive. You can do alot better if you have time to explore quite a few various restaurants nearby the hotel and all within walking distance. One caveat: House of Pizza is not that great in my opinion (oversalted pizza, bready crust).

We were upgraded to the Executive Lounge and were entitled to complimentary breakfasts, appetizers, drinks, and desserts. The breakfasts were very appreciated as they cost quite alot per day for three people. Breakfast items included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pastries and breads, fresh fruits, fruit juices, oatmeal, and all the tea and coffee you want to drink. You may take away the food to eat in private in your room if you wish.

Desserts are actually 'dessert'-one decadent cake. That is all. This was the only disappointment. We were expecting a full array of wonderful dessert choices. I have since commented to the manager about this shortcoming. He was glad to get the feedback, and I was told that the Exec. Lounge will be remodeled within a couple of weeks.

We were assigned a double room on the 15th floor that has good views of Almaden Blvd. below and the valley and mountains in the distance. It is recommended to request a room on a high floor as the windows for some reason are not doublepaned. Thus, traffic noise can be bothersome if you're located on lower floors.

As to the room itself, it's functional and renewed. The beds are Hilton Beds which are the style that Westin Hotel initiated and all major hotel chains have copied. Therefore, the bed has not just a bedspread but also a duvet, and five feather pillows. But the best thing is the bed itself: a comfortable mattress that's about one foot high and is the right comfort level falling between soft and firm. There is also the usual work desk and chair, a small glass table and armchair, and an armoire containing the TV. The one irritation with the armoire is that the doors block the TV so that you cannot see it when sitting at the desk.

The bathroom is complete but the tub, faucet, and showerhead fixtures are aging and there is a little mold growing in the caulking around the tub, but apparently it's being repaired on a periodic basis. Some fixtures need repairing such as the shaky tissue box holder and the toilet paper roll holder. Lighting is sufficient and there is a coffeemaker in the bathroom and it's supplied with coffee and tea bags. The hairdryer is tiny and is not effective so it would be good if it's replaced.

The small bar is off the lobby area and is glassed in so that's nice. But the bartender is a friendly lady and you can order restaurant food to take away from her. However, there is one senior lady who works in both the bar and restaurant (not a regular waitress). She seemed to have an attitude. This was the only staff member who was not guest friendly.

Lots of seating is available in the lobby and on the upper conference room floors so you never have to look for a chair.

All in all this is a nice hotel if you need to be in San Jose and I liked it for the comfortable rooms, public areas, and friendly staff members. Just do not expect a huge Hilton property.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights(Feb.18-21)
This hotel has an excellent downtown location...ideal for business travelers- connected to the Convention Center, walking distance to many IT corporate headquarters. The light-rail trams run right in front of the hotel so you can jump on and go anywhere in the city, including the SJ-Diridon CalTrain Station (for day trips to San Francisco, etc)

We had a king room and it was large; the bed was firm and comfortable; there were nice feather pillows.
PROBLEM: Our bathroom flooded everyday from the the shower...the curtains were paper thin and water actually went through and dripped all over the floor. We used most of the towels to dry up, which was annoying. We also had trouble getting cool water in the sink...the water was so hot that it was hard to wash our hands and faces!!

The restaurant has good food, but is overpriced ($35 for two sandwiches and sodas). If you have time, walk 10-15min to find more restaurants on SanPedro/Santa Clara St.
ORIGINAL JOE'S is highly recommended for italian food; huge menu, huge portions, great food. It looks like an old diner inside and it is very hectic (sitting at the counter is entertaining), so don't let the looks deceive you! We also had a BAD meal at IL FORNAIO; it received good ratings, but they were out of 6 dishes that night, we had bad bar service and mixed drinks, and two dishes came out with mushrooms after we explained that my husband was allergic to them.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2006

I stay here every year for a convention, it is booked through my company so I don't have a choice - or I would definitely choose to stay elsewhere! Maybe all the good reviews were from people staying here at quieter times, but when this hotel is full, the service is terrible. The staff, although friendly, are not really on the ball. The service in the restaurant is appalling, even when it is not busy. Expect to wait up to half an hour for your breakfast, and you'll be lucky to get what you asked for. I ate breakfast here a few times this week and they never got it quite right. Same goes for the bar staff. If you sit at the bar you are probably OK, but otherwise they forget you. Check out the dust in the restaurant. Not a big deal, but for a Hilton I expected better.

Also, never accept room #324. I was booked in there when I arrived, it is the room right next to the workout room. The walls are thin and you can hear (and feel!) weights dropping from 6am and throughout the morning, making it impossible to sleep. I asked to be moved to another room, which they did but forgot to move half of my belongings so I had to ask yet again for assistance from the bellstaff.

The maid service was OK but they never replenished the shampoos etc, so after running out of various things I had to hunt down the cleaning staff to get some new ones.

For the money you pay here, and the Hilton brand, I really think this hotel needs to improve its service. Either they just don't care, because they know they will be sold out with convention attendees regardless of their service, or the staff are just really forgetful (and shouldn't be working in service if that's the case!).

Very disappointing, there are much better places to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, Ca.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

We went to San Jose to see a Sharks game and the Hilton was a perfect place to stay after the game. It's within walking distance of the arena and all the other points of interest downtown. Our suite was nice and spacious and we had a nice view of the city. Our only bad experience was noisy underage kids in the pool area, but we complained and security came down quickly to remove them. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

We arrived in San Jose after an 18 hour journey from the UK. San Jose airport is only a 5 minute taxi ride from the City Centre, extremely convenient.

We were very tired and needed somewhere comfortable and quiet to stay and that is exactly what we got. Very comfortable, large and clean room. the hotel is right in the centre of town with a large selection of restaurants. We will definately use San Jose Airport and the Hilton again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2005

We were in San Jose as a family for an event at the Convention Center.
The Hilton attaches to the center so is very convenient and a short walk.
The hotel is modern, clean and service was alway prompt and with a smile. We were upgraded to the concierge floor which provided a great daily breakfast, afternoon snacks and drinks (wine and beer charged to your room) and evening dessert selections (never made it to this), all with a great view of Silicon Valley. The Hilton is an easy walk to downtown and San Jose State University. One shortcoming is that the free fitness facility is quite small and the pool hardly bigger than a hot tub. Still, a good value for a family, especially on the conceirge floor. If you fly into San Jose on your way to the hotel, be warned that there is ongoing construction and the terminal to rental car to freeway signage and directions were particularly confusing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Address: 300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.