We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Convention Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi Package
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Convention Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The San Jose Hilton at the Convention Center is an excellent hotel for convention business. Be prepared to take a cab from/to the airport (cheaper & faster than multi-passenger vehicles at Airport advertising transport to San Jose) and for internet charges that may be duplicated on your bill. But oterwise, very accomodating, and excellent, helpful staff, and great access to Convention Center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    227
    104
    52
    20
See reviews for
67
67
55
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I came to San Jose for a conference at the adjacent Convention Centre and was pleased to be able to get into this hotel.

I arrived on a Sunday evening, exhausted after a gruelling flight from the UK - no thanks to British Airways whose idea of customer service is appalling - fine if you want to sleep (in my case not) overnight on the floor of a noisy hotel, with no shower facilities provided, having boarded an airplane twice the previous day only for problems to arise resulting in disembarkations!

Straightaway the Hilton was a refreshing contrast. A warm welcome and fast check-in. As it was 2130, I wanted a quick meal and was given excellent advice by being recommended Original Joe's. This Italian restaurant is open late and is only a few minutes walk away. I had a great crab salad there, washed down with an excellent local sauvignon blanc.

The housemaids were very efficient and unobtrusive. My room on the 11th floor was always serviced by noon. Breakfasts were excellent - I always had the buffet. Hot, cold, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads and muffins. They were not always quite ready at 6 when it was supposed to open but were always ready within a few minutes. The waittresses were very friendly and remembered my coffee/juice requirements after the first breakfast.

My room had a super big flat screen TV. The rooms did not have safes. Nor were there cups or glasses in the bathroom for toothbrushes, so I took one from the drinks tray. Coffee and tea making facilities were provided and these were fully replenished every day. Rooms were generally lovely and quiet, though in the dead of night the flushings of the WC sound overly loud.

Wifi is not free unless you are a gold HHonors member or better. It costs $9.95 per day which is a rip-off considering I pay less than that per month. I wish hotels such as the Hilton would include it in the room charge. These days many companies, including mine, do not allow their staff to claim back such costs when identified separately on bills. However, there is free wifi in the lobby area.

I would certainly stay here if I visited San Jose in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Never could get hot water out of the shower...only warm. The lobby smelled like they were trying to cover something up. Half the TV channels didn't work when I arrived, and half an hour after calling, nobody had showed up to fix it. AC never did get the room cold enough. I wouldn't stay there again. Bed was good, but the rest of the furniture was clearly more stylish than comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. I understand your lack of hot water was of concern during your time with us. We currently are actively seeking a resolution to this issue and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts and opinions with me. Guest comfort and safety are our first priorities. I hope that when you travel back to the area you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

When i booked this hotel 3 months ago, it was going through some bad reviews at the time. Needless to say, I have no regrets after leaving this past Sunday. I was here on business for a big Silicon Valley Company. I am SO glad I checked in at the hotel. My Flight was terrible coming from texas it was 13 hours worth of flying. The hotel was nice, friendly, it was very clean, comfy, I could not complain. I had heard bad things about this place but, I don't see where those negative comments are coming from. YES. It is expensive but I would say it was worth it. The food was expensive but I REALLY enjoyed the affinity breakfast burrito. :) Thanks Hilton :)

Room Tip: I was on the 17 floor on the executive suite, If you could. Get a view up there! Very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but nothing to do within walking distance. The mall is too far to walk to. There is a bus stop across the street that goes to the malls. There was a mini frig in the room. There is a travel sewing kit (which I needed). The food in the restaurant is pricey so plan on going out. If you do eat at the hotel the seafood fettuccine is excellent. The front desk is very helpful in helping you with all your needs. I wanted to give a 5 star rating but, I found a could of strands of mystery hair in my shower.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I paid $355 for a room that didn’t even have a TV that would power on. The worst part is the hotel could care less that it didn’t work and made little effort to fix the problem. In essence, they didn’t care. Never stay at a place that doesn’t care about your business. You will leave in frustration every time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello,

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room with your television, and will work with our maintenance team to address this issue immediately. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed one night as teenage daughter and friend attended a concert across the street at the San Jose Civic Auditorium that was going to get out late. Hotel is directly connected to the convention center, so if you have a convention to attend, it would be very convenient. It is also across the street from the Tech Museum and another performing arts center. Since we stayed during a holiday week, there was no convention and the hotel was deserted. It seemed a little odd. We ate at the restaurant on the first floor (we were the only ones there!), but the food was good and service was great - how could it not be? There is a Peet's coffee in the convention center. where you enter from the from the parking garage. It's a few blocks to walk to restaurants downtown. The area is pretty quiet at night, since it's mixed in with office towers. The reception staff were friendly. Parking is pricey - $22 - but hey, it's the Bay Area. Room was very clean and modern - toilet was loud. Right next to public transit as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you don't have to hear the street noise. You can see the freeway from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Address: 300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.