We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice place to stay in the downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Jose

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #14 of 72 hotels in San Jose
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Nice place to stay in the downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is my second stay in Hilton and I find it very business like. Rooms are good with a nice view but decor is very average. The staff is very helpful and courteous. I have been to the executive lounge but they have very limited veg options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a revew of your stay. We recognize that everyone is so busy these days but we truly appreciate the opportunity to see our hotel through our guests' experiences!

Thank you sincerely for your business and your comments, as they only help us to stay sharp and attuned to the feelings of our valued guests.

Sincerely,
Catherine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    174
    76
    34
    15
See reviews for
50
49
47
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foresthill, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the SJ Hilton and must say that their bed and pillows are just like at home!

The only thing I personally don't care about is their decor...very contemporary which is not MY style!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We recognize that everyone is so busy these days but we truly appreciate the opportunity to see our hotel through our guests' experiences! We're glad that part of our hotel made you feel at home. We strive to make our hotel a home away from home for our guests.

Thank you sincerely for your business and your comments, as they only help us to stay sharp and attuned to the feelings of our valued guests.

Sincerely,
Catherine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff was really wonderful and my room had a lot of space, but it just felt old to me. It wasn't due to the furniture because the hotel had modern furniture. Maybe it was the light colored walls throughout. I do recall walking down the hallway to my room and thinking to myself that this felt like an older hotel.

The location was really good. Many places within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a revew of your stay. We recognize that everyone is so busy these days but we truly appreciate the opportunity to see our hotel through our guests' experiences!

Thank you sincerely for your business and your comments, as they only help us to stay sharp and attuned to the feelings of our valued guests.

Sincerely,
Catherine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recently held a corporate 2 day meeting here for 80 people and everything flowed really well. Worth a mention are the staff who were super helpful, polite and a pleasure to do business with.

I was very fortunate to have a room upgrade and not sure I have ever stayed in such a huge suite, it was absolutely fantastic.

The hotel won't win awards as a looker but it served my purposes well and was in a central location.

Would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our team and we strive to provide excellent customer service.

We look forward to hosting your stay again in the future!

Sincerely,
Catherine H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stay at the Hilton San Jose frequently for business. The staff is great and rooms are very nice. I would most definitely recommend this hotel for others. I only wish they had a better dinner place right in the hotel; however, I typically go over to the Marriott's Arcadia restaurant for a good meal. (or Scott's seafood)

I also use they gym there frequently. It has a great set of free weights, machines and excersie bikes/treadmills. I haven't used the lap pool before, but it looks sufficient. The hotel is also in walking distance to everything you need to access within San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello,

We are thrilled that the Hilton San Jose is your "go to" hotel. We strive to provide excellent customer service. We are very happy to have you as one of our regular guests.

We will discuss with our restaurant team on how we can improve our dinner.

On behalf of our team, we thank you and look forward to hosting your stay again with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for a conference at the San Jose Convention Center. It's a perfect location for that, and not a bad location for anything in downtown San Jose.
First good stuff: Location, nice work area in the room with lots of plugs and proper height for working on a computer, comfortable bed, quiet (except for a little plane noise - the hotel is in the flight pattern for SJC airport).
Bad stuff: Horrible lighting in the room. The lamp on the desk had two, mostly bare, CFL bulbs with the color temperature of industrial lighting. In fact all the lighting in the room were those same awful bulbs. The bathroom was worse - the light was behind the mirror. The TV didn't work when I got there, but that was fixed. Still the channels were junk and no HD. (how can a $99 Fairfield have great HD channels and a $300 Hilton have none?). It also seemed the AC wouldn't cool the room enough. The Breakfast buffet was $20+ (I ate a $10 egg&cheese bagle off the menu that was fair). We should have walked down the street.
Food: We ate at Original Joes down the street. It's lost some of its charm, but the food was still good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are very glad our guest rooms were what you needed to be productive during your work trip but regret that the lighting was unsatisfactory. We are embarking on a program to replace lighting throughout and HD is coming along with increase in channel selection by mid December. We appreciate your review and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Catherine Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here because we had tickets to see Barbra Streisand at the HP Pavilion and the hotel was walking distance. I had called to ask for early check-in and they said they would try. We arrived at 12:30 and our room was ready! The desk person was friendly and efficient. The room was excellent - quite large, bright, and very clean! The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was light and modern with new faucets and a powerful shower. Although we weren't there on business, the hotel had all the necessities for a business traveler, including a large desk, comfortable chair, and wi-fi. All the staff was helpful and friendly. Parking was convenient. The restaurant was also excellent with great staff and food. I wish we could have spent another night. My compliments to Hilton management for an excellent experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the show.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Address: 300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.