We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "go to" hotel in San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Jose to your Saves list
Hilton San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Connect
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My "go to" hotel in San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stay at the Hilton San Jose frequently for business. The staff is great and rooms are very nice. I would most definitely recommend this hotel for others. I only wish they had a better dinner place right in the hotel; however, I typically go over to the Marriott's Arcadia restaurant for a good meal. (or Scott's seafood)

I also use they gym there frequently. It has a great set of free weights, machines and excersie bikes/treadmills. I haven't used the lap pool before, but it looks sufficient. The hotel is also in walking distance to everything you need to access within San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello,

We are thrilled that the Hilton San Jose is your "go to" hotel. We strive to provide excellent customer service. We are very happy to have you as one of our regular guests.

We will discuss with our restaurant team on how we can improve our dinner.

On behalf of our team, we thank you and look forward to hosting your stay again with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    198
    86
    44
    17
See reviews for
60
57
50
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for a conference at the San Jose Convention Center. It's a perfect location for that, and not a bad location for anything in downtown San Jose.
First good stuff: Location, nice work area in the room with lots of plugs and proper height for working on a computer, comfortable bed, quiet (except for a little plane noise - the hotel is in the flight pattern for SJC airport).
Bad stuff: Horrible lighting in the room. The lamp on the desk had two, mostly bare, CFL bulbs with the color temperature of industrial lighting. In fact all the lighting in the room were those same awful bulbs. The bathroom was worse - the light was behind the mirror. The TV didn't work when I got there, but that was fixed. Still the channels were junk and no HD. (how can a $99 Fairfield have great HD channels and a $300 Hilton have none?). It also seemed the AC wouldn't cool the room enough. The Breakfast buffet was $20+ (I ate a $10 egg&cheese bagle off the menu that was fair). We should have walked down the street.
Food: We ate at Original Joes down the street. It's lost some of its charm, but the food was still good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are very glad our guest rooms were what you needed to be productive during your work trip but regret that the lighting was unsatisfactory. We are embarking on a program to replace lighting throughout and HD is coming along with increase in channel selection by mid December. We appreciate your review and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Catherine Hendricks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here because we had tickets to see Barbra Streisand at the HP Pavilion and the hotel was walking distance. I had called to ask for early check-in and they said they would try. We arrived at 12:30 and our room was ready! The desk person was friendly and efficient. The room was excellent - quite large, bright, and very clean! The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was light and modern with new faucets and a powerful shower. Although we weren't there on business, the hotel had all the necessities for a business traveler, including a large desk, comfortable chair, and wi-fi. All the staff was helpful and friendly. Parking was convenient. The restaurant was also excellent with great staff and food. I wish we could have spent another night. My compliments to Hilton management for an excellent experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the show.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've organized scads of business seminars in hotels around the country for years. The Hilton San Jose in San Jose CA is located in an easy-to-find locale in the heart of San Jose. Parking is easy in their underground self-parking or in a convenient public lot across the street. The hotel conference rooms are well kept and of various sizes. The continental breakfast that was offered the seminar attendees was scrumptious...lots of fruit and pastries that were above standard fare of many hotels. What makes the experience of holding a meeting at this Hilton was the remarkable banquet staff. Working with Gigi, Omar and Andreas was a true pleasure. Most of my direct contact during our meeting was with Andreas Sandoval, the sweetest and most attentive guy I've had the pleasure to meet. Always available to help, always smiling, Andreas was my point-man and he was spot on. Hilton Hotels should be proud to have Andreas, Gigi and Omar (and I'm sure many others) as part of the Hilton Family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Connie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you had a succesful event with us. We will certainly share the kind review with the rest of the team.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was just at a week-long conference at the Hilton, and had to spend my birthday there. When the staff heard it was my birthday, the receptionist and restaurant staff were so extra nice to me and made me feel at home among family. I usually go away on my birthday, but didn't mind being at a work conference for this one, because the friendly Hilton staff made it a very special one. Rooms are clean, spacious, very comfortable. Food is excellent with European influence, the veggie panini reminded me of Italy, and the French cake, of Paris. The fitness room is clean, and swimming pool and jacuzzi just make it a perfect place away from home.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is very quiet and on the same floor of the fitness room and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were part of your birthday celebration.

We look forward to hosting your stay with us again in the future.

Regards,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

While we were only able to enjoy our stay for a couple of hours, the room was fantasic. Great shower, very comfortable bed, and a nice chaiz lounge which came in quite handy. The toiletries were high quality and the flatscreen was a nice touch. Staff were very prossional and helped us when we had a last minute change in plans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine H, Director of Sales at Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We hosted conference at the Hilton. I have stayed many times in the area, but never at the Hilton, mostly, to refrain from the downtown. This stay turned out very good expereince. The location is good offering immediate access to 101 highway.

The service is good and also breakfast, and dinner offering. The bar and dinning area are very inviting. They offer Starbucks coffe too at the bar. I used this area couple of time to meet with people.

The room is very comfortable and relatively modernly decorated. The bath is a bit outdated, but very clean and has no issue. Depite being close to a main road the room on the 9th floor was very quiet. Elevators sustained easily the rush hour withot casuing long waiting.

Parking is available and easily accessible.

I added the Hilton to my preferred lis in the bay area.

Room Tip: I would prefer high floor, although, folks who stayed at the low floors (3-5) did not complain about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Jose

Address: 300 Almaden Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Jose hotel is located in the capital of Silicon Valley, connected to the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and only three miles from the Mineta San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hilton Hotel San Jose
San Jose Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.