We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont San Jose to your Saves list
The Fairmont San Jose
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lincoln
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

good prize, excellent location, friendly staff.
hotel lobby has great music and great ambiance,
valet service is a plus.
parking charge a little high, 26 dollars per day and a small charge each time you move your car out of garage

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Mary,

Thank you for staying with us and writing this glowing review! We strive to excel in all aspects of our guest experience. I'm happy you thought the service and environment were great. Our current policy in regards to our valet parking is being able to move in and out of the garage free of charge. Please reach out to us if you get the opportunity to stay with us again and we will make sure to correct any issue.

Sincerely,
Daniel B.
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    453
    187
    71
    46
See reviews for
186
198
79
631
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I booked a normal room at the Fairmont San Jose with a promotion package from Aeroplan, but was upgraded to an awesome suite. The fitness room was excellent, and I truly enjoyed the healthy breakfast. My request (via e-mail) for early check-in and late check-out was duly recognized. I did use the express check-in from an email I received from the hotel (first time experience for me), but I believe I arrived early at the hotel before it could be processed. All in all, an excellent hotel where I could stretch my legs, relax, and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for acknowledging our fitness center. Furthermore, we would like to apologize for mixed up on the express checked in. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip. We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Okay, so there are times you just need to get away and not connect and this was one of those weekends. So we were looking for a nice place to get away that is close to home. Ideally, I wanted a beach weekend, but apparently, there really aren't any reasonably priced hotels along warm beaches up in NorCal (note that we tend to have fog in June and the beaches are colder than we'd like). So we ended up at the Fairmont in San Jose. We got a great rate through our AAA discount and also got some resort credits.

Now again, what was the purpose of the trip.. well it was to sit by the pool and to disconnect.... and for the most part, I got that.

The pool is small, but was clean. If you show up early, it's not crowded. But around 2:00 the pool got packed. Most people were respectful, but there were a few "college" aged guys that thought throwing a football across the pool was acceptable behavior, but the server took his ball and called security where he was escorted out.

The nachos were interesting and good, but again, once it got crowded, there were people waiting over an hour for their food. The drinks were weak, but that's to be expected.

As for the room, I LOVE having a separate shower and the tub was deep enough to enjoy. Overall, the staff was courteous and friendly, but I wouldn't say overly helpful.

So things that need work:
1. We did ask for foam pillows and they didn't have them in our room. We had to request them again.
2. The air conditioner in the room was not good. With then evening sun hitting the room, it became quite warm and didn't cool down for a long time. We requested a fan, but they didn't have one.
3. There wasn't enough power plugs by the bedside. In this day and age of connectivity, you definitely need more power outlets by the bedside to charge phones, and pads.
4. They had asked and we said we'd like a local paper in the morning. Then no paper showed up. Not sure why you'd ask if you aren't going to deliver.
5. So the bathroom needed some maintenance. The grout around the toilet was that pink, pre-mildew shade. Also, there was only one bathrobe for two people. And finally the mirror was horribly water damaged in the bottom of the frame. Oh also, the conditioner and shampoo were not to my liking.

Room Tip: We got a room in the "newer" tower, so the rooms were slightly more updated, but they do f...
See more room tips
Green Features: There was the standard "towel on the ground, or hang to reuse" but didn't really notice anything else.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello A W,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service and amenities. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com .
Thank you again for commenting on your stay and we hope to hear from you shortly.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Have been staying here once or twice a year for a long time. Used to be great, but not recently. Specifically, maintenance has slipped (lights not working, sinks clogged), service slow, and the package receiving service is a disaster (only 8-5, no delivery to room, and have to wait 20 minutes for them to retrieve packages). Bar still a fun place to hang out, with live music.
Too bad, used to be really good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. While I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our Lobby Lounge. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service and maintenance. I have shared your comments with our Director of Operation in order to facilitate further review. Thank you again for writing the review on Tripadvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Dirty pool and elevators. Pool bar closes early. Don't eat at the Breakfast buffet, very expensive for what you get. Parking was full, family had to park next door. Only one person working at the front desk and you have to ask for a map and where the pool is, they do not tell you. Ice machine area dirty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Mary,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You may directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com . We are looking forward to improve our service through your recommendations.
Sincerely,
David H

Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The lobby and public areas are gracious and upscale, as expected. The breakfast buffet is perhaps the worst I have ever had. We had purchased the breakfast when we booked the room. When we were seated, we were handed menus and were never told anything about the existence of a buffet or if we could order eggs off the menu. The eggs were first swimming in oil and then the waiter insisted that they remake them. When the eggs arrived a second time, they were swimming in water. I have never seen eggs like this before; they were inedible. The oatmeal was both clumpy and watery. The raisins for the oatmeal were hard, stale and stuck together. The smoked salmon was unbelievably salty. If you wanted toast, you were out of luck because the bread platters were virtually empty. As for the room, it was spacious and comfortable. I did request 2 extra pillows and it took housekeeping 3 separate trips to deliver them. The toilet water kept running and the shower pressure was weak. Additionally, the makeup mirror in the bathroom did not work. For the price I paid ($489 per night) I would have expected better bathroom amenities and an edible breakfast. I expect more from a Fairmont.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Kms,
We are sorry to have disappointed you during your recent visit. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com .
We look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

During a recent trip, I stayed at Hyatt, Hilton and then Fairmont in San Jose downtown. Fairmont is hands down the best with gorgeous and spacious rooms that are a cut above both Hyatt and Hilton. If you can get the same rate, you should definitely go with Fairmont.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at The Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hello,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again at The Fairmont San Jose. Also we appreciate you for writing a detail review on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back next year.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.